Home / Product Round-ups / Games Accessories / Best Gaming Headset for PS4, PC, PS3, Xbox One and Xbox 360

Best Gaming Headset for PS4, PC, PS3, Xbox One and Xbox 360

Sam Loveridge


Sony Wireless Stereo Headset 2.0

Whether you’re looking for a gaming headset to take your Xbox One, PC or PS4 multiplayer gaming to the next level or something that will work across all your devices, you’ll want the best gaming headset for your needs. We’ve run through all our gaming headset reviews to pick the best for you.

2015 was a great year for gaming headsets. We finally got a fantastic range for Xbox One and PC, while the PC headset market continued to grow and offer a plethora of options across all budgets.

This time around we've added a fantastic sub-£100 PC gaming headset in the form of the Plantronics RIG 500E. It's a versatile headset that comes with a choice of earcups, a fantastically comfortable and lightweight design and superb audio quality.

What's great about gaming headsets is that there's plenty of choice, with a solid entry for every budget. Want a headset for under £50? There's the Gioteck HC-4 for just £29.99. Got a bit more dosh to blow? Then we'd recommend the Turtle Beach Elite 800 for PS4, Turtle Beach Stealth 500X for Xbox One or the Sennheiser PC 363D for PC.

Rallying your fire team in Destiny: The Taken King? Feeling the roar of the engine in your eardrums with Forza 6? Wanting some company in the middle of the night while playing Until Dawn? Playing cops and robbers in Battlefield: Hardline? Or performing the perfect double jump in Halo: The Master Chief Collection or battling it out in Halo 5: Guardians multiplayer?

It doesn't matter which game takes your online fancy, owning a good quality headset means you can get involved with voice chats without losing audio quality. Or just take your gaming experience to a more personal audio level.

This week's best gaming headset deals

Creative Sound Blaster EVO ZxR at Amazon.co.uk | Was £229.99 | Now £170

Mad Catz F.R.E.Q 9 at Amazon.co.uk | Was £279.99 | Now £199

Turtle Beach Elite 800 at Amazon.co.uk | Was £249.99 | Now £199.99

Creative Sound Blaster EVO ZxR at Amazon.com | Was $299.99 | Now $129.99

Sennheiser PC 363D at Amazon.com | Was $299 | Now $199

Turtle Beach Elite 800 at Amazon.com | Was $299 | Now $239

turtle beach

What to think about before buying a gaming headset

What are the qualities to look out for in a gaming headset? The first thing to do is check whether they are compatible with your computer or games console. If you've got an Xbox One, you may need to buy the additional Stereo Headset Adapter for these headsets to work unless they come pre-packed with the adapter. PS4 owners won't need to worry about buying that extra bit of kit.

Comfy ear cushions and a lightweight headband should be high on the list of priorities as well, especially if you are going to be using them for long sessions. If you want orders to come out nice and clear, a good mic with noise cancelling to filter out the background noise is going to be useful.

Something with surround sound support can help create a greater sense of sound positioning like hearing the footsteps of an enemy creeping up on you. If you want the freedom to walk downstairs when you are taking a break and not get tangled up in cables, considering a wireless option instead of a wired headset is also something to think about.

Turtle Beach, Tritton, Steelseries, Corsair and Razer are some of the biggest names in the world of gaming headsets right now but headphone-makers like Sennheiser also have strong contenders.

Whether you are after a dedicated headset or a versatile pair of headphones that also works for gaming, we've looked back at our most recent reviews and picked out our favourites to consider.

See also: Xbox One vs PS4


May 2, 2014, 3:03 pm

Great article, I've been using a bluetooth standard for cell-phones and it is awful. I can always barely hear anything.

James Day

May 3, 2014, 6:24 pm

No Astros?

Astro A40's are easily better than 3 of the headsets on this list?


May 15, 2014, 8:52 am

We'll look into getting them in for review.

Dmitry Stogov

August 20, 2014, 11:03 am

Is the Sennheiser PC 363D really compatible with ps4? https://answers.yahoo.com/ques... - here's the guys say: "there is no adapter you can use , that headset it in no way compatible with the ps4 console". So who's right? I'm thinking to buy it, but will it work?

Gavin Martin

October 15, 2014, 11:36 am

I'm actually using a pair of V-Moda M100's with a BoomPro mic with my PS4 (wired, but connected to the DS4 controller) - works a treat.

Not exactly a bargain though.


October 15, 2014, 2:15 pm

Been looking for a headset for my XB1 and 360 for sometime. Has anyone any suggestion for one without purchase of the separate XB1 adapter? The only one that I can find is the Titanfall headset but at £119 in Game (instore) or £79 at amazon but didn't want to spend so much


October 18, 2014, 11:46 pm

Steelseries h wireless isn't nearly the Best headset.
I had had it for 3,5 months and I was very hyped about them until my headset made this weird high pitch sound and a spazzy Steelseries logo on the receiver lcd screen while playing cs:go (I had plaid only about an hour in that gaming session).
After that I just kept playing normally for about 2 weeks until the same happened again but this time they just shut down, so I swithed the power input from the normal to usb but still no effect.
They worked fine with wires but not at all with the receiver.
I submitted a ticket to steelseries's help page but they just closed the case.


November 4, 2014, 2:33 pm

Does anybody know if or how I can use my triton warhead set with my xb1? Ive managed to get sound but no chat?

Brandon Williams

November 9, 2014, 9:36 pm

You can't it is on the list of incompatible headsets for use with the adapter.

Brandon Williams

November 9, 2014, 9:37 pm

I have the X07 by turtle beach, this model comes with the adapter and have nice sound and quality construction. I have had them for about 7 months with no problems thus far.

Erik Bailey

November 21, 2014, 12:00 am

I just scored a ps3 wireless headset(blue box. Not Pulse. But 7.1 surround) on clearance for $25 from wal - mart so a friend can enjoy a headset when playing on my other ps4. Can be on sep. Teams and not spy was the idea. I have the Ps4 gold headset for myself...along with the p 22 mlg headset I bought for my gf(not a great headset) and the difference between the ps3 and ps4 is negligible... if not psychosomatic. I urge you to go out and find a PS3 wireless headset for yer ps4.

Erik Bailey

November 21, 2014, 12:01 am

Side note, you can buy a digital to analog Co verger to use any analog Headset on ps4.


November 22, 2014, 12:41 am

Does anybody know a good wireless gaming headset I can buy that is compatible with both the PS4 and the XB1?

Matheus Bica

November 23, 2014, 2:30 am

What about the mmx300?


November 25, 2014, 2:55 pm

The Sony Gold's work wireless with the PS4 and you can use wired on the X1. But, on the X1 you need the chat adapter and plug the headset into the controller. I've seen the Sony Gold's go for $79.99. They work wireless on PS3 and PC too.


November 25, 2014, 8:18 pm

Thanks, I'll look into them.

Ryan Kaufman

November 30, 2014, 11:46 am

That isn't the reason they blocked off people. Not incorporating the plug so you can't use headsets at all is not planning for people to use personal headsets. Making it so there's a paywall to use personal headsets is just that - a paywall to make more money on people wanting to do something and not having any option but to do it.


January 14, 2015, 3:39 pm

Astros are pretty much the best headset you can get...I'm surprised it wasn't included on the list.

I need time

January 15, 2015, 6:36 pm

Isn't the turtle px22 compatible with both xb1 and ps4?


January 29, 2015, 3:14 pm

Kingston HyperX Cloud gaming headphones for PC!


February 13, 2015, 2:52 pm

I bought some of these 6 months or so ago. It may be the single best value purchase I have ever made. They are simply amazing for the price paid.


February 13, 2015, 2:53 pm

What I'm looking for is a single muff style headset w/ mic for the PS4...any suggestions? I'd like to stay under $200.


February 13, 2015, 5:51 pm

Totally agree. Glad you enjoy them as much as I do.


February 27, 2015, 6:10 pm

My astro A50s are awesome except for the shit mic.


March 4, 2015, 2:30 pm

I have been using AS50 (Astro) for a couple of years now. By FAR, the best gaming headsets. Light weight. Chargeable and COMPLETLY wireless. Adjust Audio and game play sound on the fly with a touch control. Volume easily adjustable while gaming as well. Surround sound is AWESOME!!

comments powered by Disqus