Home / Product Round-ups / Portable Audio / Best Portable Speakers 2016: 10 best Bluetooth speakers you can buy

Best Portable Speakers 2016: 10 best Bluetooth speakers you can buy

Andrew Williams

by

A portable speaker is a great way to enjoy music on the go. Our best portable speaker round-up picks out 10 of the best Bluetooth speakers available.

There's a vast array of choices out there too. You'll find great Bluetooth speakers from huge names like Bose and Sony, as well as those of smart upstarts like Pasce. We've picked a selection of the top models you'll find online and on the high street today.

We're going to cover all budgets and a lot of different sizes. The only bits we've really clamped down on are that these speakers need to be wireless and portable. That means they need to have a battery, rather than needing to be plugged into the wall 24/7.

Hit the dropdown menu above to head straight to our short reviews or read on for more buying advice.

Many brands offer a range of different colours

Portable speakers – Things to consider

As well as listening to their audio chops and measuring how loud they can really go with a sound meter, we had a look at whether the portable speakers listed above can stream video without suffering significant audio delay. After all, there are few things more annoying than watching a movie where the soundtrack is slightly out of sync.

We've also covered the portable speakers' other features. Do they have NFC, for example? What's battery life like? Do they offer aptX?

If you're not yet down with the jargon of the Bluetooth speaker world, NFC is used to pair up a speaker with your phone more easily — you just wave it over the NFC sensor in the speaker. AptX, meanwhile, is a higher-quality Bluetooth audio codec that improves sound quality with aptX-compatible phones and tablets.

NFC isn't essential, but aptX is if you want a Bluetooth speaker that sounds good.

JJ Matt.

August 16, 2013, 10:25 pm

I always look forward to your speaker reviews. When are you going to review the Tablet Stage! or the BlueII by Mighty Dwarf?

best bluetooth speakers

August 29, 2013, 6:31 pm

It’s not just phone speakers that sound like they are coming from a school kid at the back of a bus.

svloot

October 2, 2013, 4:02 pm

The BOSE Soundlink MINI is without a doubt today's best portable bluetooth audio player

Jan Banan

October 21, 2013, 8:12 am

There is much better than Bose. Try Klipsch kmc1 and Loewe 2go. They have details and more power and are realy lovely on acustic musik. But for the price Minx is the best. The other cost twice. Listen to your ears and find out for your self. But still I havent try some odd speakers yet.

Prasanth Karan

October 22, 2013, 10:43 am

I recently bought the Bitmore e-Storm Bluetooth Wireless Water-Resistant Portable Speaker for just £50 ($75) from their website. It does not have NFC but it has a really cool design, amazing features, awesome sound quality, ultra portable and water-resistant too. Another cool feature which i havent seen in any other portable speakers is the microSD card support....so the speakers itself wud act as a MP3 player. Design wise its has won a reddot design award too....Just luvin it!

j0hnbenz0n .

November 13, 2013, 12:09 am

i have travelPAC e-Storm, it has a very powerful bass with patented labyrinth X tech. soo cool.. i bought it at carrefour for 199aed ($55)

Toukakoukan

February 8, 2014, 8:53 pm

It would have been nice to have something reviewed in the sub £100 bracket.
Portable speakers are easily lost/damaged, and replacing a £100+ speaker is a scary thought for a lot of people.

AHYL88

April 24, 2014, 12:44 pm

There's gonna be another new kid on the block coming soon from Frankenspiel called the FS-X that's supposed to destroy all of these guys on value, performance and endurance and they only just successfully passed their Kickstarter goal very recently. So while these five current speakers are good for the moment, watch this space! ;)

Bugblatter

April 24, 2014, 7:34 pm

I just bought a Fidelio P9 for less than half the RRP on Amazon. It's been supplanted, but to be honest the replacement doesn't seem as well specced. The P9 has two speakers plus a tweeter plus a bass radiator, and that's all per side! Sounds a lot better than my old inMotion Air, even though the Air has Apt-X and the P9 hasn't.

The Camping Guy

August 9, 2014, 2:05 pm

I have yet to find a true ranking for Bluetooth speakers that is fair. The rankings need to be divided by price then sound quality. I have had many Bluetooth speakers and don't believe most online reviews. TDK a33 was my favorite until I bought the extreme Mac soma 360. It is the exact same speaker as TDK 360. This baby cranks so loud. 23 watts RMS. The bass is amazing for a portable battery operated speaker. It has a 15 watt subwoofer and 4 2 watt speakers giving it true 360 degree sound. I bought it for 80 bucks but can be bought for 100 on amazon. Only bad part is a reported 6 hour battery. I got 5 hours of battery at 90% volume. This is the best speaker right now. Have not tried the frankenspiel fs-x yet. The Extreme Mac Soma 360 is also ipx - 3 so it can resist splashes of water.
I took this to the drive in theater and it rocks. Most portable Bluetooth speakers die when used outside cause you can't hear them but this things is awesome. For all the bass heads out there, this is your dream speaker. I put this thing on my wooden table and not just the table vibrates but our hardwood floor vibrates from the bass

Le Connard Francais

August 11, 2014, 3:04 pm

I love house music, so I need something with solid and clear bass.

JV Yosores-Mijares

August 22, 2014, 10:23 am

I would go for the quality of the bluetooth speaker and then the price when it comes to ranking it. I got a bluetooth speaker from amazon and I really love it. It has a compact size and a nice feel to it. Not to mention the clear sound quality and the subwoofer effect it has going on. I wouldn't have expected that kind of performance from the little device. It is portable too and I can carry it anywhere with me. It costs about $25.00 so this ones a keeper!

http://www.amazon.com/Adfilic-...

super

September 8, 2014, 2:04 pm

Best of the best look for fugoo speaker

C Fresh

October 9, 2014, 3:04 am

you know I'm all about that bass, no treble

Sillypollas

December 1, 2014, 5:15 pm

Where is the UE Boom (from Logitech)? A great BT speaker that has won a lot of awards in the past 12 months, a multi-directional speaker, waterproof/dirtproof and the best bass for the size. Its got a metal loop which means you can hang it from anywhere. I tested most of those listed (Bose, Jambox etc) and chose the Boom. The battery life of 15 hours is also great. http://www.ultimateears.com/en... (Gratuitous shot of smiley pretty people included).

rybo1

December 1, 2014, 6:11 pm

The Creative Sound-blaster Roar puts just about all of these units to shame. Check it out. It's a marvel. A solid, small unit for audiophiles. It will easily fill a room or apartment(flat) with very good sounding music or streaming radio. Classical music sounds great.

EGG3

December 7, 2014, 11:07 pm

Im just wondering which speaker you think i should go for, either the Sony SRS-X2 or the Pure Voca? im not sure what to go for, im looking for quality in sound and also volume?

The Goose

December 10, 2014, 2:38 pm

The one speaker that I think should be number 1 on this list has to be the MINIRIG, it's a speaker that comes separate from the sub-woofer but all together it cost about £250. I would say if you want to turn heads and get a great quality of sound at the same time a MINIRIG is the one to get this Christmas.

Andrew_TR

December 11, 2014, 6:05 pm

Hi, Almost certainly the Voca I'd say. The X2 doesn't have any bass radiators meaning it's not going to provide sound that's as beefy or poweful.

Crookid

December 11, 2014, 8:52 pm

Yeah, I was under the impression this was the best portable speaker for sub $300 hands down. Even PCMag compares it to the Bose Soundlink II saying it is "close" as Bose is their editor's choice at $299 for a substantially larger system.

Darica

December 17, 2014, 11:13 pm

Where do you find PURE Voca in the US??

George Warren

January 4, 2015, 2:01 pm

I got the Thodio A-BOX for my son this Christmas, according to him, best present ever. The sound is incredible, 200 watts, audiophile components, and a battery to take this great sound everywhere: http://store.thodio.com/collec...

Andrew Boyd

January 4, 2015, 2:45 pm

Hey can anyone tell me best speakers I can get (wireless or not) for around £100-200 max?

fsdfs

January 6, 2015, 3:16 pm

Hey everyone!
Can anyone maybe recommend to me two exellent cordless mobile speakers who can be joined up wirelessly as a stereo with high volume and bass capabilities?

Dolce

January 21, 2015, 4:53 pm

I was looking for the top best speakers but none of these are! So far, not on this list is the JBL Flip 2. I don't see it here. All of the speaker have something wrong like poor sound for instance. How does that make this list. you buy a speaker for sound!

comments powered by Disqus