Home / Product Round-ups / Headphones / Best headphones for running 2016

Best headphones for running 2016

Michael Sawh

by

Monster iSport 15

Looking for the best headphones to use in the gym or while running? We’ve put the top sports headphones to the test.

Whether you’re a seasoned runner breaking marathon records or a nervous beginner pulling on your first ever running shoes, your favourite music can provide the extra motivation you need to push through the pain barrier.

Hit the dropdown menu above to head straight to our short reviews or read on for more headphones buying advice.

Video: Trusted Explains – What type of headphones should you buy?

The likes of Sennheiser, Pioneer, Monster and Jabra are among the many manufacturers vying for your head space, trying to create the best headphones for pounding the pavement or the treadmill.

You could just stick with the Apple Earpods that come boxed with your new iPhone 6 but we’ve tried them, and it’s safe to say they simply don’t cut it. They’re just not made for running.

Whatever your budget or your requirements we’ve been testing some of the leading sports headphones, from the affordable Sennheiser PMX 685i, to the more expensive Monster iSport Victory.

See also: Best Headphones

We used all pairs in the gym and outdoors to ensure these headphones can brave the elements, comparing their ability to fight off sweat, rest securely in the ears, deliver excellent audio and have enough battery life to last the distance.

Walter Avalos

October 29, 2013, 2:38 pm

Unfortunately the Pioneer SE-E721 are hard to find in America and adds $25+ for shipping from Europe....I've been spending so much money on all types of running headphones that don't work, I'll brake the bank for these, they sound great.

James

December 21, 2013, 10:32 am

The picture for the Monster cable headphones is for the intensity headphones not the victory ones?

mark tracten

January 17, 2014, 12:52 am

this is supposed to be a review of the best headphones... surprised there arent the sony mp3 headphones, jvc's and so on... how the beats ones got on here are beyond me as everyone knows they are crap!

Frank Peters

May 16, 2014, 9:01 pm

For me, there is only one king for sport headphones. FX-Sport VR1 wireless smart headphones. Genuinely great audio, comfortable, secure, sweatproof, rainproof, no wires, no phone on my arm [8gb mp3 built in], I can upload training sessions directly to the headphones, swim with them [with accessory - and it works!]. I just don't know why more people don't use them. www.fx-sport.net

alex

July 4, 2014, 12:31 pm

Check this out! Have you considered - AZON
DEAL SHOPPER (Have a quick look on google cant remember the location)?
Ive heard some pretty good things about it and my coworker saved plenty
of money with it. They used that small gold box, that is located on the
site, to get a 65% discount on a laptop from Amazon. You may be able to
find an interesting item on Amazon at a extraordinary price using this
widget.Just checked and there are a few deals on this product

Carl Henrik Janson

September 27, 2014, 9:39 pm

I am and Audio professional and an amateur runner. By far the best earphone I have ever used during exercise is the Sony W273, now soon to be replaced with the W610. Why this is the best? Because it most definitely will never ever fall out of your year, they are simply STUCK in proper position. Secondly, because audio quality is more than good enough for a work out. Thirdly, there are no wires. And they are waterproof. Very well done, Sony. My reference is the Sennheizer Momentum over.ear. See here: http://www.sony.co.uk/electron...

reh123

December 30, 2014, 6:53 am

Any recommendations for the gym ( the music there coming out the speakers is beyond loud)
Here is the thing I often don't listen to music but watch a film instead and the sound level is always seems low, music I have the volume set about halfway but films even at the loudest settings are difficult to hear, thanks

Carlos Menendez

January 22, 2015, 7:43 am

So the Monsters are the most expensive, or is it the Jabras? I'm confused. Just saying. Contradictory information makes for a less trusted review.

RunForLife

January 29, 2015, 9:47 pm

For shorter distance runners or runners who don't sweat much these are good recommendations. However for serious distance runners or triathletes the reviews for lightweight vertical headband headphones (sony mdr-w08 or sonxtronic xdr-8000 or xdr-8001 ) which don't fill up with sweat and don't fall out seem to be as good ( or better )

Sheri

February 20, 2015, 5:19 am

I have been using the Yurbuds for the last 4 months and I don't recommend them. They are difficult to get seated properly and will come out if you sweat more than a little. Additionally, the black plastic caps the fit in the ear come off easily and have frequently gotten lost. I will not buy these again.

News Reporter

April 24, 2015, 2:46 pm

I have read over 15 different professional reviews on all the major brands and read reviews on Amazon. I find this TrustedReviews website FULL OF CONTRADICTIONS compared to everything I've read elsewhere and within their own reviews. I really do not trust their statements after going through bluetooth headphone reviews. They are missing other manufacturers!!!

Patrick

April 29, 2015, 1:13 pm

I agree but I will take it a step further...Yurbuds are copmletly awful. Very, very uncomfortable and the sound is terrible. Nothging good about these. At all.

Mollie James

July 9, 2015, 7:53 pm

I always had troubles fitting headphones and usually they fell off. Truth is I dont' have that problem anymore with Yurbuds, but yes, sound quality can be improved. A lot.

Erlend Thune

July 24, 2015, 3:54 pm

What happened with soft cushioning ear buds? I have Sony MDR-G57, which I came over by luck on ebay. They are however not produced anymore. In this review: http://www.acemyrace.com/headp... they are rated #2. But all the first three models have cushioning ear buds and have additional support behind the ear to avoid them falling down. But neither of these are produces anymore and impossible to find anywhere now! WHY!!!???

cooper simith

August 27, 2015, 9:43 am

I saw this Yurbuds has been titled as "best running headphones for secure fit" and I would not agree with that. As far as I know, there are many great sport headphones out there. The Jaybird BlueBuds X, Jabra Sport Pulse Wireless and Axgio sprint would be much better in secure fit and overall.

iT7 Audio

October 13, 2015, 12:10 pm

Didn't find what you want in thsi review? Check out our offering in to the Sports headphones class. These just won Bronze Medal in the Men's Running Magazine's Awards Earphone Category!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?...

Ira Tateu ☻♥☺

October 19, 2015, 3:14 pm

While none of these reviews can be trusted(anywhere) here is mine. I have owned every type of headphone and destroyed them all. Skullcandy= crap. May as well buy a $10 pair off the bargain bin. They will break and you are only paying for marketing. Shure does sound great but when they break you cry. Beats are a waste of time because they whistle in your ear when the wind hits them. Nothing but marketing and not worth their price. Klipsch seems to be a good compromise but their cords are small and need to be reinforced. If you are going to exercise using head phone the mfgs are setting these up to break. Look at BT to avoid cords or just buy them cheap so you can toss them as they break.

Frank Peters

November 17, 2015, 2:58 am

New FX-Sport VRX is my choice. Had previous VR1 model as well. Definitely the best sport headphones I have used. I see lots of dodgy reviews on blogs, but if you don't at least check these out, you are missing a trick.

Michael Dinsmore

December 29, 2015, 2:08 am

I concur. My last run with my yurbuds, I spent almost the whole time putting them back in my ears after they fell out. Total junk and garbage. Wish I didn't buy them.

Laurence Beattie

January 12, 2016, 8:40 am

Absolutely correct. In Malaysia (tropical climate), I have gone thru numerous headsets, including many supposedly sweat-proof, including Philips Sport, Adidias/Sennheiser, etc. The best, BY FAR, have been Philips EXTERNAL headphones (the cheap ones with the foam cover over the speakers, and which are no longer available), because they keep the sweat out of the speaker. In the past I also bought as cheap as possible to prevent heartache when they failed.
However, I'm currently trying the jabra sport corded. The sound as well as fit is good, and the rubberized feel gives me some confidence, but we'll see how long the speakers last.

comments powered by Disqus