Home / Product Round-ups / Projectors / Best Projector 2016: 6 Best Projectors You Can Buy

Best Projector 2016: 6 Best Projectors You Can Buy

Michael Sawh

by

Best projector

Looking for the best projector for your home cinema setup? Whether it's for gaming at home, films or presentations in the office, these are our pick of the top rated projectors you can buy.

Watching a film or playing your PS4 or Xbox One to a 60-inch TV is not exactly a shabby experience, but what if you could do it all on a screen the size of a wall? Swapping a TV for a projector is one of the best ways to supersize your home cinema setup and not have to break the bank.

The likes of Sony, BenQ, JVC and Epson are among the major players making the latest crop of full HD, 3D and 4K projectors. Prices can range from a more wallet-friendly £500 all the way up to a ridiculous £30,000.

This Week's Best Projector Deals

BenQ W1080ST at Amazon.co.uk | Was £1000 | Now £888

Epson EH-TW9200 at Amazon.co.uk | Was £2,500 | Now £1,950

Epson EH-TW9200 at Amazon.com | Was $2,499 | Now $1,699.99

Essentially, there are three types of projectors you need to be aware of -- LCD, LED and DLP. LCD projectors use display technology similar to LCD TVs and the key advantages are delivering the kind of brightness, impressive contrast ratio and black levels necessary for producing great image quality.

LED projectors are more energy-efficient than LCD projectors, promising longer lamp life and the ability to offer more colourful and vibrant images.

Last up is DLP or Digital Light Processing projectors that use the same kind of technology found in cinema projectors to handle higher resolution images and have lot less need for maintenance than LCD or LED projectors.

Whichever option you go for, you can be sure to find something that has the right amount of brightness, vibrancy and amount of connectivity to use it at home or at work. Looking back at our latest reviews, we've picked the best projectors for whatever your budget can stretch to.

ian-in-northampton

February 21, 2014, 6:28 pm

Not a good start to your overview. LED isn't a different type of projection technology to LCD or DLP. LCD and DLP are light modulation/projection technologies: LED is an illumination technology that can be used with either LCD or DLP projectors - so LED projectors aren't "more energy-efficient than LCD projectors". LED allows projectors to work without lamps - which typically have short life times and are expensive. DLP and LCD do have relative advantages and disadvantages - but not as described here. DLP, for example, is generally agreed to offer higher native contrast ratios, while LCD offers punchier, more saturated colours. You're perhaps doing your readers a disservice by not pointing out that many high end projectors are based on either SXRD (Sony) or D-ILA (JVC) technology, which are advanced types of LCD technology that can rival DLP in producing less visibly pixellated images. There is no justification I can think of for claiming that DLP projectors need less maintenance. The use of DLP Cinema technology is much more about DLP's ability to produce more film-like images (because of the smaller inter-pixel gap than is the case with LCD) and nothing to do with higher resolutions (The majority of DLP Cinema projectors installed worldwide are, in fact, what now seems like a rather puny 2K resolution). (Sony's SXRD technology is also used in digital cinema (but has a much smaller market share than DLP Cinema), and Sony was first to market with 4K digital cinema projectors.) I regret to say this, but to a projection industry professional, it is very apparent that, when it comes to projectors, Michael Sawh doesn't have a clue what he's talking about.

Tim Sutton

February 22, 2014, 6:48 pm

Very well said.

It's unfortunate, but an increasing number of reviews and news stories here in the last few months have been on the shaky side of dubious.

ian-in-northampton

February 22, 2014, 6:59 pm

Thanks. If true - projection is something I know something about, which isn't the case for much of what TR reviews - that's a shame. For the longest time, TR has been my 'go to' review site. In fact, it's got to the point where, if I'm thinking of buying something, my wife asks me "What does Trusted Reviews say about it?" Pieces like this can only harm the site's reputation - and I really don't want to have my faith in TR undermined.

Tim Sutton

February 22, 2014, 7:23 pm

I've come to rely on Trusted in the same way as you, and I think I still do for reviews... though now I don't feel as if my research can begin and end here, which probably is a good thing but still makes me a little sad.

The news side recently has been bad, though. I don't want to point any fingers, but an awful lot of what's presented reads as extremely under researched, and demonstrates such a lack of knowledge that it's not really worth reading.

And I really don't see the point of these HuffPo style slideshows. How is this a good way to summarize reviews? You can't jump to a particular model, or filter by price or rating. It's incredibly inefficient as a way to impart information, and as you've so eloquently pointed out, the information they do impart is unreliable at best.

I miss Gordon and Hugo.

ian-in-northampton

February 22, 2014, 7:42 pm

In fairness, I should say that, generally, the individual projector reviews are very good. I can only believe that someone has asked Michael - who would probably be the first to admit that he knows little about projectors - to put together a quick preamble for the piece. But even so...

andyvan

February 26, 2014, 12:08 pm

Hey guys. All very fair points. Thanks for the feedback. Will update this ASAP.

Edit: Just reading through this, I remember making a bunch of changes to the copy but they're not here. Think something must have gone wrong in the saving process. Will sort it out as soon as I can.

ian-in-northampton

February 26, 2014, 12:39 pm

Thanks for the update Andy. Faith much restored... :-)

Voussoir

March 13, 2014, 10:53 pm

Has it been updated yet? maybe not - and I was about to spend £37,000!
Good reviews on stuff around five hundred quid would be handy as I reckon that is where most people would be on budget.

Nabi

March 27, 2014, 2:39 am

People need to take that long lamp life claim with a ton of salt. LED lights certainly might last a long time but in my experience they go dimmer quite rapidly. For example, a warning to replace the lamp on my Acer popped up after about 2000 hours, far from the flogged 30,000.

SirAlbert Hall

April 9, 2014, 10:24 am

Hi Ian
Great to have an experts advice; which type of projector and screen would Ian recommend for a private 6 seat home cinema? budget £700ish for projector £300ish for screen? It will be used in a dark room about 13ftX15ft

John Richardson

May 17, 2014, 12:52 am

In the opening you mention gaming. Your reviews are useless without considering input lag. It's fine to have a great image but if the delay of controller action to projector response is long - say 25ms or more then the projector is unsuitable for gaming.

andy_textbooks

May 24, 2014, 7:41 am

I bought an android projector globaledigital that less than US$600. should be fit you budget.

andy_textbooks

May 24, 2014, 7:44 am

I would prefer DLP projector as is less power consume and not hot even after playing 6 hours. As it is not a LCD projector, it no need to replace the the len and DLP projector can play 10 years

Angelika

May 26, 2014, 10:28 am

Great list of top 2014 projectors! Thanks!

Serena Chong

May 27, 2014, 12:55 am

where to buy the android projector?

Shivanand Gunness

August 2, 2014, 4:50 pm

So does this projector has a DLP?

Edly

August 18, 2014, 3:00 am

no. it is basically a 3 chip lcos

Sheikh Steve

August 19, 2014, 7:40 pm

the GP10 is discontinued.....you need to update your review

Chinavasion

May 6, 2015, 3:12 am

Wow some of the projector prices seem to be from another planet lol. The BenQ seems to be quiet good value for money given the specs. Design wise I like the one from Sony the most. What I am missing here are some Android based projectors that have become hot nowadays.

Robin

January 17, 2016, 5:23 pm

They've updated it by putting "2016" in the title to lure people to their site, but the article was written in 2014. Terrible practice.

MattMe

April 13, 2016, 10:58 am

The fact you've just put 2016 in the title of an article clearly published over 2 years ago is really quite a despicable thing to do. A good example of how shoddy this site has become.

Jaco R S

May 1, 2016, 1:19 pm

Having just found this site as I am looking for a new sound system I am grateful for your comment. I might have believed this untrustworthy site.

Skeptic

May 25, 2016, 8:12 pm

Yeah, I'm glad I saw MattMe's comment, because I
probably wouldn't have

looked at the dates myself. Very poor business. I won't be trusting your

reviews. Really, your website should be reported to the BBB for this. Some

of the projectors were even reviewed almost a year before the article was

even written.

Mahmud Rahman

May 31, 2016, 7:11 am

Hi everyone if your after a good budget projector ive been sent 5 different projectors. Videos can be found on youtube under tech 404. Not gona put a link or id be sounding like im pluging my channel. So if your intrested check it out.

Mike

comments powered by Disqus