Home / Mobile / GPS & Sat Nav / TomTom GO 6000

TomTom GO 6000 review

By

Updated:

Awards

  • Editors choice

1 of 4

TomTom GO 6000
  • TomTom GO 6000
  • TomTom GO 6000
  • TomTom GO 6000
  • TomTom GO 6000

Summary

Our Score:

10

Pros

  • Lifetime TomTom traffic with built-in mobile data
  • Lifetime European map updates
  • Redesigned menu interface

Cons

  • Misses some features from previous premium TomToms
  • LIVE services only include traffic and speed camera updates
  • Speed camera updates still require an annual subscription

Best Deals for TomTom GO 6000

  • ebay

Key Features

  • 6-inch widescreen
  • Maps for 45 European countries with lifetime updates
  • Lifetime TomTom Traffic via built-in mobile data
  • Radically redesigned menu system
  • Unified address and points of interest keyword search
  • Manufacturer: TomTom
  • Review Price: £299.99

What is the TomTom GO 6000?

The GO 6000 is TomTom's new flagship sat-nav. Like the TomTom GO 500 review from last month, it incorporates a radical new interface that is nothing like previous generations. The streamlining has meant the omission of quite a few features in the name of reduced clutter and improved usability, but the GO 6000 has a few aces up its sleeves to compensate.

TomTom GO 6000

TomTom GO 6000: Features

It's clear that standalone sat-nav manufacturers are feeling the pressure from increasingly capable smartphones, with Mio even refocusing its attention towards alternative GPS-enabled devices like the Mio MiVue 388 Drive Recorder we reviewed recently and fitness products. The GO 6000 presents a two-pronged defence. Not only does it offer a 6-inch touch screen, even larger than the 5-inch displays that have become the norm, and beyond any pocket-friendly smartphone, it also provides TomTom's excellent Traffic service for the lifetime of the device.

Unlike the GO 500, however, the GO 6000 also includes built-in wireless data, so you don't need to partner it with a smartphone and feed off the latter's data plan to provide this information. Other than the built-in data, however, the GO 6000 is very similar to the GO 500. It comes with maps for 45 European countries, for which lifetime updates are also included, so you will never have to pay for a new map.

One thing that isn't included for the life of the product is speed camera locations, however. You get a three-month trial of service, and then have to fork out £19.99 a year. This is still less than the TomTom LIVE Services used to cost annually, though, and the warnings won't stop working if your subscription lapses. You just won't be informed of any new fixed or mobile camera placements.

Related: 5 Best Dash Cams right now

TomTom GO 6000

TomTom GO 6000: Design

The GO 6000 looks quite different to the previous generation. Where models like the GO LIVE 1005 were rather rectangular, the GO 6000 returns to the slightly more curvilinear styling of the GO 750 and before, albeit with a simpler, less fussy appearance. The windscreen mount has had a less radical improvement. It still uses magnetism to keep the sat-nav in place, but the contacts are now fixed.

The power cable now uses a micro USB connection to attach to the mount, and the sat-nav itself incorporates the same connection. So if your cable goes missing or you need power from elsewhere, the cable from many mobile phones will suffice. The car power adapter is also separate from the cable, using regular USB for attachment, so you won't need a separate cable for updating the firmware or maps on the device.

The new look signals an even more radical change when you turn the device on. TomTom has been perfecting an icon-driven interface ever since we have been reviewing the company's products, although the previous generation rationalised this quite effectively.

The menu is so different with the GO 6000 and 500 that you'd be forgiven for thinking this was a product from an entirely new manufacturer. It takes a little while to get used to the fact that you use an icon rather than a tap anywhere on the screen to call up the menu, but after that it's extremely intuitive.

Best Deals for TomTom GO 6000

  • ebay

lw

August 16, 2013, 8:10 am

With dashcams taking off, I am surprised non of the satnav makers haven't produced a decent integration of the two. If I am going to mount a satnav on my windscreen, why not fit a dashcam in the back and kill two birds with one stone?

ACR

August 18, 2013, 12:37 pm

"The Current Route icon combines the ability to change the route type
between fastest or shortest with choosing between walking or bicycle
journeys. You can also choose to avoid blockages on the journey or add
waypoints, which you can use as an advanced journey planner. ***Sadly, this
is otherwise missing from the new menu system.***"

Am i missing something? What is "sadly missing"? The whole paragraph which preceded the comment? To me it is written as if they are active features not "missing". #confused

GC8042

September 5, 2013, 3:13 pm

Good aesthetic design, but lacks the features of TOM TOM GO1005. I've had several reasons to call TOM TOM to get HD Trafic working, to advise them that features I expect that are on the GO 1005 should be on the GO 6000, especially avoid part of route. Currently only allows to avoid standard parts of the route ie Toll Roads, Bike routes etc., but not parts of the planned route that I'm originally taking. I'm informed, by TOM TOM, that they have 'bugs' in the software, not good for a new product, and that they will be upgrading sofware in September. Just wish they had the best bits of the GO1005 to create a good GO6000. Also you seem to have to touch the screen lots of times to plan a route from the favorites in 'My Places' just to get you started on a planned route, very frustrating. 3 ot of 5 at present.

john

September 6, 2013, 12:31 pm

can anyone let me know if it is possible to install speed camera voice alerts on this new go 6000 thinking of buying one but do not want to go back to moo etc
thanks
John

KK

September 20, 2013, 8:19 pm

Don't touch this one!!! you cant import POI's and you cant import and old favorites from your last tomtom

Lillo Svedin

September 30, 2013, 11:46 am

Tomtom going down..
No remote control, no tmc, no nothing...
It sucks.

Mike

October 4, 2013, 7:55 pm

Do NOT BUY any of the New Go Series Devices. TomTom have crippled these devices/ From a hardware point of view some items like bluetooth & light-sensor are gone. The software features are pathetic. It navigates (on road) tolerably well. It's implementation of UK postcodes is faulty. Many features like co-ordinate input and avoid road block are missing to mention just 2. There is no on-screen battery level indication while navigating. The device just dies unexpectedly while navigating at a critical moment. Full map releases are weeks behind and getting longer, all other TT devices. Oh yes, a handful (1 kilobyte) of map-updates takes 10 minutes to apply. Read TomToms' own support forums for the whole ghastly story.

Zarko

October 11, 2013, 8:57 am

TomTom managers will obviousely sucseed in leeding their company into desaster! The GO 6000 is far away from that You would expect to get from one expencive and brand new product. It is even much less usable then the last generation (1000) of TT-Nav's :-( Realy sad! Only to say: I have been using TT's since they very beginning. And the 6000 may be my very last one TT

henk

November 7, 2013, 2:47 pm

I've just sent my GO 6000 back to TOMTOM : this thing is a toy, not a top of the line GPS system. It lacks basic features due to oversimplification … stay with the 1005.

Paul David James Welford

December 6, 2013, 10:54 pm

you can import all your favorites and POIs

TechnoLuddite

December 16, 2013, 8:35 pm

I tend towards being a Luddite, who has no use for a Smartphone and resisted the distraction of Satnav while driving. Recently my personal circumstances changed – I now need a Satnav – and so following extensive research the TomTom GO6000 seemed to meet my requirements.

However reading the reviews on this site, and others, I was concerned that this piece
of equipment might not be a good investment. Further researched encouraged me
to buy one and see if it would satisfy my needs.

Yes there are few paper instructions and the initial download did take a while on
my rural broadband. I spent a period of time finding out how things worked. Then
I took to the road using it on known journeys and played with various features.

I am surprised the initial download did not take longer, when one considers the information available from the data base.

The paper instructions were scanty and could be improved, however a little quiet
time with the equipment before going on the road and then using on known routes
where all this Luddite needed to get used to methodology and explore the potential.

There is a lot of useful information and impressive functions in the data base. The
traffic updates seem to work well and changes the routing when needed to avoid problem areas during the journey.

As a total novice I have been very impressed and would recommend the TomTom GO6000 to anyone and not to be put off by the negative reviews.

It does what it claims.

I could be petty about a few minor points; however I look forward to this helping me for
years to come.

Peter

December 23, 2013, 10:27 am

I'd like to make Linux users aware of a problem: updating the GO6000 is only possible via Windows or Mac PCs - not via Linux. I'm using Ubuntu 13.1 and expected that the GO update is web-based only, but a little piece of Software "MyDrive") needs to be installed locally - not available for Linux. (In times of platform-independent Java et al, I was negatively surprised).
I've tried the Wine tool, but can't get "MyDrive" working with it.
This is a no-go for me and I'll have to return my brand new sat nav - pity, because I really liked it.

ifififi

April 3, 2014, 11:15 am

well done:]

Laureen Williamson

July 14, 2014, 11:53 am

Last week I bought a TOM TOM Start 60 from John Lewis on line. Imagine my surprise when it refused to acknowledge my postcode was a legitimate address declaring it as an 'unknown location' and/or 'an unmade up road' The firm refunded me yesterday having tried in Store to enter my details on its demo. tom toms with the same result. My 6 year old garmin accepted my post code. So I have now bought another Garmin which was demonstrated in the store to accept my code and address. Why with a new model should tom tom do this?

Chas999

September 15, 2014, 4:37 pm

You are completely illiterate.

Graham

October 1, 2014, 3:59 pm

Avoid at all costs! This latest range is a complete disaster for tomtom lovers. There are so many glaring shortcomings in this pile of satnavs, soon to be destined for the rubbish dump (already being sold off by disgruntled buyers on Ebay). For me the final nail in the coffin is not even being able to add your own points of interest which is an absolute must for professional drivers. The 6000 is just a shiny toy for those who buy before checking.

olopocram

December 29, 2014, 2:36 pm

Correct. Demonstrates how ill-informed the negative comments are.

olopocram

December 29, 2014, 2:38 pm

Unbelievably ignorant comment.

Murray Snudge

March 17, 2015, 5:41 pm

Graham makes a good point. Many of us with older TomTom devices have used TYRE to plan routes on PC and transfer them to ITN file on TomTom but that's not possible on the newer models like the 6000.
Graham's comment is not ignorant but informative.

Tucker

May 2, 2015, 2:47 pm

Third Party POIs now supported with latest software update,

Pete Thompson

August 11, 2016, 10:26 am

wish it had caravan dimensions built in :( No option for caravans these days from tomtom

Pio tr

November 23, 2016, 12:56 pm

Go 6000 is garbage, the 6100 probably too.
Go 6000 has 6200MB for maps. After 2 updates maps take up 6550MB so you are forced to buy an extra SD Card. I'm sure Tom Tom will sell you one for an occasional price! Of course you don't have to buy from them but that still is an extra cost to already expensive GPS.

Updates suck! Instead of updating the new parts of the map you have to download the whole 6550MB every time and I remind you that the size is growing.
I have 8Mbit/s Internet, it should take about 2 hours to download it but it takes about 4 hours! When you star downloading the old maps are automatically removed from the device and the update mechanism has no way of continuing from where it left when the download is interrupted. So if during those 4 hours you get a power lost, some network issues, your PC will go to power saving or simply TomTom's servers will get overloaded you are left with a dead device. Your only help is to restart the download and hope it won't break this time. In the worst case scenario you can waste couple of days to get updates and NOT be able to use your GPS during that time.

The Big Brother syndrome. To plan routs you can use MyDrive software but only when you're online. If the TomTom servers are down or you are with your laptop in the middle of nowhere then "sucks to be you".

Main menu. Sluggish! When the sun heats it up a bit then it's even slower. When navigation is on and you need to do something on the device then you better be very patient. If you want to stop the navigation there is no close and obvious button, you have to go to Menu -> Current route -> Stop navigation which takes a while.

Navigation. In 3D default position is too close and the auto zoom on turns zooms way too much, so if you have a couple of turns in a row you won't see the next one until you are on it so you can't prepare.
Doesn't have all addresses, meaning not all house numbers are listed on the same street.
Firmware is tested on the end users, not before lunching. There was a version that made the GPS randomly restart while navigating.
Now the power button doesn't put the device to sleep, it just dims the screen till the device runs out of battery, then it just dies which shortens the battery life.
Who knows what next firmware update will brings us?
Request to avoid traffic isn't easily noticeable so you have to set it to always avoid traffic but then you tend end up in the middle of nowhere wondering why.

Not tested roads! I've been to Italy this summer 2016 and GPS kept trying to take us through closed roads. Not under construction, just roads that lead to forests where only the forest ranger had the possibility to open the gates and go through.

Weak screen glass. I bought a special casing for it with memory foam inside and still the screen got scratched. Must have been my diamond finger nails ...

The Go 6000 is just 45 European countries and 6,2GB for maps and the Go 6100 has 8GB of memory but the map for whole world so it looks like they were hoping to make an extra cash on SD Cards or that people would buy a second GPS or something ...

SteveD

November 24, 2016, 12:20 pm

On a desktop review the GO6000 looks like a good product, but having had one of these for a couple of years I can only endorse a lot of the operational criticisms below.
The new problem I have found is that in normal use the battery only likely to last a couple of years (which TomTom will then charge you Euro 105 to fix.)
You might think that this is not an issue if you leave it plugged in in your car, but unfortunately this is a MAJOR problem when you plug it into your computer USB to update your maps; many computer USBs do not provide enough power to keep the device awake throughout the 1-2 hours plus required for the update and consequently without some power from the battery the update falls over leaving your device without any Maps . Aargh

comments powered by Disqus