Home / Gaming / Games / Fallout 4

Fallout 4 review

By

Updated:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR

1 of 9

Fallout 4
  • Fallout 4
  • Fallout 4
  • Fallout 4
  • Fallout 4
  • Fallout 4
  • Fallout 4
  • Fallout 4
  • Fallout 4
  • Fallout 4

Summary

Our Score:

8

Pros

  • Action-packed tactical gameplay
  • A weirdly beautiful post-apocalyptic world
  • Classic Fallout tone and black humour
  • Deep base-building, character and crafting systems

Cons

  • Systems take time and effort to learn
  • Lengthy load times
  • Unconvincing facial animation

Best Deals for Bethesda Fallout 4

  • ebay

Available on Xbox One (reviewed), PS4, PC

Fallout 4 was a long time coming. We waited many years, endured teaser sites and rumours galore until the real deal was finally unveiled. Now, it's here.

And it isn't quite what we expected it to be. It's a strange yet familiar thing, just as the post-nuclear apocalypse world must seem to your character after waking from a 200 year slumber.

Related: Fallout 4 - Automatron DLC review

In some ways, we're sad that Fallout 4 isn't a revolutionary sequel. This is partly a revisited Fallout 3 or New Vegas, especially when it comes to tone, core mechanics and overall style.

But when you look at the story, the fresh setting and the enhanced game engine, Fallout 4 is to Fallout 3 what Skyrim was to Oblivion. However, a graphics bump and a shift from Washington and New Vegas to this rain-soaked Massachusetts wilderness is far more than skin-deep.

This is Fallout, but not quite as you know it.

Fallout 4 Tips, Tricks and Guide | Best Fallout 4 Mods | Fallout 4 Perks Guide – How to make your character S.P.E.C.I.A.L

Fallout 4

The unique position of your protagonist in the world plays a major part in this. He or she remains a fish out of water, but one with history and a different kind of personal quest. When they leave Vault 111, somewhere to the North West of Boston, they find a world where chaos reigns, mutants and raiders are a constant peril and the tiny green shoots of humanity are struggling to take root. This isn’t just a game about the aftermath of mass destruction but about how you rebuild. Sure, you can focus on looting and mindless slaughter, but in a way Fallout 4 is about how individuals can help transform the bleakest world.

What you do and how you do remains reasonably open. Like The Witcher 3 or Metal Gear Solid 5 it’s a massive buffet banquet, and nobody’s telling you what dish you need to be eating next.

Related: Fallout 4 – Wasteland Workshop review

The commonwealth, as the game’s Massachusetts area is called, is a sizeable open world full of mystery and danger, not as huge in scale as The Witcher 3’s vast map or Metal Gear Solid 5’s warzones, but rich in activity and detail. Here there are friends and enemies to make, settlements to build, plus weapons, armour and other useful gear to craft. You’re free to define your character and their objectives, and you can prioritise your own personal quests or team up with like-minded souls and do your best to restore peace and justice. You can fight your way through situations, or use charm and guile. Why kill all the raiders in a rusting factory yourself, when you can activate the robotic security and settle down with a big tub of popcorn? Well, at least until the survivors spot you munching.

With so much choice though comes a multitude of systems, and at times Fallout 4 threatens to buckle under their weight.

While it’s roughly possible to play it like a first-person shooter with RPG-style inventory and character progression systems, it’s not really practical. To survive the game’s war-torn city and post-nuclear wilderness you’ll need to learn how to scavenge resources and modify your equipment, adding armour piece-by-piece, reconstructing weapons with different parts, stocks, cartridges and sights. Get involved with settler communities and you’ll also need to get your head around base-building, transforming scavenged or scrapped materials into shelters, furniture, generators, water pumps and resources. Fallout 4 takes this kind of detail to a whole new level.

Related: Xbox One Elite Controller vs Regular Wireless Controller

Fallout 4

Combat, meanwhile, is both tactical and as tense as any action game. Good weapons are hard to come by and ammo scarce, while your foes – both human and mutant – are fearsome, fast and deadly. Like Fallout 3, Fallout 4 mixes real-time, first-person combat with a slow-motion, tactical VATS mode, where time slows to a crawl and you can flick not just between targets, but between parts of a target, giving you a chance to blast vulnerable areas or take out an arm or leg to cripple a more powerful foe. It’s a near-perfect balance, making the game feel action-packed while giving fans of more conventional RPGs something closer to the feel of turn-based combat.

Crucially, everything in Fallout 4 reflects the underlying numbers. You might think you’re the headshot king, but if you haven’t got the relevant Perception abilities and aim-related perks, you won’t be making long-range shots or delivering the game’s gruesome critical hits. Like the Mass Effect trilogy it’s an action/RPG hybrid, but this one that never forgets that it’s an RPG at heart.

Related: PS4 vs Xbox One

Fallout 4

You don’t have to fight alone. Follow the right quest-lines and make the right friends and you’ll find companions for your journey, ranging from your initial canine chum, Dogmeat, to Minuteman rangers and thick-skinned investigative journalists. They’ll fight for you, evening the odds or delaying more powerful enemies. You can get them to carry stuff or kit them out with new weapons and equipment, and even give them basic orders of the ‘stay’ and ‘go’ variety.

Fallout 4 also goes big on power-armour, giving you a basic rig early on with the chance to customise it with more powerful limbs or tougher shielding; a real advantage when you’re fighting off towering super-mutants, waves of raiders or the tougher boss ghouls and monsters. It’s tempting to over-use it, but doing so runs the risk of having parts damaged and out of commission when you need your armour most. In a mutant and ghoul-infested city, going loud isn’t always the best approach.

Related: Fallout 4: Far Harbor review

Fallout 4

Throughout, there’s a great sense of progression. Battling raiders and clearing buildings will net you better arms and armour, which can themselves be modified to do more damage or work more effectively at range. You’ll level up as you gain experience, not only adding points to the core S.P.E.C.I.A.L stats, but opening a series of perks that boost your damage-dealing capabilities with specific weapons, add secondary damage effects, make you more resilient or decrease the effects of radiation. If you love the character-building aspect of RPGs, Fallout 4 will give you a bewildering array of options.

What hits you most is how well everything is balanced, forcing you to make trade-offs all the time. Sure, eating will heal you, but when the most effective foods are radioactive you need to keep your anti-rad treatments close by. And while you can modify a primitive pipe rifle into a superior sniping tool, you’ll still need to compromise somewhere, say, damage or reload speeds, to get accuracy and range. Even using VATS involves making choices. It can be the best way to tackle small groups of foes with ruthless efficiency, but every shot uses valuable action points, potentially leaving you helpless as the ghouls or raider skirmishers try to rush you. Sometimes, simply blasting away with automatic gunfire can be the better choice.

Related: Xbox One S vs Xbox One

Fallout 4

Fallout 4 doesn’t make mastering this stuff easy. I’m not one for lengthy and tedious tutorials, but while Fallout 4’s quest structure gives you room to get to grips with the fundamentals early on, key systems and activities go relatively unexplained. I can’t actually recall whether or not the VATS system was actually introduced at any point, and I also can’t remember a game of recent years where I’ve had to refer so much and so often to the in-game help. In a way, though, this is part of the charm. Fallout 4 is a game about people using their own ingenuity to make the most of scant resources. Isn’t it only fair that you should put some effort in yourself?

You might have to. I’ll be honest, for the first four or five hours I didn’t really click with Fallout 4. After a cracking start it seemed a little pedestrian, the plotting, the quest lines and the game’s identity struggling to gel. It doesn’t help that it’s no unalloyed technical masterpiece.

Don’t get me wrong; the landscapes are beautiful and the interiors detailed, with some fantastic, atmospheric lighting effects as the weather changes and the Commonwealth moves through its day to night cycle. The art direction is fantastic, giving us a world that reached a cultural and technological zenith in the mid-1950s then just stuck there, giving everything this brilliant decayed retro sci-fi look and feel.

Related: Best Games 2015

Fallout 4

Yet other things spoil the illusion. Close-up character animation is a constant disappointment, with painful, wooden facial animation and the kind of rubber-skinned, botox-faced character models that Bethesda really should have gone beyond by now. There are lengthy loading times both when you die and when you move between locations, spoiling the feeling that this is one coherent world. And while this isn’t a particularly buggy game by the standards of Fallout 3 or New Vegas, Fallout 4 still has its moments. A restless ghoul’s head bouncing around the room is hardly game-breaking, and we were secretly pleased to see one tough, glowing, bullet-sponge git stuck helplessly behind a half-closed door, yet these things make the game feel less slick and polished.

Luckily, like all Bethesda’s RPGs, Fallout 4 has a sneaky way of getting you hooked. Over time the quest-lines progress and the layers of narrative build up. What’s going on in Diamond City? What is the Institute? What is it up to? What does it want? Can you find what remains of your family? Can you put the good guys back on top? It also has a nice way of riffing on established genres, becoming a sort of hard-boiled detective story one minute, a military action game the next.

Related: Xbox One backward compatibility – Can I play Xbox 360 games on Xbox One

Fallout 4

You’ll get sucked in by the detail of this off-kilter universe, using terminals and messages to find out about the stupid squabbles inside a raider gang or the wrangling over the movie adaptation of a popular comic-book. When it comes to world-building, Bethesda remains second to none. You’ll also latch on to the game’s dark vein of humour, which mixes slapstick gore and wry satire in a way that feels part planned and part sheer fluke. You’ll start playing with the intricacies of the game’s wonderfully flexible perks system, deciding whether to beef your character up for melee combat, push stealth and persuasion or double down on gunslinger-friendly perks.

Most of all, you’ll feel invested in your character and in the world, because parts of it will start to feel distinctly yours.

And that’s where Fallout 4 makes its mark. It might not have the scope or scale of The Witcher 3 or the slick mechanics and reactive world of MGS5, but like Skyrim it has an unbeatable sense of place, and it exceeds all of its illustrious forebears on the base-building, crafting and customisation fronts. Fallout 4 isn’t the best game of the year or even the finest RPG, yet while it struggles in some areas it excels in many more. If you want a game to keep you busy for a long, wet and hopefully not nuclear winter, look no further. Fallout 4 is it.

Verdict

It can be rough around the edges and it takes a while to gel, but once it does this is as gripping an RPG as Bethesda has ever produced. We’ll handle disappointments like the lengthy loading times, poor facial animation and minor bugs because Fallout 4’s world is so rich, strange and beautiful, and because the stories you can make in it are so compelling. Buy it, then dig in for the season.

Have any funny Fallout stories? Let us know in the comments below

Overall Score

8

Best Deals for Bethesda Fallout 4

  • ebay

Si Rose

November 9, 2015, 8:34 pm

How is "systems taking time and effort to learn" a con?... if you want a cheap thrill without immersion, then just don't bother, instead of criticising. That being said, the Bethesda trend of dumbing-down really doesn't mean this apparent gripe holds true.

Steven Johnson

November 10, 2015, 12:52 pm

This is the fairest review I've seen so far, including the verdict score. All other SITES seem to be over hyping their reviews and inflating their scores.

cd

November 10, 2015, 2:55 pm

i enjoyed your review. Fairest I've seen I'll remember your name.

Aman Pathak

November 10, 2015, 6:22 pm

I think this is one of the best reviews of Fallout 4 out there , I'm sick watching sites like IGN over hyping their review scores to 10/10 (best game ever levels ) without consideration! Trusted reviews is one of the best sites for game reviews IMO ..I think you guys should contact metacritic and get your name listed ...I would love to see 'trustworthy' critics on the weighted average....
btw as of now fallout 4 sits at 5.8 on PC (user score) ...one can tell what was paid for and what is real !

Galathea

November 10, 2015, 8:48 pm

I'm not bothered about the user scores and the 'professional' reviews. On Metacritics you can read a 'review' from a guy who gave it a 0/10 rating WITHOUT actually playing it. If you have already played Bethesda games, you'll know what to expect. Either you like what they do or you don't.

Fredslund

November 11, 2015, 12:13 pm

Thanks for this Fallout 4 review.

I'm only about 2 hours into the game currently. In overall I'm mostly dissapointed due to especially two things:

1) Having just spend 600 hours in GTA-V, the character movement is pure lame. Walking and running is so ugly and lacking so many details, that I expect to play in first person the entire game, even though I really loved third person in Skyrim, FNV and F3. But once you are used to the body movements in GTA-V then this is just not worth watching.

2) The graphics are way below standards. In some parts it actually looks uglier than Skyrim. I think this is unacceptable given this is a 2015 game and that games being 2-4 years older are having much nicer graphics. It does not have to be state-of-the-art graphics, but at least it should be better than F3.

At this point I give the game 6/10 points.
I hope I can raise that soon.

Fredslund

November 11, 2015, 12:15 pm

And 18 hours later it has dropped to 4.7 in user score on PC.

Marin

November 11, 2015, 5:08 pm

Most important question here is:
How does it compare to Fallout 1&2?

I'm part of the "old guard", having played FO1&2 at the time of their release, FO3 was bad, but everyone just talks about graphics, effects and loads of customization options - that's fine and all, but those are not really relevant parts of a great Fallout game.

What about the storyline, encounters, easter eggs, design, humor and all the things that made Fallout 1&2 one of the best games ever (especially FO2)?

I don't want to play "Fallout skinned" Skyrim mod....

Aman Pathak

November 11, 2015, 7:34 pm

imho elder scrolls series is way better than the fallout one ...I don't know ...I just feel really empty in fallout 4...I guess I'm not really a wasteland kinda guy....Either way...fallout 4 wasn't skyrim ...thats for sure

Aman Pathak

November 11, 2015, 7:36 pm

oh yeah...my goodness...and its not like its 10-20 reviews...its literally hundreds of these....And If you click all the helpful reviews ...all are 0/10 and 1/10...imo Fallout 4 isn't the best game out this year for sure but it isn't like that bad to get this much hate...poor bethesda...crushed by its own hype

Shaun Jones

November 12, 2015, 7:46 am

enjoyed it, and i didnt even get through fallout 3 had to watch
someone else play it, its not my type of game ill admit, the ONLY thing
that disappointed me was the graphics, i know now why they made a live
action trailer, because using game video just wouldnt cut it, but the
story started well, kept me wanting to see more, made a small vid
nothing special, mostly just to show off how it looks, first ten minutes

https://youtu.be/mSmTyA5rFuk

Fredslund

November 12, 2015, 8:28 am

It seems like people were expecting a "new Fallout game" from Bethesda. But what they actually got was more a "revisited Fallout 3".

I'm now 6 hours into the game and I'm still giving it 6/10. I am beginning to like it more, but the disappointment from the beginning still rules the overall impression.

For me on PC it still nags me I have to look at a 5 years old game - from late 2015. That does not make sence.

Aman Pathak

November 12, 2015, 2:31 pm

and I'm seeing articles like this licking fallout boots claiming that witcher had terrible combat and side quests and fallout 4 is just sunshine everywhere....piece of shit ...these critics are dumb or just paid off http://www.gamerevolution.com/...

BaRoN

November 15, 2015, 12:44 am

I dont care about glitches or graphics but i cant simply ignore the fact that im upgrading power armors after 200 years of sleep using few tin cans. No blueprint, no training, i woke up and i know everything. I got 5 power armors without even reaching BOS HQ, and they only got one lol, I will not comment because it will all be insults, come on modders transform this console baby game into something decent if you can.

AJF

November 25, 2015, 12:56 am

I'll admit, I played for a good 50 hours, but I just can't stop playing Skyrim. I went back to that, and having a good time. 850 hours. Fallout is Fallout. I played 3 and New Vegas for hundreds of hours, and had a blast. I'm sure I didn't really scratch the surface of 4, but I'm not finding it to be grabbing hold of me. There is just something about it, that I can't quite figure out, but it's not keeping me playing. I'm not one that puts everything into graphics. Really, that's only a very small part of it. Some of my all time favorite games had mediocre graphics. I'm not a "Shiney Keys" guy, that puts it all in graphics. I like the replay value, the depth. Something Bethesda has done exceptionally well. But I'm just not feeling Fallout 4. I'll try again someday, but I'm all about Skyrim now. So much more in depth.

John

December 21, 2015, 11:10 pm

Genuine question but what's so great about Skyrim? I loved Fallout 3, New Vegas didn't quite grab me, but after 2 hours of Skyrim, it hasn't hooked me in. Seems a bit dull walking about, forging tools etc. Everything's also so 'brown'. What am I missing?

Jason Byrnes

December 30, 2015, 7:18 pm

The con on here about the slow loading times isn't an issue if you play on PC with a nice SSD Drive. That was my main gripe about all the fallout/skyrim games. The long loading times. Its the gaming consoles fault and not the game itself. Once I went from a pc with a 5400rpm to an SSD the loading times are gone. My game loads in seconds. Even time travel across the board loads in a few seconds.

I'm playing this on my alienware alpha console, base model upgraded to 16GB of ram and an SSD Drive.

AJF

December 31, 2015, 5:13 am

Well, after a lot more time with Fallout 4, my opinion has changed dramatically. I'm having an absolute blast with this game. The exploration, and crafting, is second to none.

I got myself 6 Settlements going strong. One farm, for water to sell. Lots of cash. Another for growing plants to make adhesives, for crafting. I got a central hub, that all my settlements are connected to. And a hotel type place for the travelers to rest their heads.

Found some absolutely kick ass weapons, and pimped them out. Yea, I got me a Deathclaw Gauntlet! Although my Furious Power Fist is better. If you can believe that!? I finished a quest line that gave me the opportunity to make Ballistic Armor. Which you can apply to any kind of clothing, and increase their damage reduction dramatically. So naturally I found me a nice lady companion, and applied Ballistic Armor to my Tuxedo, and her Sequin dress, and with her Tommy Gun and my Power Fist, we wreak havoc like Bonnie and Clyde. Dressed to Kill.

So much more, I can't even explain.

As for Skyrim...
I'm not sure how to explain the shear magnitude of the world to explore. So many cities, with hundreds of quests, and dozens of quest lines, for you specific character build. The crafting, the player housing, companions, and size is awesome.

Be a Mage, a Necromancer, a Thief, a Warrior, O combine any style you want, and play it how works best for you. You can be a Warrior, that heals himself, or raises zombies to fight along side you. Or be a Mage that conjures a sword in one hand while blasting them with lightning in the other. The possibilities are endless. It really is a spectacular game.
Happy Gaming John.

Edmund Wells

February 28, 2016, 4:44 pm

I think this is a fair review, as far as it goes. First, bugs and glitches are temporary, so criticizing a massive effort like FO4 upon its release is almost pointless. By now the worst of it has been patched. The game is huge, and so the opportunity for errors is greater. Give the guys at Bethesda a break on that point, yeah?

Like some have commented here, graphics are secondary to gameplay and story writing. Anyone who's enjoyed older classics like Chrono Trigger, Oblivion or Final Fantasy 10 will know what I mean. The appeal of stealing cars and shooting at cops is lost on me, personally, however great the graphics might be.

Anyway, while I agree that facial movements should have been more improved-upon in FO4, I found the scenery rather beautiful, the wreckage diverse, detailed and convincing, and the streets of Massachusetts well-rendered and enjoyable to explore. It think all that outweighs a little facial stiffness. And there was a great variety in voice acting as well as clothing and armor, while a lesser effort could have made enemies look "cookie cutter" rather quickly. In Oblivion, there were like three people doing all the mediocre voices, and it became very distracting early in the game.

I loved FO3 and enjoyed New Vegas, and consider myself a huge fan of open world RPG's. For the record, Skyrim, to me, is unmatched in this genre, with Mass Effect a close second, but nothing has matched the grim desolation of the Capitol Wasteland in FO3. As such, I sprang for the Xbox One solely for FO4, and after 400 hours of game play in the Commonwealth and seeing two possible outcomes, I feel qualified to add my two cents.

As many "professional" reviewers have conceded, FO4 was not a revolutionary advance over FO3, as many had hoped, and it fell short (rather than advancing) the benchmarks achieved by Skyrim. To be fair, not every effort should be expected to rise to the level of brilliance, yet some notable advances were made.

The combat of FO4 was better, VATS was less accurate (and thereby improved the game by reducing reliance on computer-assisted fatal head shots), and the increased variety of Perks and character personalization options were steps in the right direction. FO4 also removed the annoying weapon repair requirement which, while more realistic, could be relegated to other "off screen" chores, like taking out the garbage or emptying one's bladder. In its place we received the ability to modify weapons and armor, even adding custom paint jobs - even if we only had a few magazines to teach us how. I also enjoyed being able to glance at an object in shoppes or people's homes without being accused of wanting to steal it.

On the down-side, I found the feral ghouls of FO3 much scarier, especially lurking in the vast subways of Washington DC. The FO4 ghouls look more like Play Doh mannequins and their movements were TOO fast to make them truly frightening - meaning you can hardly follow their movement, and once they attack, you just have time to frantically shoot in all directions until they lay back down and you can steal their oven mitt. Super Mutants in FO4 were more humorous and better diversified, although still not as funny as those from New Vegas. Raiders in FO4 had better personalities, though not one ever wanted to be my friend.

The most notable improvement of FO4 over FO3, in my view, was the ability to design, build and defend settlements, as well as create customized homes at each settlement you establish. Filling my house in Megaton with favorite collectibles was one of my favorite touches from FO3. The settlement feature appealed to my love of strategy games, and added a sense of connection to the Commonwealth - helping the common people to survive against those idiotic raiders, super mutants and packs of feral ghouls who are always "holding up nearby," threatening to overrun those crappy three-person settlements. Without this feature, the game would have largely been a series of gunfights using bigger and badder weapons against bigger and badder enemies, without any real empathy for the people.

One flaw with the settlements, which I hope Bethesda will one day fix, is that raiders seem to get past even the best-designed fortresses, just "appearing" inside (like at my impregnable Lighthouse settlement), while settlers seem to fare equally well with a pipe pistol or a triple-barrel missile launcher, and never die, whether fighting in rags or heavy combat armor. It would be more satisfying to see the raiders thwarted by my cunningly deployed walls and turrets, and to watch them seek out weak spots, knock down the gate with missiles, maybe, or resort to flinging grenades over my walls, or firing from elevated positions over the walls, etc... which would make the challenge more rewarding than just having them magically teleport inside to frighten my Brahmin. Better-equipped settlers should deflect attacks better, resulting in less damage to the settlement, while some settlers should be killed, requiring replacements.

The downside to the settlement (Minuteman) quests, as many have commented, is the repetitive and relentless nature of them, often at locations only recently cleared out. Before long, you want to hide from the Minutemen rather than help them. I had one settler in Sanctuary whose "friend" had been kidnapped by raiders about a dozen times, despite Sanctuary having excellent defenses. I began to think it was some sort of ploy on the part of the settler, hoping I'd pay the ransom, which I refused on principle. Same problem with the farmer's wife at Abernathy Farm, and she was nothing to look at. After a while I wanted to find them just to end their miserable, always-being-kidnapped lives, but that would have made the settlement "unhappy" and possibly turn on me, so I did my freaking duty. I am hoping Bethesda remedies this issue, which is a major sour note on an otherwise great addition to the Fallout universe.

And to Stuart's comment about there not being enough instruction - I happen to agree, largely with respect to settlement building, i.e. supply lines, assigning workers to tasks, general crafting, and especially electrical wiring, a skill I do not have. Luckily my Pip-Boy is wired to YouTube so I could learn what I needed, but there should be something official on this complicated process.

Although I thoroughly enjoyed the world-exploring offered by FO4, notwithstanding its shortcomings, I found myself feeling disappointed with the conclusion of the story itself (NO SPECIFIC SPOILERS):

(1) The main story line is far too short, and the side quests are also a bit limited. If not for the distraction of settlement-building, which I lingered upon for many hours, this would be a rather short game considering the detail offered by the open-world map. This is sad, coming from the same folks who gave us Skyrim, which offered a lot of quality "post story" play (and significant differences depending on your chosen profession). As a footnote, the FO4 story also begins very slowly, which on the one hand is understandable, since it gives you a chance to build up your level and Perks while learning the game mechanics, but might be considered borderline hum-drum for players who are less "pre-invested" in the Fallout franchise. Even the escape from Vault 111 was a bit lackluster, in hindsight. At the time, I was bedazzled by the prospect of what I would find on the surface.

(2) At the end of the main story line, there is no visible impact of your efforts and hard decisions on the Commonwealth. One faction wins, the others lose - the end. No reaction from the general populace, no outcry seeking your head, no shouts of praise or derision in the mangled streets. Squat. You are not forced to sleep in "the bed you have made" - to face the new challenges your struggles and choices have wrought, nor are you confronted with making further changes to help the Commonwealth. The game merely forces you to choose one faction over the others, then lowers the curtain and leaves you hanging. There should be tangible effects, visible consequences to be dealt with, but sadly there are none. All story-related and personal progression ends once your final choice is made, and this left me feeling very empty and unsatisfied. To me this is a major game flaw and is the main issue that will prevent FO4 from every being viewed as a truly "great" game. Fun, yeah, but not great, and that's what we've come to expect from Bethesda, whether fair or not.

(3) The impact of point number 2 means that, in the final analysis, it does not really matter which faction you support, because the result to the Commonwealth is the same: unknown. The journey is a bit different (nowhere near as different as your options in Skyrim, by the way), but you do not get to reap the rewards or suffer the penalties of your game decisions. Surviving allies do not live to help or hurt you. There is no place to rejoice or regret your actions. There is no further story, unless you just like shooting the same raiders you wiped out last week and stealing the same junk all over again. As a result, this leaves the player with a bad taste and greatly diminishes replay value. Yes, you can go back and join a different faction, and wipe out the other factions instead, but that is only a small portion of the overall game, and the side quests are, as mentioned, rather limited unless you go out of your way to avoid a faction quest-line altogether.

(4) Which leads to my last point (hurrah! right?). Leading up to your final choice, which is a difficult one, you will reflect on the "friends" and allies you'd made within the other factions - traveling with them across the shattered streets, sharing a bottle of Gwinnett Pale and a cup of Noodle Soup, fighting raiders and mutants together, healing them, giving them better weapons and armor, and getting to hear their points of view. Whether you agreed with their philosophies or not, they all meant well. Yet the game forces you to choose one faction - and that choice means wiping the others out - as in totally and unequivocally dead. Fans of GTA may not care, but I did not find this senseless murder enjoyable. I even felt bad shooting at the Brotherhood of Steel (who tried to blow me up more than once), since I knew they were, ultimately, just doing what they felt was right for a brighter (if steelier) Commonwealth. There should have been other options available short of shooting your former allies in the face - characters who'd poured their souls out to you, given you Perks, and carried your typewriters, light bulbs and office fans, for crying out loud. In turn, those choices could have lead to many more hours of enjoyable, meaningful gameplay while the ultimate fate of the Commonwealth was being decided, until you got to see the fruits (or ashes) of your efforts. In short, which this comment isn't, the game should not have ended where it did, and expecting DLC to fill the void with new objectives is whore-mongering at its worst. There is ample opportunity for DLC (and the money that yields to Bethesda) had we been provided a proper story with the original game purchase. On this point, I do NOT give the guys at Bethesda a break - I think it stinks on ice.

I found the endings in FO3 and New Vegas far more satisfying - your choices mattered. In the end, that is why I found FO4 the least enjoyable of the three - because of poor writing (or poor story planning). Recall that the original ending of FO3 left the Lone Wanderer with no choice but to sacrifice themselves for the sake of humanity. Oddly, I found no issue with that, since some stories properly end with the protagonist's death. Yet, they changed it with DLC to allow an escape route, forcing our brave Super Mutant friend, Fawkes, to step in and make the ultimate sacrifice. To me, that change seemed like pandering, but at least there was a choice for those players who only feel they've "won" if they're still alive at the conclusion of the story. Those people should not play Bioshock.

If the galactic outcry over the original ending of Mass Effect has taught the gaming world anything, it was that in a RPG, hard choices should have a meaningful impact on the story's outcome, or why bother being given the choice? Otherwise, we're just pushing buttons to advance a movie with one foregone conclusion. This is ironic considering all the other choices Bethesda went out of their way to offer players - hair styles, facial features, body types, multiple outfits and armors, and 70 different Perks. To hearken back to my earlier comment on Chrono Trigger - that game had multiple satisfying endings which were each the result of key decisions made during gameplay, hence there was tremendous replay value in that great game, despite the simplistic graphics and terrible facial palsy.

I hope Bethesda will recognize this tragic flaw and expand the story to incorporate some meaningful "post main storyline" game play beyond saving kidnapped settlers and shooting raiders for fun. Too much effort went into producing a fine game to allow it to end this way. At least, that's my view.

Jason James

May 23, 2016, 5:09 am

Literally the worst game I ever played. It's over rated. I would give 2 stars out of 10. Wasted money on this.

santi rava

May 30, 2016, 8:50 pm

totally agree

Cuddle_Kity

July 12, 2016, 3:27 am

they should let u decide what to pick what u want to join instead of forcing u to join a fraction like the minmen whats the point about them u dont really want to do anything for them because no matter what u do its never enough and they dont ever help and when your on a mission already and they ask for your help and by the time u get done with the mission u are working on u fail to protect the settlement they sent u to so really whats the point of that let us decide who we want to be let us be evil if we want and put back the karma detail like we all had in fallout 3

VinnyBoomba

August 1, 2016, 4:49 pm

Sorry to renew this post after such a long time... but an SSD external with USB 3 on a console makes it lightning fast too. Probably not PC speed but half of what the internal XOne does.

Dana W

August 3, 2016, 6:13 pm

I'm sold. Buying it today.

joe_fuqurself

October 19, 2016, 9:21 am

There's this thing called punctuation. It's really useful.

comments powered by Disqus