Home / Gaming / Games / DriveClub

DriveClub review

By

Updated:

1 of 25

DriveClub
  • DriveClub
  • DriveClub
  • DriveClub
  • DriveClub
  • Driveclub 10
  • Driveclub 4
  • Driveclub 5
  • Driveclub 6
  • Driveclub 7
  • Driveclub 8
  • Driveclub 9
  • Driveclub
  • Driveclub 1
  • Driveclub 2
  • Driveclub 3
  • DriveClub
  • DriveClub
  • DriveClub
  • DriveClub
  • DriveClub
  • Driveclub
  • Driveclub
  • Driveclub
  • Driveclub
  • Driveclub

Summary

Our Score:

7

Pros

  • Loads of content
  • Arcade handling makes racing fun in VR
  • Being able to look around in the seat is great

Cons

  • Visuals have taken a huge hit
  • Weather effects absent

Best Deals for Sony Computer Entertainment DriveClub

  • ebay

Exclusive to PS4, compatible with PlayStation VR

Driveclub has had a tumultuous life cycle. From a bare-bones release to a messed-up PlayStation Plus edition to the shutting down of developer Evolution Studios, you’d almost forget it was actually pretty good. Unfortunately, in the transition to PlayStation VR, its beauty has once again suffered.

This is one of the first times I’ve been able to actively compare and contrast how a PS4 game looks after it transitions to virtual reality. For a game like Driveclub it’s clear a lot has been lost along the way.

For starters, weather effects are almost completely absent, only cloudy and sunny settings are selectable. Second, what is in the game lacks the detail, shine and shimmer of its PS4 sibling.

Plus, everything seems to have a strange haze, almost as if to hide the visual downgrade. It feels like how the world looks when Velma from Scooby-Doo drops her glasses, everything is blurry.

Related: Best PlayStation VR Games

There are other attempts to improve the look, with leaves brushing against the windscreen as you drive past trees in autumn, and balloons being launched into the sky at the start of the race, but these gimmicks simply further to cheapen the overall look.

Despite this, there are moments when the visuals can still impress, albeit nowhere near as frequently as they used to. Watching the sun shine onto a dirty windscreen, or looking around the interior of the car – when done right – can be excellent. It’s just a shame these moments are now so rare.

Once you get over the disappointment of the game’s looks, you remember Driveclub is amazing fun to drive, and having cockpit view in VR is brilliant. I played Project Cars on the Oculus Rift and was amazed how much virtual reality adds to driving games, and the same is true in Driveclub. Being able to sit in the driver’s seat, look in my wing mirrors for approaching cars, turn to my left and right before taking a turn to make sure I don’t crash into any motors sneaking up the sides, is wonderfully immersive.

I even, at times, turned and looked out the rear window, like my dad trying to park in a tight space in the local shopping centre.

While it was fun driving in time trials and drift events, it was the races where I had the most fun, and the closer the sprint to the finish, the better. There were times when myself and another car were neck and neck heading toward the finish line, and I would lean forward to try and see whose nose was in front. It was exhilarating stuff, made all the more exciting by VR.

Related: Until Dawn: Rush of Blood review

Driveclub 6

As a paid DLC expansion on the original Driveclub, there’s still a bucketload of content to be had here, with over 80 cars to race across 114 tracks. Plus you have online multiplayer to enjoy too.

Verdict

Driveclub remains a fun racer packed full of events, cars and tracks in PlayStation VR with a very generous DLC expansion. It’s just such a shame that one of the console’s best-looking games has suffered such a downgrade from a visual standpoint in order to work with the headset.

If you’re looking for a good racing game to get started in PSVR, this is the best place to start, just don’t expect it to look like the game that arrived in 2014.

Read on below for our original review of Driveclub by Stuart Andrews, which scored 4/5

It’s no secret that DriveClub’s launch was a disaster. Network issues kept paying punters out of the game, the long-promised PlayStation Plus version was put on indefinitely hold, and complaints about draconian penalties for collisions and corner-cutting were both rife and not unfounded. Sony’s flagship racer arrived to a chorus of complaints.

Since launch, however, Sony and Evolution have worked hard to fix the game. Server stability has improved dramatically, patches have dealt with the major gameplay issues, and free DLC packs and updates have added new tracks, new cars, new events and a range of enhancements. The latest updates have bought us two longed-for features – dynamic weather and a photo mode – and resulted in a tangibly better game.

Driveclub

Weather is – quite literally – a game changer. Rain and snow don’t merely look impressive, but transform the way your tyres interact with road surfaces, affective traction and making high-speed cornering a serious challenge. Both also have an impact on visibility, partly because it’s hard to see what’s coming through downpours and snow flurries, but because every camera, from the cockpit view to the chase view, is affected. Thought driving at night on the Norwegian or Scottish tracks was hard? Now try doing it with the visibility halved again.

The rain and snow effects also give DriveClub’s visuals a drama they might previously have lacked. DriveClub actually simulates the water droplet by droplet, so that light bounces off them authentically, and so that they behave pretty much like you’d expect them to behave in real life. Droplets streak across the windscreen from the effects of airflow and the windscreen wipers. The snow flies towards the windscreen, but also drifts in direction of the wind. Driveclub’s weather effects set a new benchmark for racing games. They make an already good-looking game look great.

See also: Best racing games 2014

Driveclub

It’s still not a flawless experience. For all the astonishing detail in the cars and the environments, there’s still something oddly sterile about the world you race through; something that makes it look and feel more like a film set than a living landscape. You can see the waves ripple on a lake or fjord and watch the trees wave a bit too gently in the breeze, but something doesn’t quite cohere. Yet when you’re racing through the tea-fields of India or tackling sweeping curves down the side of an ice-clad mountain, DriveClub can and does look breathtaking. Throw in rain and the odd flash of lightning, and it’s in touching distance of becoming as impressive as Sony always claimed it would be.

When it looks that good, you might be tempted to share the moment. Luckily, the new Photo Mode is brilliant, allowing you to pose your shot and move your angle quite effectively, with advanced tools for setting aperture, shutter speed, bokeh shape and even film grain. Once you’re done, you can upload your efforts using the PS4’s standard Share functionality.

See also: Upcoming PS4 games 2015

Driveclub

The gameplay is improving too. At launch, DriveClub seemed to be forever hitting you with penalties for going off-track, skipping corner or colliding with the opposition. These still come up, but a lot less frequently and you’re usually the one at fault. The lunatic AI still has its moments, of course, where you’re on the racing line but the git behind you decides to shunt you, throwing you off track and effectively out of contention. It’s enormously frustrating and probably the biggest single remaining reason not to play. We love races and we love driving against tough competition, but DriveClub is the only racing game I can think of where I look forward to the time trials rather than the races. That really says it all.

Overall, the improvements and updates make DriveClub a stronger driving game, and there’s still something lovable about its focus on racing, speeds and lap-times. This isn’t a game for tuners, car collectors, open-world explorers or fans of the Fast and Furious films; it’s a game for those who want intense racing, an even field and the pleasures of knocking milliseconds off a laptime to claw ahead of rivals. The sensation of speed is impressive and the handling consistently exciting. DriveClub can be unforgiving. It’s hard to recover from mistakes and there’s no quick rewind button. All the same, its purist approach can’t help but resonate with a certain kind of driving game fan.

See also: Best PS4 games 2014

DriveClub

Coming back to it, we mostly love it, but a few reservations remain. Because the weather wasn’t built in from the start it’s not reflected in the core Tour mode or even in the free Ignition and Photo-Finish DLC packs – presumably to ensure that past and present race times, lap-times and face-to-face challenges remain comparable. This means that you’ll only get to enjoy the enhancements in multiplayer, where there are specific weather events on the board, and in single events and challenges. Weather will be supported in the next dlc packs – Elements and Readline – but we understand that these will be premium packs, not free.

More seriously, Driveclub still has an uphill struggle winning back a mass audience. Driveclubs set up in the early days have faltered, and when the other members of your club aren’t posting times and setting challenges, it takes some of the fun out of the game. It’s also surprisingly difficult to find a packed event to join in multiplayer – or sometimes an event with any players signed up at all.

Final verdict

Driveclub deserves a second chance, but will it get it? We hope so. It might not be a crowd-pleaser like Forza Horizon 2, but it’s a frequently fantastic racer that’s only getting better with time.

See also: PS4 vs PS3

DriveClub

Originally reviewed - October 7, 2014

It’s all too easy to damn DriveClub with faint praise. Emerging just after the launch of Forza Horizon 2, it’s less of a crowd-pleaser and more of a slow-burner. It’s a beautiful-looking game, but not as glossy or glamorous as the Microsoft racer, and where Horizon 2 is all about simple thrills and the freedom of the open road, playing DriveClub is a more rigorous pursuit. It’s social aspects are fascinating, but a harder sell than Forza’s on and off-road racing festival. For a game that’s forward-thinking, DriveClub can be surprisingly old-school.

By now, you probably know the basic concept. In fact, the title pretty much sums it up. DriveClub is all about social racing: joining a club, driving for that club, and sharing the glory with your friends. In terms of structure, it’s not dissimilar to a dozen racers of the last generation, with several tiers of events, taking in point-to-point races, circuit races, time trials and drift challenges. Each event has its own objectives, and by completing these objectives you unlock further tiers of events.

DriveClub

However, in Driveclub you’re not only competing for first position or a lower lap time; you’re competing for Fame - both for you individually and your Club. You get fame for the normal things, of course, but also for beating bit-sized challenges known as Face-Offs, where you’re tasked with cornering better than another player across a section of the track, or beating their average speed. They'll pop up on the track and monitor your score/speed/drift in that section. If you beat your buddy or your nemesis in the Face-Off, you get massive points for you and your team mates.

As your fame builds you level up, unlocking new cars from the game’s selection. What’s more, your fame contributes to that of your club, pushing it up the ranks and up the leaderboard, so that you’re always contributing to the tally. As your club ranks up, new cars also become available to the members, meaning it’s in everyone’s interest to keep the tally growing.

DriveClub

Thus in Driveclub you’re always trying to do two things at once: win the race or get the lowest time in the time trial, but also succeed in any challenges thrown your way. To be honest, the challenges will often play second fiddle. The time trails become very tight as you get higher up the ladder, even if you're a skilled driver with a kick-ass car. Face-Offs can become a barely noticed pop-up as you speed through a series of S-bends on your way to the finish line. Yet at other times they can become the focus, allowing you to pull something back from even the most miserable performance, or grab a little extra glory from your latest triumph.

Were Driveclub’s racing no good, all the social stuff wouldn’t make a difference, but past the first hour or two it gets very good indeed. Driveclub’s strength is that, beneath the social layer, it’s a purist’s racer. You pick a car, take it to the course and try and get it to the finish line before anyone else. There’s no tuning or upgrading, no real options for AI difficulty or handling, and no sneaky way to rewind the action and retake the corner you just span out on.

Some may think that's a pro for DriveClub, especially as developer Evolution aimed to make a driving game that is accessible to everyone. But, it does have its limitations for those who are well-versed in driving games and looking for that edge.

Driveclub 7

The handling straddles the line between arcade and sim territory, and while first impressions are that it leans too far towards the arcade side, that changes as you move up from hot hatches to executive touring cars, sports cars, supercars and track toys. Driveclub is no Forza 5 or Gran Turismo 6, but it’s a little more realistic than a Ridge Racer or Need for Speed.

The tracks also help its cause. Set across five regions – India, Canada, Scotland, Norway and Chile – they provide a strong selection of high-speed circuits, soaring mountain tracks packed with treacherous bends and twisting, dusty layouts that will have you spinning and drifting with the best of them. The scenery is frequently stunning, especially as the time changes from day to night and there’s no shortage of variety. To go from the brooding landscapes of the highlands to the bright colours and sun-dappled foothills of Tamil Nadu can be a real aesthetic treat.

DriveClub

Of course, you can argue that Driveclub’s purist approach is a weakness. There’s no framework beyond going from one event to another, and lots of players like to tweak the handling, or have the option of upgrading their car. But then that would be to spoil the social aspect. The intention is clear: to make sure that each race, each time trial and each challenge is met – bar the choice of car – on a level playing field. You win fame for you and for your club by driving better than the other players, not by grinding for credits and upgrades or switching driving aids on and off.

The social stuff doesn’t end with the head-to-head challenges. Finished a race and feeling pleased with yourself? Post it as a challenge to the world, or to the friends in and outside your Driveclub. If they beat it within the challenge period, they get some glory. If they don’t, the glory comes your way. Cleverly, you’re not pushed to post a challenge immediately after racing, but can access a history of recent activities and post from there. When a player takes your challenge you’re alerted, giving you a chance to go back and post an even better time.

Driveclub 10

That goes for Face-Offs too. You can set mini-challenges for your friends and the world of racers with DriveClub. It could be a corner challenge that you'll need to reach a specific point score on a tricky hairpin, a drifting challenge or even an average speed Face-Off around the twirling bends on the mountainous paths.

Although there are the more conventional multiplayer aspects, which let you set a race time for you and your buddies if some of you are currently embroiled in a long race. It is far more stripped back than alternate facing titles, and has more of an old school pre-Motorstorm feel to it from Evolution. But to be honest, it feels like working solo for your Club is far more important in DriveClub. It's definitely a more solitary racer, despite its unique social network structure.

DriveClub

We can’t say enough that Driveclub can be a brilliant racer. It’s fast, thrilling, challenging and (mostly) fair. The sound is fantastic, to the extent that the decision not to cover the engine noise with music by default seems absolutely right. It can feel a little bleak at first, but you'll soon realise the detail that the devs have gone to for a realistic sound.

The graphics don't have the shine or clarity of Forza Horizon 2, but there’s some superb, atmospheric lighting and an awful lot of detail, particularly in the forests of Canada or the rugged mountain tracks of Chile. The cars are beautifully rendered, both inside and out, with a choice of cameras that should please arcade racers (the external views) and serious drivers (the fantastic cockpit views).

Yet it's sometimes evident that Driveclub lacks a little soul. For all that scenic beauty, it hasn't quite got the wow factor that a next-gen titles should. Just look at games like Horizon 2 or even The Last of Us Remastered, and their water and lighting effects stand out in a way that Driveclub's don't.

The car line-up is pretty special. Driveclub doesn’t try to compete with GT, Forza or even Horizon 2 when it comes to quantity, but with the likes of the Aston Marin V12 Zagato, the Ferrari California and the Pagani Huarya around, the quality is never in doubt. The worst thing you can say is that some of the cars feel a little too skittish – is the Audi TT RS Plus really that prone to rattling around the track? – but in general cars handle as you might expect them too, and the arcade handling makes them brilliant to drive.

DriveClub

All the same, Driveclub doesn’t come without some aggravations. The AI, for example, can be exasperating. Sometimes it’s perfect, giving you the kind of fast, demanding competition that makes each race a high-stakes thriller. Sometimes it’s pitifully easy. You pull ahead in the early stages, and no-one has a chance of keeping up. At its worst, however, it’s teeth-grinding, temple-throbbing, Dual-Shock 4-through-the-window infuriating.

In some cases, the early stages of the race become a fiesta of clangs and crashes, as everyone trades place with everyone else and you hope for a miracle to make your way through the pack. Alternatively, you’re pushing hard for first position in the last stretch of the race, jockeying for position with the guy just up in front, when the guy in third steams up behind you, smacks into you as you’re trying to corner, then sends you spinning off the track. And because the AI has a horrible habit of bunching up, you go from 2nd to 8th in roughly half a second. It’s time to hit restart and repeat the whole race. Why? Damn you Driveclub AI, why?

Driveclub 1

We’re also not so sure about some of the night or twilight races. Sure, it’s good to challenge players with limited visibility, but does the track have to be quite this hard to see? For one event we had to close the curtains and turn screen brightness up to full just to see the tarmac. Either that’s a problem, or the game needs a toggle to set the lights on to full-beam.

It’s testament to how good Driveclub’s racing is that these irritants don’t seriously spoil the ride. It’s the kind of racer that has you swearing that you missed that time objective by 0.2 of a second, or that keeps you coming back to try and beat a friend who’s come in two seconds ahead. It’s the kind of racer where you’ll spend an hour repeating one event, not because you can’t complete it, but because you could complete it a few seconds faster if you could just iron out some mistakes on that sudden uphill corner or fast downhill bend. Like we said, it’s a purist’s racer – albeit for purists who aren’t bothered by an arcade handling model.

What’s more, there’s potential in all this social stuff. True, it’s not entirely unique – EA’s Autolog has been doing this stuff for years – but Driveclub does an impressive job of making it a focus for the gameplay, and of using team cooperation and healthy competition as a spur to keep you coming back to the game. We’ve yet to try the companion app, but it’s not hard to imagine how getting an alert that your challenge has been beaten will push you back to restake your claim.

Verdict

Driveclub’s strength is its killer combo of stripped-back racing and social features, pushing you to keep going back to the track for personal glory and the glory of your team. If it lacks the glamour, freedom and exuberance of Forza Horizon 2, there’s compensation in the fierce competition on the track. The AI can be annoying, and not everyone will get the game’s approach, but if you engage with the game’s strong social angle, there’s a great racer in here to enjoy.

Read more: Xbox One vs PS4

Overall Score

7

Best Deals for Sony Computer Entertainment DriveClub

  • ebay

Steve Brain

October 2, 2014, 2:33 am

I really wanted to like this game, but after reading that it is more arcade-based than say Forza which has a perfect balance.. I cancelled my pre-order. I will need to try before I buy, thanks to PSN Plus edition at least that will be possible. If I wanted an arcade-style racer I would simply wait for The Crew which at least has car performance and visual customization plus a massive open world to explore, it sounds to me like Drive Club falls short in a lot of ways in comparison.

Matthew Bunton

October 7, 2014, 5:52 pm

I am not really suprised at all by this. The general consensus seems to be it's just an average game.

Josh101

October 7, 2014, 6:30 pm

How did you comment 6 days ago? I thought there was a review embargo on this game til today?
OT: you have to imagine each car is replicated to a 1:1 ratio. Adding performance enhancements would alter all that hard work.

GODabove09

October 7, 2014, 6:41 pm

I have/had high hopes for Driveclub and until I try on Friday I won't know for sure whether those hopes were justified. Which is natural, I think. Nobody else can make my mind up for me so i need to really get my teeth into for a few days to get an impression deep enough to make a decision on the full game. PS plus in going to be most peoples first stop, I think, and it will be mine too. If it is everything I'd wished for I will buy it. Especially seeing as The Crew is delayed, project Cars is not out yet and no f1 game looks even remotely approaching the slight possibility of coming to ps4 this year or next. I hope I'm wrong there as f1 on ps4 will define the racing genre for me. It has the potential, based on the excellent ps3/360 versions, to be exceptional. But Driveclub will have my attention because it is a driving game, my favourite genre, and so I will cut it some slack for that reason. Anyway, we'll all know soon enough what the game is really like...

dpanch_89

October 7, 2014, 7:12 pm

I was looking forward to this, but it looks like its all looks (nice car graphics) but no soul. I think i'm going to get an xbox one with forza horizon 2, sunset overdrive, and halo MCE. Quite disappointed at this being the first "proper" race for the ps4... Looks like Project cars will take it.

Bugblatter

October 7, 2014, 7:47 pm

It was probably a preview when he commented. This site tends to re-use pages, probably for Search Engine Optimisation (older pages rank higher).

Matthew Bunton

October 8, 2014, 1:41 am

Correct.

Tyler Gehl

October 8, 2014, 11:42 am

It will not let make a club just instantly tells me I need to test my internet I gave it a day still nothing if I can't use that in one more day I'm selling this shit not worth the effort.

Chris B

October 8, 2014, 1:49 pm

I was looking forward to this, as well as Forza Horizon 2 (though to be honest, I was slightly underwhelmed by FH1) - on a whim I got FH2 last Friday, and I've been pleasantly surprised just how good it is - it's nowhere near a sim racer, but it's not a total arcade racer either.

You get perks for joining a club within-game, and reading the review above FH2 seems a more rounded game - so I will probably hold off getting this until xmas, and hopefully I'll be able to compare against The Crew.

Kif12345

October 8, 2014, 9:16 pm

Even with small content like 50 cars. This game is by FAR the best Arcade-sim racing game i have ever played. the AI is fantastic and challenging i like challenging games.
Graphics? well take a look http://a.pomf.se/sfbgts.gif
#DriveClub can be easily mistaken with reality. Best racing graphics on any platform easily!

HAppY_KrAToS

October 12, 2014, 11:09 pm

this game is being judged and badly analysed by almost everybody. and worse, people want to compare it with other racing games, and they shouldn't, as driveclub is unique.

-forget the little green line that is holding gamer's hands during gameplay. No line here, people must learn their cars, how they handle, and tracks, where they need to break, anticipate, etc.

- this isn't a game where we can upgrade our cars with triple turbos and magical engines, and add 3000 extra horse power.. as developers have said, each car has been fine-tuned to perfection, so its is perfectly maneuverable in every situation. tracks, scenery, other cars, enemy AI, everything has been tuned according to each tuned car, so everything runs smoothly. what would the game play like, if suddenly a 400hp car received an upgrade, and had 1300hp, and could go at 400mph, instead of 160mph ? unpredictable, awful, etc etc. also, as devs said, in real life, some cars are made of a single aluminium bloc, and there is no place to a triple turbo. they couldn't simply integrate those upgrades. also, evolution studios (EV) worked closely with each manufacturer, had the exact data for the car, for physics, everything. those specs and physics make the car react in a way or another, when driving. a big car will have more inertia and will take more time to reach 0mph, than a smaller car. etc etc. they couldn't just start inventing turbos and other pieces, to make the car 4 times more powerful.

-Ai is not great, really ? watch this, from dualshockers, on youtube, and get ready to feel stupid :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?...

- online clubs only have 6 members. what do you want ? teams with 3000 guys each ?
isn't it much more easy and cool to setup, follow their results, watch their races, communicate with them, race against other clubs, etc etc, with a 6 members team, where it will be easy to know each other, communicate, make video calls, eventually, with some driveclub updates, follow their results, follow their followers on youtube and twitter and internet, etc etc, in an ultra cool way, THAN a club with 3000 guys, where nobody knows nobody ? you know, like facebook, where people brag about their 8745 friends, but in fact, they only know 3 or 4 people, which are the cousin, the brother and 2 school mates.
6 people is the perfect number, to make something more intimate, more friendly, more cool, less stressful, less complicated to follow and handle, etc etc. even 4 guys(or girls) would have already been ok. but six, is just excellent. in a few months, there will be thousands of these small teams, that could be some WOW friends-gamers, or a 6 girl teams, or 6 brothers and sisters, or 6 coworkers, that will compete with other coworkers, or boss..., or a team with evolution studio staff, a team with gran turismo staff, with sony forums staff. it could be amazing. again, reviewers have it wrong. totally.

- many guys are giving low scores, one of the main reasons is the fact that driveclub doesn't innovate a lot. wow. just wow. this is a driving car. driveclub already does fantastic things, like the realtime lighting engine, and soon, the rain-snow-fog-wind effects. do you guys want to drive like gta5, and start walking with an ak47, and kill people ? can you please tell me what did forza5 bring to the table, new, that deserved all those perfect 10/10 scores, apart the fact that it was an exclusive xbox one title, and it was absolutely necessary to make the xbox one launch look great, and the ps4 look bad. forza 5 brought an awful microtransactions system, an awful grinding system, 2d cardboard public, empty scenery, downgraded graphics, empty tracks, low res textures, just to achieve the 1080p.and barely 10 different tracks. wow, perfect 10/10. isn't it ? where were the reviewers, asking for innovation, by that time ? only this time, driveclub needs "innovation" ? lol, really.

- the only truth is : JEALOUSY
all these 2/5 scores come from xbox fans that are disgusted of the ps4 success, and the 720p versions xbox one always give them. they just can't stand the ps4 success, that will be close to 20 million sold units, by the end of 2014. they are disgusted because this gen, unlike last gen, devs are no longer giving parity, spending much more time on the x360, thanks to some big paychecks. no, this gen, devs are using the power they have, and when a game can run at 1080p on the ps4, and only at 720p, on the xbox one, it MEANS THAT the ps4 is running that game with 2.25 times more pixels, and therefore, is USING 2.25 TIMES MORE POWER THAN THE XBOX ONE. this time, the ps4 is kicking xbox one butt, in a severe way. microsoft is going nowhere with his console, made specially for americans, with american features, tv, sports, etc. they have removed almost everything from the xbox one. even its soul. games are doomed, and will be 720p forever. the extra specs and power on the ps4 can already be seen, and once devs start using all that extra power that the xbox one doesn't have, like the 64 acus vs 16, more rasterizers, faster pool of ram, etc etc, games will look better and better and better, probably 10 times better than infamous second son and killzone shadow fall. and it isn't directx12 that will suddenly give 3 times more power to the xbox one. NO.
because of this hate, these reviewers wanted to punish the ps4 and sony. because these arguments i mentioned, that contributed to these bad scores, it's not these arguments that make driveclub deserve a 1/5 or 2/5. a 2/5 is a totally broken game, full of bugs, unplayable, awful textures, slow framerate, bugs that reboot and freeze the console, ugly textures popup, 5 minutes to load a level, maximum screen tearing, single player campaign only 1 hour long, microtransactions all over the place (like forza 5, but hey, guys like sessler didn't even mention it, to not make the game look bad by any means.. and the game got 5/5 scores from everybody), a game delayed 25 times , in 6 years, totally empty scenery, graphics really ugly, textures from games made in 2000-2002, totally empty scenery, awful collision detection, ugly or no shadows at all, no 3d objects, ugly lights, slow game engine, no working online games, no lobbies, no way to mute stupid people, impossible to join online games, impossible trophies, max grinding, save files system broken, game corrupted and impossible to finish, bad dialogues and badly sync lips, distorted sounds, no music or awful musics, ultra long menus and sub menus under submenus... etc etc.

only a game with all these issues, could deserve a 1 or 2/5, like driveclub got.
is driveclub even 100000000 million miles close to anything like these issues i've mentioned, or the "supposed" issues, on the top of my comment ? is driveclub a 20% game ?

only xbox fans will give such scores, and only xbox fans will believe in such scores and reviews.
copy-paste this comment, this is the simple truth. every sony fan should read it, to understand the real situation.

Baz

October 15, 2014, 9:59 am

With a name like PS4Gamers, it's obvious your going to defend your purchase which is fair enough, but your ranting on like a madman about XB1 this & XB1 that and it's absolutely crazy. It's one thing quoting sales figures etc, but using them to somehow make a link between the reviews of Driveclub is pathetic it really is. There is no consipracy - some reviews like it, some don't. It's called an opinion and having a different one to yours doesn't make everyone elses wrong which is basically what your implying - where you an only child by any chance?

Let's go through some of your points because what you are trying to do is justify why Driveclub has LESS things than say FH2 because when anyone tries to justify an inferior purchase the first thing they do is try to convince people that less is in fact more. It's not.

- The little green line is there to make the game accessible to all. You can make the game as easy or as difficult as you want. That's not a bad thing. You only mentioned it because you don't have it.

- If Driveclub allowed smaller cars to upgrade to more powerful classes, it would mean people can truly make their cars their own. Adds a bit of personalisation and flexibility to the game. It also means you could have traditionally less powerful cars race against more powerful ones in different classes. And that happens in real life. You only mentioned it because you don't have it.

- All of the reviews say the AI isn't particularly good. I don't know, I've not played the game.

- Groups should be as big or small as you want it to be. With Driveclub your limited to 6 which you claim is a perfect number. Of course it's a perfect number - because it's the only number you can have. Let me guess, when Titanfall was launched you thought 6 was a pathetic number - am I right??
Groups and clubs should be as big or small as you want it to be. Want to be in a small group of close knit friends? Join a smaller group. Want to feel part of a large online group? Join a bigger group. It's called choice. You only mentioned it because you don't have it.

- Not played Forza 5 so can't comment on your comment about that. However, Forza Horizon 2, launched practically at the same time as Driveclub, iswhat you should be comparing it to. But you can't, because FH2 doesn't have any of what you described in Forza 5 which negates your comparison somewhat.

- Your XB1 conspiracy. This is so full of garbage it's untrue mate and you should read back at it and be embarassed at what you have typed.
Games will be 720 forever? Really? Want me to list the games which aren't 720 because I can? And at the same time I will also list the games on the PS4 which aren't at the highest resolution/frame rate which the PS4 is claimed to do either. If the PS4 was capable of 1080 at 60fps for every game then your comment would be true. The fact it isn't even capable of doing that for every game means your comment is hypocritical at best.

Sony NEED the PS4 to work. It needs to be a massive success because the gaming division is practically the only part of Sony which makes any money. The problem is though, the rest of the company is losing money hand over fist. It is the PS4 which is keeping Sony afloat. Don't believe me? Google is your friend - have a look and be REALLY surprised at how close Sony is close to going under.

Microsoft, for all their many problems, don't have THAT particular problem. They can reduce the price of the XB1 down further and it will barely dent their profits.

Instead of focusing your anger on the XB1 gamers who are just normal people like you, who just so happened to of purchased a different system, focus on why games like Driveclub are released in half finished states. It's much more productive.

Andaru

October 21, 2014, 12:18 am

It's far from more arcade than Forza, if anything it makes Forza more arcade like. This is the new perfect balance, don't get me wrong I like dropping a 5.0 V8 in A Ford Focus as the next guy, but Driveclub has done what I've been waiting for devs to do for ages and that's to strip back all the nonsense that has been added to games over the years (cough cough COD). This lets you hang the arse of the car out round the corner, but using too much throttle coming out of the corner and you will be punished, when your doing 160mph over a rough/bouncy road you can feel it and if you use DRS over this section you can feel the back floating before you get thrown off the road and there are tight corners where you are rewarded for pulling the handbrake and getting the arse out there opposed to this 'follow the racing line' style which has been adopted cross platform.

As for the AI, yes it can be annoying, but they only go on the offensive if you do and I love reactive dynamics like this. What is most impressive however is the fact that this purist racer isn't boring and doesn't feel lacking, it will make you keep coming back to earn those few 10ths of a second over and over. It's time to stop comparing this game because it's out there on it's own and is a must buy.

Dan Vincent

December 17, 2014, 4:45 pm

This game will sell plenty! It's called word of mouth. And when the PS+ version hits it will sell copies like crazy once people try it out!

Iown You

February 1, 2015, 6:34 am

Don't hold your breath for the PS+ version.

I have the game. Without the patch it's crap. With the patch it's noticeably better. But for some reason, the more expensive cars handle like crap to me. I can win all day with the VW Beetle and not just win but dominate (WITH motion control steering on, too!) but I can't stop spinning all over the place in anything more expensive.

Iown You

February 1, 2015, 6:39 am

The PS4's hardware is certainly capable of 1080p 60fps for EVERY game, and most PS4 games are at that level. The issue is that most of the multiplats that don't reach that on PS4 are likely a victim of MS pressuring developers to develop for parity, which they are doing and it's pathetic.

You say you can list lots of games on XBOX One that aren't 720p, so can I, but many of those games will be 900p, lol.

I own an XBOX One, and while I don't think it's a terrible system, it certainly has performance issues due to its definitely inferior hardware and poor resource distribution.

Iown You

February 1, 2015, 6:41 am

The AI is not so much challenging as it is frustrating. While the patch fixed quite a bit of the issue of ramming, the AI still does its ramming here and there. It wouldn't be so bad if you didn't go spinning out of control damn near every time you're rammed, lol.

fried_egg

June 26, 2015, 1:44 pm

This game is the one that "sold" the need to buy a next gen machine... ive seen things like forza horizon 2 youtube videos where 360 and xbox1 are played side by side with little "wow" in the difference... but play this game and drive past water sprinklers in the field and its a "wow" --- that sort of scenery simply is a "new chapter" moment in the history of games.

polysix

January 10, 2016, 3:14 pm

Great game (Fun) and probably the best looking racer of all time, beating even the best PC has to offer at this time. Stunning lighting and track design, beautiful cars. Forza 6 on XB1 looks ridiculously bad by comparison (and is very dull too).

polysix

January 10, 2016, 3:24 pm

Not any more. It's now the best looking and most fun Racer on current gen consoles (and PC).

comments powered by Disqus