Our Score


Review Price £178.21

Scores In Detail

Image Quality

Our Score

Previous page


May 5, 2009, 7:38 am

The P2370's power value listed as a 'typical' value rather than the usual maximum so it's easy to see why you interpreted it wrong. (although of course, it's not up on the samsung website yet so I can't verify this)

Without knowing which of the wide range of normally used brightness values Samsung has picked to record their 'typical' power consumption value at, (the spec sheet doesn't tell you, of course) it's impossible to say whether this is actually more efficient than similar monitors. Given that it's maximum brightness is 250cd/m² and most 22-24" monitors used 30-40W at 200cd/m² I suspect this isn't going to turn out to be particularly low power when compared on a like by like basis.

I wish monitor manufacturers would stop making a mockery of their specifications and sell intermediate models on more acceptable criteria such as design and ergonomics while the genuine technical improvements are worked on.


May 5, 2009, 8:20 am

When can we see the Dell G2410 Review, LED btw...


May 5, 2009, 12:07 pm

More discreet design (at last) than previous models but nothing special with it and ergonomics and picture quality. Serious monitors just begin at 1000+ euro price level.


May 6, 2009, 3:57 pm


No there's no wrong interpretation here. The spec I saw listed it as maximum, and while that could possibly have been wrong, during testing (with a power-meter) the P2370 *never* went above 30.1W at full brightness. So this monitor is just as energy-efficient as the review claims.

As to your point about manufacturers "making a mockery of their specifications", that's definitely true, especially with figures like response time and contrast ratio.


No guarantees but keep an eye out :)


"Serious monitors just begin at 1000+ euro price level". Not necessarily, Stranded. The {} for example offers professional-level ergonomics and image quality at only £420.


May 7, 2009, 6:31 am

Thank you Ardjuna for the reference. Haven't seen "live" this monitor but is hard to believe such a good image quality, especially from HP. Some comments report problems with this too.

I am not impressed easily, my shortcoming from birth.


May 7, 2009, 5:12 pm


You're welcome.

Yes, there do seem to be quite a few problems with the 2475 models some people are receiving, but at least HP seems to be providing excellent support and replacements, and once users receive one with the updated firmware they appear to be uniformly impressed.

Get one from a store with a good returns/change-of-mind policy and you should be fine.

As to being difficult to impress, many would regard that as an asset, Stranded :)


May 18, 2009, 2:27 am

Can someone verify if this screen can be tilted forwards at all? i intend on having the monitor slighty above desk height and it would be helpful if the veiwing angle could be altered to point downwards slightly. If this is the case what is the furthest it can?

Thanks in advance!



July 6, 2009, 4:09 pm


Nearly all monitors include slight forward tilt (usually around 5 degrees), and I seem to remember the P2370 being one of them.

Ali Robertson

July 6, 2009, 9:31 pm

I can't believe this article totally omits mention of the fact that this monitor has no VESA mount. Sure, it's in the specs - but it's kind of a concern considering this is the first reasonably priced large monitor that is light enough to work on typical 19" desk mounts.


September 9, 2009, 5:16 pm

Does anyone know if Samsung plan on releasing a screen with these looks that has a decent panel inside? I'm being vain and want a good quality £300 ish panel that doesn't look like turd. I love the shiny, and I don't care about finger prints. :p

comments powered by Disqus