Home » Computing » PC Component » HIS Radeon HD 5850 » Counter-Strike: Source, Power, & Noise

HIS Radeon HD 5850 - Counter-Strike: Source, Power, & Noise

By Edward Chester


  • Recommended by TR
HIS Radeon HD 5850


Our Score


Review Price £209.99

Scores In Detail


Our Score

Previous page


October 17, 2009, 5:19 am

I read this review but it wasn't necessary. My next graphic card=Sapphire HD5850 soon.


October 17, 2009, 9:59 am

Hi I can't find any power consumption & temperature page. Are they not important?


October 17, 2009, 5:00 pm

@stranded: I read your comment and it wasn't necessary.

Good review by the way. Might get 2 of these in Crossfire.


October 17, 2009, 6:53 pm

@stranded, your post was not necessary too.

Mr Chester, could you please give relative noise levels of fans in future graphics card reviews? It would be good to know if this particular HIS card is loud or not relative to other manufacturer models and previous generation cards. Including the decibel levels of the fan at idle operation and during heavy load would be very informative. Apart from this omission, good review.

Tim Sutton

October 17, 2009, 7:50 pm

@ guy

I'd say having a *subjective* opinion on noise levels in a review is very worthwhile, but an actual decibel level is only useful if its done while the card is inside a PC case in an acoustically shielded room.

Which would add a lot of expense and time to every review, and really wouldn't add much to a reviewer just saying "a bit louder than x card, but not as loud as y card. Perfectly usable in a HTPC in your living room."

OT: I've just ordered 2 of these, will try some geekery Crossfire action before they go into their separate PCs :-)


October 17, 2009, 8:00 pm

Noise and temps would be good (idle and load).


October 17, 2009, 8:49 pm

@guy - I would also like to know the noise levels but after reading Bit-tech's 5850 review and why they don't give noise levels, I think it's quite difficult to get accurate measurements.

Although I'd still like to know, even if it's just a subjective opinion, and even if it's just to say that the 5850 is quieter/louder then the previous generation of ATi cards.


October 24, 2009, 5:12 pm

Pleas note, I've now added sound level testing to this article.


January 2, 2010, 9:57 pm

Thanks Ed for the sound level testing. Didn't realise it had been added until I did a Google search for 5850 noise levels, and this review came up first.

Hopefully, it'll prove slightly quieter then my 4870 when idle or, if not, I'll maybe have to consider the higher-spec Vapor-X cards.


February 25, 2010, 7:55 pm

A nice card, but I think my 5770 Vapor-x for over £90 less is better value.

comments powered by Disqus