Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 - Camera

Andrew Williams

By Andrew Williams

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 – Camera

Camera app and Performance

The camera experience of the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 is very similar to that of the higher-end Galaxy-series phones. They share the same mode- and feature-heavy camera app.

This makes it one of the more feature-rich tablet cameras. Performance is great too. Focusing is quick in all but the most taxing of conditions, and shot-to-shot times are excellent. There's little shutter lag.

The Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 camera app offers eleven different modes that meld traditional 'scene' and 'creative' modes. There are burst modes that let you pick the best shot or even remove moving objects from a scene, as well as more conventional night, panorama and HDR modes. Note 10.1 2014 14

There's very little sense of this being a cut-down camera setup, despite being within a tablet. Look deeper and there are a few missing bits and bobs you get in something like the Galaxy S4, though. There's no slo-mo video shooting (you get fast motion video, but it's not as fun) and the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 lacks the 4K resolution video capture Samsung packed into the Galaxy Note 3.

You do get 12 creative video filters, each of which can be previewed 'live'. As with most other aspects of the Note 10.1, the camera is jam-packed with extra bits - to the extent that you have to explore a bit to find them.

Hardware

The Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 camera sits dead centre on the top of the tablet's rear. It's an 8-megapixel sensor that, judging by the its performance, is likely of the mobile standard 1/3.2-inch size.

Its lens has an f/2.4 aperture, which too is pretty bog-standard.

Note 10.1 2014 5

Image quality

In good lighting, picture quality is good. Unlike some tablet cameras that have been bunged in out of a sense of obligation, the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 doesn't have any serious exposure, colour or white balance issues.

For a tablet, this is a pretty decent camera.

Low-light

Unlike some of the latest phones, though, low-light performance is still fairly poor. There's an increasing trend for using more intense noise reduction techniques in mobile device cameras, in order to smooth out noise in mid-level and low light scenes. The Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 doesn't use any particularly aggressive noise reduction, leading to grainy lower-light shots.

Note 10.1 2014 pics 2Note 10.1 2014 pics

It does have a flash, though – a standard single-LED flash. Thanks to the uninspiring low-light performance, having a flash to hand for late-night portraits is handy. However, despite the smaller body, we still felt quite awkward shooting with the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014.

HDR

As with the recently-reviewed Note 3, we find the HDR mode one of the best bits of the camera. It effectively increases the dynamic range of the tablet's camera, reducing overexposure and increasing detail in shadow areas. It does slow the camera down a bit, but the extra processing only takes about a second.

Note 10.1 2014 pics 1

They may be both glum-looking, but there's less overexposure, and more shadow detail, in the HDR shot

The main camera of the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 isn't going to challenge the very best phone cameras, but it's good within its own category.

Front camera

The front camera is a little closer to being top-end, with a 2-megapixel sensor that's higher-res than most. It can capture video and stills at 1080p, and provides very good picture quality for selfies and video chat.

It's a fairly wide angle lens, meaning you need to hold the tablet quite close to your face if you want to take your next Facebook profile pic with the thing. However, that also means you can get a few people around the tablet for a video chat.

Video Capture

Video from the main Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 camera maxes out at 1080p and is of good – if not quite spectacular - quality. It offers software video stabilisation that is pretty effective at smoothing out the jitteryness of handheld video, although is does have an impact on general video quality.

What it does is to crop into the captured video, in order to leave an area at the edge of the sensor that can be used to mitigate judder. With video it's a good replacement for actual optical stabilisation, but naturally doesn't work with stills.

dpanch_89

September 7, 2013, 6:49 pm

Can't wait to get one of these.

arnold

September 7, 2013, 9:05 pm

Like !

Tippa

September 7, 2013, 10:19 pm

How about Remote Desktop? I imagine that one could emulate a mouse using the S Pen, so you can remote control for example your Win7 computer at home. Does that work well? Which RDP app to use?

maaen

September 17, 2013, 9:51 pm

I just hope that the Note 12.2 will be as good or even better and has an extra large battery...a longer S pen( 7 inches long at least), and I hope that the tablet will be very sleek ....and I would like it to have a beautiful low light capable camera with the flash...and please Samsung ...No BUTTON.....and it would be so good to have two speakers on the top on the landscape format.....please do not make us wait too long

kenneth

November 14, 2013, 4:22 pm

The tablet is a disaster. Crashed just out of the box. Samsung dealer says the OS is unstable. Had to reinstall the OS. Notification bar freezes even with no apps running. I MADE A TOTALLY BAD DECISION!

kenneth

November 14, 2013, 4:24 pm

The OS is unstable. Mine crashed just out of the box. Samsung had to reformat the OS!

skynine

November 17, 2013, 11:50 am

Mine has worked perfectly. It did update the OS automatically soon after startup, no complaints so far.

kinza

November 17, 2013, 1:43 pm

nice

Sharky66

November 18, 2013, 11:59 am

Come on Nexus 10 - hurry up.

Albert

November 18, 2013, 12:33 pm

Sounds like my iPad Air. Screen blanked and bricked the first time I turned it on out of the box. Apple Genius said I had tried to jailbreak it (I don't even have any idea what that is) and would not help as I did not have Applecare. Lucky John Lewis is excellent at returns. I am now waiting for the new larger Nexus.

Chris

November 18, 2013, 8:06 pm

I own old version and only issue I have is battery life / charging time issue. Hopefully that was addressed in 2014 model

dpanch_89

November 18, 2013, 11:04 pm

Got it now, and its great! though its my first android product, so i'm still figuring out how the file system works! Need to find a good PDF annotating app for my PhD too!

cbordin

November 19, 2013, 1:34 am

Have had mine just over a week and it Rocks! I would recommend it to anyone stylus required or not. Super fast and rock solid and for battery life in my case, it lasts all day. Light use days I could get two or three days.
I will never go back to apple and their restricted/moderated software. If anyone disputes this just download Fing for Apple and then try Fing for android.

IT Admin

connor

November 26, 2013, 11:58 pm

apparently nexus 10 2nd gen not happening

http://au.ibtimes.com/articles...

Droid

November 28, 2013, 4:04 am

I personally don't trust a single word coming from an IBTimes article..

Chad

December 8, 2013, 1:58 am

I have had mine for two weeks and I am completely satisfied. Upgraded from the Note 8, which was the best device I have ever had. Was nervous, but now I am glad I went with the larger version of a great device. I would not trade my Note for 10 ipads.

Ilya Feldman

December 10, 2013, 11:08 am

I realize this is an unusual question, but which color would you go with? Does either color serve any specific utility other than just aesthetics?

Tushar Patil

December 15, 2013, 1:40 pm

I would suggest Black would look good, as black border would provide good contrast...But still it depends on your choice.

miginny

December 16, 2013, 7:14 pm

This tablet is awesome! Stylus is not just a footnote; it's the main reason I got this model and it rocks. Feels like a paper notepad, except I can keep all my notes electronically filed. Multi-window, multi-tasking is another brilliant feature (that was not mentioned in this review).

Richard

December 18, 2013, 1:48 am

I got a Surface Pro but I am taking it back to get this tablet instead because of how terrible the user interface is, and this seems to be a lot better. He mentioned performance issues, have you noticed those?

Floyd russell

December 28, 2013, 11:40 pm

Hello,

I presume that you are talking the 2014 model?

James

January 4, 2014, 8:58 pm

On the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014

Just bought this yesterday and am not impressed.
The UI is way too mess/fussy; frequently the touch screen will not respond until 3-5 tries when touching links; the sound is absolutely horrible - tinny and without any depth. useability overall stinks. To me, if useability is crappy, the device is crappy.
My S3 android phone is far better in all of the above.

Of course, it's better points are the video playback (with horrible, unbearable) sound; the screen resolution, size and speed; and the battery.
I hope that the stylus will be useful to me but I have only just fooled around with it so I can't offer useful comment. It does work quite well tho, so I am looking forward to testing that.

The build quality is cheap. The bottom edge is curved and the mini-usb charger connector at bottom edge middle is usually hard to get in/out. It is VERY slippery so a case with texture is essential.
I do not think it is worth near $600 - maybe $400.

My intention, having bought this at Costco, is to further test it, then exchange this unit, and if nothing is better, to return it.
I would give up the super screen/vid playback for a tablet which does not have the above issues.

I may update this lattter as I use it more.

Shontal Ann

January 5, 2014, 4:26 am

I opted for the black as well and it is beautiful :) The black has a sort of frosted sheen that is so enticing to the eyes!

James McG

January 24, 2014, 5:02 pm

I have this tablet and have to totally disagree, the sound is OK not top quality but passable, the UI is excellent once setup for you settings and I have had absolutely no issues with the touch screen. I had the iPad 4 before this and this is way better than it in most things. Maybe your one has a bug or fault hope it works out for you.

D.C. Price, MBA,PMP,MCTS,CNA

July 18, 2014, 4:32 pm

Samsung does not care about their customers or the investment their customers make in their technology. They just want your money, more money. My Galaxy Note 10.1 is less than 10 months old but I cannot fully use it because I am stuck on an outdated operating system. I have called Customer support no less than 10 times asking when the KitKat 4.4.4. OS will be release for my device and today I was told it may not be. Why? Because Samsung is so busy pushing out new $500.00 devices to new customers they fail to keep current customers updated. Now if this were the worst, it would be digestable. But when I ask how much of a trade in value they will give me for my less than 10 month old device, in perfect condition, I am told $40.00! Really? It sounds like they just want my (your) money!. Beware with your money if you are considering Samsung as your technology device provider. I will post this on every website I find to warn everyone of the horrible customer service I have recived by a company that is collecting big American dollars. Thank you very much.

comments powered by Disqus