Home » Round-ups » TVs » Best 4K TVs 2015: Top Ultra HD TVs to look out for

Best 4K TVs 2015: Top Ultra HD TVs to look out for


4K tv
Jump to:

If you’re in the market for a new 4K TV, you’ve come to the right place. Whether you call it 4K, UHD, Ultra HD or Ultra High Definition, we’ve rounded up the next generation TVs to go for if Full HD just doesn’t cut it anymore.

But what is 4K? The technology can be confusing, especially as it comes under many different guises. You may otherwise know it as UHD, Ultra HD, Ultra High Definition or even SUHD, but rest assured, these terms all describe the same thing!

4K is a picture technology that quadruples the pixel count of Full HD. These pixels are usually arranged in a 3,840 x 2,160 configuration on a 16:9 ratio panel. Read our dedicated 4K guide for more.

If you’re sold on 4K and prepared to spend the money to own one, we've picked out the best curved screen and flat screen 4K TVs, ranging from 48-inches to 75-inches.

Hit the dropdown menu above to head straight to our short reviews or read on for more buying advice.

Why should I buy a 4K TV?

Long-touted as the future of television, 4K/UHD is finally becoming mainstream and is at last making it into people’s homes. The likes of Samsung, Sony, Panasonic and LG are leading the charge, and their 2015 4K models are stunning.

The greatest benefit of making the leap from HD or Full HD to 4K relates to clarity. 4K TVs offer sharper, more detailed pictures, making them perfect for watching sport, wildlife documentaries and movies. What’s more, the 4K content on Netflix, Amazon Instant Video and YouTube is constantly growing, so there’s loads to look forward to.

Believe us when we say that once you've experienced 4K, you won’t want anything else.

Understandably, manufacturers are keen to squeeze their Ultra High Definition panels into spectacular, super-slim bodies. We’ve therefore seen the grand rise of curved screen UHD TVs, which are real living room centre-pieces, though we think that flat screen UHD TVs are just as impressive.

Most 4K televisions offer 3D playback too, making the home cinema experience better than ever. We’re also beginning to see more and more 4K TVs with HDR support, which should make for an incredible experience when HDR content actually becomes available.

SEE ALSO: Best Soundbars

Better still, as 4K TVs become more widespread, prices have started to tumble. You can now pick up an outstanding 4K television for around £1,000, though you'll still need to shell out at least £3,000 for the best models.

Not quite ready to invest in a 4K TV? Head over to our round-ups of the best TVs and best cheap TVs instead, or read our TV Buying Guide.

Personally Reviewed

October 24, 2013, 4:01 am

The Sony 4K TV doesn't support or recognize as many formats as the LG 55LA9700, and Sony's TV over-saturates Red colours...

How do I know? I've personally tested both together side by side.

Jan Frei

October 24, 2013, 6:35 am

Hi TR Please check a price on 55X9 and 65X9!!!!
In Sony store UK price is 4999.00 pounds
And is HDMI 2.0 upgradable via software update

More info on http://www.sony.co.uk/product/...


October 24, 2013, 7:54 am

On the HDMI front, Sony says it is but I've been told it probably means some downsampling unless the hardware already exists to do it, which Sony has confirmed either way yet. I know that's not all that helpful, but that's life.

Mozef Kaddas

November 14, 2013, 7:15 am

That's what I thought too, shouldn't the hardware be exist?

János Márk Fodor

November 17, 2013, 8:21 pm

You are dissappointing. Where is the LG 55LA9700 ?

Rob C

March 5, 2014, 10:42 am

Article Title: "Best 4K TVs 2014".
Article Date: "12 November 2013".


June 3, 2014, 8:10 pm

Is there a new review for 4K as the Panasonic WT600 is not the current offering the new AX802 is stunning!!!!!


June 3, 2014, 8:41 pm

It's in the works.


July 13, 2014, 11:04 pm

I've searched the net over and cannot find anything on which 4K set is good for gaming with consoles (ps4, xboxone, ps3, etc). In the market for one, but I can't find anything on input lag!


July 15, 2014, 9:35 am

The best 4K TV now is the Sony KD-65X9500B. I viewed this set together with the
Sony KDL-65X9005B mentioned in this article (which is called the KD-65X9200B here in Japan) at the Sony Showroom in Ginza, and the difference is amazing. The 9500B is much brighter and sharper compared to the 9005B since it uses a X-tended Dynamic Range Pro high luminance technique compared to the 9005B. The Blu-Ray disks "Mastered in 4K" which are given as a bonus when you purchase the 4K sets here, are amazing. And these are just BR movies enhanced and not true 4K yet.

The price in Japan is roughly $1,500 more than the 9005B but definitely worth the price if you want the best. There is also an 85 inch version but that will set you back $20,000 on special order with a one month wait.

They had the 85 inch and 65 inch 9500B's hooked up to PS4's playing FIFA 2014.

With the upscaling capabilities and a new firmware that is soon to be released which will allow you to play content off of USB thumb drives without any additional hardware (!!!), this is the TV set to get.

Watching content shot with the prosumer AX100 cam or the higher end AX1 cam makes you wonder how we continue to live in a 1080p world...



July 28, 2014, 3:52 pm

Consoles can't reach 4K yet. If you are using a pc then you may get some use out of it but if you're just after console gaming you can go for a lower res and it'll still look good.

Archie Paras

August 11, 2014, 5:29 am

Is the 65HU8590 any different from the UN55HU9000? Are there any features or image improvement that warrants a purchase of 55" over 65"? These are the two models available to me no 65" 9000.

Hard Wired

September 10, 2014, 4:11 am

We have last years XBR 65X900A 4K TV. I haven't viewed any 4K material through this set...yet. We bought it mainly because we we're going to upgrade to a 65" TV anyways and got a good deal on it. 1080p blu rays look awesome, as does internet streaming content, and I read they announced the disc standard for version 2.0 UBR's at 50 + mbps, 2160/60 fps with a 10 bit color space, and players to follow in 2015. I hope were able to easily upgrade the version 1.4 port on our TV. Soon for our main veiwer/movie TV we're getting the 79" version of your TV, probably be the last set we buy.


December 16, 2014, 6:14 pm

The best TV technology that I've seen so far is actually from a brand called Vu. They came up with something called the Super TV. It's 4K UHD but it has a full computer inside of it so you can store content and download thousands of applications. THAT's the way that TV should be!

Google Vu Displays Super TV and you'll find it.


May 18, 2015, 10:49 pm

And it's pretty expensive...I'd rather stream my media to a TV from my own computer than have some half baked computer inside one.

Andy Race

August 7, 2015, 3:57 am

To avoid confusion, can you please update the article so that it features 2015 models only?


August 9, 2015, 3:30 pm

Yes, I looked at the 'best flat 65"' and seriously? Doesn't even mention HDR and I'm pretty sure some of the latest sets would beat it for picture quality.

Or was this for Google's benefit rather than ours? Shame because it would have been interesting.

TV baratas

September 3, 2015, 7:10 am

Very nice list of tv, thanks!

comments powered by Disqus