Home » Mobile » GPS & Sat Nav » TomTom GO 5000

TomTom GO 5000 review



  • Editors choice
TomTom GO 5000


Our Score


User Score


  • Lifetime TomTom traffic
  • Lifetime European map updates
  • New My Routes waypoint system


  • LIVE services only include traffic and speed camera updates
  • Speed cameras still need subscription after three-month trial

Review Price £229.99

Key Features: 5-inch widescreen; Maps for 45 European countries with lifetime updates; Lifetime TomTom Traffic; Radically redesigned menu system; Unified address and points of interest keyword search

Manufacturer: TomTom

What is the TomTom GO 5000?

The TomTom GO 5000 is TomTom's premium range-topping 5-inch sat-nav. While this is essentially the little brother of the 6-inch GO 6000, its release coincides with a significant update to the software, which brings with it some important new features. Most notably, the update introduces My Routes, which is a waypoint-grouping and editing system. This wasn't previously part of the new interface that was introduced with GO 500 in August. Like other sat-navs in this range, however, the GO 5000 includes free traffic updates.

SEE ALSO: 10 best sat navs you can buy

TomTom GO 5000

TomTom GO 5000: Features

Being a 1000-series rather than a 100-series TomTom GO, the 5000 comes with Live services built-in as well as its own mobile data link. Like the other members of the new GO models, lifetime TomTom Traffic and a three-month trial of safety camera information are included, as well as lifetime updates for the maps. There are no subscription charges to pay for the mobile data provision for the lifetime of the product, either.

We have commended TomTom Traffic (previously known as HD Traffic) many times in the past, and it remains our favourite live traffic service. It covers more roads with greater accuracy than standard RDS-TMC traffic. The prompts for faster routes as traffic builds up are worth trusting, and we have regretted ignoring them on the occasions we thought we knew better. Increasingly key to TomTom Traffic is the route information bar on the right of the screen, which was originally created just to show forthcoming incidents on the route ahead.

With the new TomTom range, the route bar acquired a useful countdown of proximity to a speed camera as you approach it. Now there's even more information. The nearest speed camera on your route is indicated, so you are warned well in advance of when it is actually nearby. The first two fuel stops on your route are also shown, so you can look out for them, or take a detour beforehand if running low on petrol. An option to find nearby parking as you approach your destination is also shown.

TomTom GO 5000

As we have explained regarding the previous releases from TomTom's new range, this is a total redesign of the menu and devices, which is presumably why features are still filtering through. The interface has been drastically de-cluttered, with a strip of menu icons replacing the multiple pages of previous TomToms. Although the addition of new features have added to this strip, it's still a step away from the feature creep found in most sat-navs now.

All the different methods for finding a destination have been combined into one Search facility, a keyword-based system that lets you search for a postcode, a street address, or a point of interest all at the same time. The latest software will try to figure out a partial postcode, as well. The results screen is split into two panes, with addresses on the left and points of interest on the right. The search is across all the country maps installed, although we did find this slowed the search down in some cases. New in this version of the software is the ability to navigate to latitude and longitude coordinates as well.

Next page


November 26, 2013, 4:04 pm

I'm surprised this got a 10/10. I've had the big brother, the TomTom6000 for a few months now, and whilst in principle it is very pleasant to use with the large screen and new user interface, in truth it leaves a lot to be desired when you live with it. It gets puzzled about some complex junctions and gives incorrect instructions (M40 southbound at the A404 for example) and the traffic updates are sometimes clueless - yesterday for example, overturned truck on the M40, all but one lane closed, 15 mile tailback - and - NOTHING indicated as congestion or delay on TomTom. Bizarrely, the feeder roads showed congestion, but not the M40. So when you really need it, it lets you down. Needs a firmware and server side upgrade. It will be wonderful - some day.


November 26, 2013, 5:01 pm

It seems to be the same with all TomToms for the last few years, great reviews, poor reliability.

I had three XL Lives and returned all three, mainly due to through crashing and rebooting, and took a refund in the end and bought a Garmin. Not quite so advanced - but it works.

I am reading the same stuff on their forum about the 5000 and the 6000.

Andy Race

November 27, 2013, 7:19 am

Does it keep telling you to "Keep to the Right" whilst driving past every single lay-by on an A road? My Go 950 does this and it drives me up the wall. It also can't tell the difference between a sharp bend and a junction.

Dr James Morris

November 29, 2013, 10:36 am

Not as far as I recall.

Dr James Morris

November 29, 2013, 10:39 am

That is strange. I have never had anything like that happen and I have driven with TomTom Traffic a LOT. The only thing I can suggest is that it lost mobile data connectivity and didn't receive the info for that jam. The one issue I've had was Traffic missing when the M4 was totally closed a few Christmases ago due to the flyover bridge being dangerous. That was picked up as no traffic instead. But I believe they have added a feature to prevent this issue again.


November 29, 2013, 4:01 pm

Yes, it is strange, but it wasn't a connection issue - it was showing congestion on the slip roads, but not on the motorway. Weird. It's not the only time either. There is a completely new operating system in the 5000 and 6000 - unlike anything they have done before. It is clearly full of bugs still.


February 12, 2014, 12:33 am

10/10 with no "avoid part of a route" feature? few accidents, few blocked roads and I started to hate my go...


July 30, 2014, 6:57 am

Hi David, I agree. I have had two Tom Toms and had similar issues and the map updates via software is an awful experience. Won't connect, won't update when connected! Will now buy a Garmin.

ian banks

August 31, 2014, 7:13 pm

just got the go 5000 and not happy carn't read anything if it's sunny it just becomes a mirrow

Sarah Walters

December 26, 2014, 3:58 pm

Very odd that you gave this a 10/10. Personally, I'd give it 1/10 if that. We got this as a replacement for our old TomTom Go Live (which I love, and has been extremely reliable). We thought it would be faster to latch on to the satellites (it is, hence the 1/10). However everything else is awful. The interface is terrible, and the menus very non-intuitive, unlike the old device. We plugged it in and logged in with my account, thinking if we didn't like it, we could always restore the old device. It takes HOURS to download and install new maps and updates, rather than minutes as with the old device. Then we found all sorts of issues with it. You can't customise the map colours (you can change them, but they don't offer standard OS colours as an option). You can't change the car icon, have to use the pointer. The zoom in 2D is awful - the pointer appears so huge that it obscures whole street blocks at a time, so you can't see where you are unless you manually zoom in - and it zooms back out again very rapidly. You aren't offered the choice to save your current location as a favourite, or home. You have to tap on the map, but this isn't terribly accurate because of the zoom issue, or use a postcode. Because we use this to travel to lots of rural and sometimes off marked road locations, we can't use postcodes. Another step backwards. Other reviews tell us it won't charge while in the mounting cradle in the car. We honestly don't care about bluetooth, phone compatibility (would never use phone, not even hands free, while driving), or voice commands. We just want a sat nav that allows us to customise, save current locations, avoid traffic snarl ups and re-route appropriately and work properly. Then when I decided I really didn't like it and wanted to send it back, I was told I couldn't re-link my old device to my account for 6 months, so I lost all the map updates and live traffic services I had paid for. I had to set up another account and link to that, pay again for the maps and traffic. So I'm out of pocket by a huge amount, although i hope I can get the money back for the actual device. Sorry, this really is a terrible backward step. I give it 1/10 because it links to satellites quickly, otherwise 0/10. I will use up the subscriptions I have been forced to pay for again and then change to Garmin. Never again TomTom!


June 13, 2015, 4:48 pm

Have had a Go 5000 now for about a year and have used it to go across France and into Spain and various locations in the UK. Its always up to date. I find it a pain in the backside most of the time, everytime you do a route or alternative route it comes up with different options and we haven't even moved off! traffic seems to get rave reviews however I don't rate it that good; often it tells me there's a delay when there isn't and often it does not indicate any delay when there is! timings of delays are way off also on one occasion it told us there was a 8min delay on route in France so we decided to stay on the route and muddle through the 8mins, turned out we got stuck in excess of 30mins and it only updated that when we were stuck in the Q! 10/10? I don't think so, maybe on first glance but once you've used it for some months you soon want to throw it at the windscreen! My old XL was much better even without traffic. The Go 5000 also does not allow you to 'travel via' numerous users have raised this on the TomTom forums and we have just been told thats the way it is now. You can do add stop to route but I don't want to add a stop I just want to plan a route that I know is good to avoid certain known congested zones (which TomTom does not). It is useful to have the GPRS data built in for traffic but it does slow the unit down somewhat on a day to day basis. Scrolling around the map can be cumbersome while the data connection updates traffic and other stuff...........


July 3, 2015, 1:33 pm

TomTom go 5000 bought on Oct 2014 doesn't update to newest europe's map v9.51 from Jul 1st, 2015

I am really disappointing to find out that TomTom sells hardware that becomes obsolete in less time than its 2 year warranty, not even a single year! And I am talking about a flagship top of the line model (i.e., Go 5000). I can only think that they really need good hardware designers that are able to oversee the requirements properly. Their workaround has two options: 1)Buy a a microSD, why should I pay more or 2)Install a localized map. Since I reside in the Netherlands the logic means that I should opt out for benelux full and Europe old fashioned, yes just like and old nav! The problem is, that I have Germany (1hr) and France (2hr) around the corner and do like to have full detailed maps of it. So, I demand you either: 1)replace my device for one that can support updates for its warranty period, 2)provide me a free microSD card that doesn't degrade the performance of the device and can support updates for at least the device's warranty period, or 3)allow to have full maps for as many countries as possible (at least 12 should be possible). One should be able to freely select them.
It does not make sense that if I want to go to France I need to install the localized version of the map to enjoy the features I paid for (the 3D maps is one of your selling points) . Also, one needs to have in mind that changing the maps means to uninstall and install 6GB twice, once to install France, and the second to get back to benelux. Genius, isn't it?

comments powered by Disqus