Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / Nokia Lumia 620

Nokia Lumia 620 review

Andrew Williams

By

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Editors choice

1 of 27

Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620
  • Nokia Lumia 620

Summary

Our Score:

9

Pros

  • Great design and ergonomics
  • Fantastic value
  • High quality, if low-res, screen
  • Strong overall performance

Cons

  • App roster can’t compete with budget Androids
  • Average battery life

Key Features

  • 1GHz dual-core Snapdragon S4 CPU
  • 512MB RAM
  • 3.8-inch 480 x 800 pixel ClearBlack LCD screen
  • Windows Phone 8 OS
  • 8GB internal memory
  • 5-megapixel camera with LED flash
  • Manufacturer: Nokia
  • Review Price: £150.00

First Reviewed 7/02/13

The Nokia 620 has been superceded by the Nokia 630

What is the Nokia Lumia 620?

Since the Windows Phone revolution started in 2010 with Windows Phone 7, things haven’t quite panned out as Microsoft hoped. Poor sales, slightly borked budget models and lack of public recognition didn’t help matters. But things are starting to turn around.

The Nokia Lumia 620 is a sign of this turnabout. A superb range of features, delightful design and excellent price make this not only the best budget Windows phone around, but one of the best budget phones, full stop.

If the 620 still seems a tiny bit pricey for your budget, you should also check out the Lumia 520. It's around £50 cheaper SIM-free and has a larger screen. The catch? It's not as cute, it lacks a few of the 620's flashier features and its screen's a wee bit lower-quality.

For more, check out our Lumia 520 vs 620 comparison.

Nokia Lumia 620 –Video Review

Don't fancy reading through our full review? Take a look at our video review below, which shows you what the phone looks like in-hand, as well as showing off a few of its top features.

Nokia Lumia 620 – Design and Features

The Nokia Lumia range is no stranger to commercial failure, but it has provided us with some of the most recognisable phones of the last few years, like the classic Lumia 800. Previous budget models had none of this flair, but the Nokia Lumia 620 is treated to a spoonful.Nokia Lumia 620 2

There isn't any of the high-end colour-drenched polycarbonate of the top Lumias, but the Nokia Lumia 620 is one of the cheeriest, most carefully-style affordable phones around. Its full-back removable plastic battery cover snakes around to the glass front of the screen, a perfect impression of a unibody phone that leaves the handset with no ugly seams, and palm-hugging smooth curves.

Nokia Lumia 620 3

The Nokia Lumia 620 comes in seven colours, and each cover is a cut above the norm. Rather than being made of simple glossy plastic, each has two layers. The bottom is a thin layer of opaque plastic, topped with a secondary translucent layer that gives depth to the finish. It may not feel like a top-end phone exactly, but this makes the Lumia 620 seem classier and more interesting than many other budget blowers, including its comparatively dull predecessor, the Lumia 610.

With a bit of imagination, you could even say that the red case gives the Lumia 620 the impression of being ringed with neon, viewed from the front.

Nokia Lumia 620 14

Fun energy and accessibility are what the Nokia Lumia 620 is after, and it gets both in spades. A few years ago, the 3.8-inch screen of this phone would have seemed huge, but now that the high street phone shop is dominated with mammoth mobiles like the Samsung Galaxy S3, the Lumia 620 seems positively kid-friendly. At 11mm thick, it’s certainly not slim, but the ergonomic purity of the phone’s unbroken curves mean you barely notice the chunk factor.

Nokia Lumia 620 11

The Nokia Lumia 620’s relatively small size makes reaching the phone’s on-body buttons a cinch, helped by Nokia’s characteristic button placement. Where most phone-makers tend to put power buttons up top and volume rockers on a side edge, the Nokia Lumia 620 lays all its buttons along the right edge. The power button naturally rests under your thumb if you’re right-handed, and the volume controls are only a thumb slide away.

Further down this right edge you’ll find the camera shutter button. It’s rare in phones these days, but is a requirement of every Windows Phone 8 mobile. As this button automatically launches the camera app, we were concerned holding the phone might accidentally set the thing off, but in-use we encountered no such problems.

This shutter button is a symptom of the ways in which Windows Phone is restrictive, but the Nokia Lumia 620 also demonstrates some of the ways Windows Phone 8 has loosened up a few of these. Most important of all, take off the battery cover and you’ll find a microSD memory card slot.

The Nokia Lumia 620 comes with 8GB of internal memory, just under 5GB of which is accessible. This is plenty for a handful of apps and games, but if you want to make this your music player as well as your mobile, you’ll need more storage. Phones of the previous generation - Windows Phone 7 mobiles - didn’t support this handy expandable memory feature.

Another recent improvement is the ease of file transfers. In the previous Nokia Lumia phones, you had to hook up to the Zune desktop software to transfer files - much like the iPhone's relationship with iTunes. There are no such annoying restrictions here. You can just plug the Nokia Lumia 620 into a computer to drag ‘n’ drop, bung in a microSD card or even share files over Bluetooth. Owning a Windows Phone mobile comes with far fewer irritations than it used to.

Nokia Lumia 620 – Wireless Connectivity

There are few sockets on the Nokia Lumia 620 – just a microUSB port on the bottom edge and a 3.5mm headphone jack up top. And, oddly, the headphone input is built into the case rather than the phone itself, connecting with little metal contacts, but functionally it makes no difference.

Wireless connectivity is a different story. It’s excellent for a low-cost phone.

Nokia Lumia 620 12

Staples like Bluetooth, HSPA 3G mobile internet and GPS are all expected in a modern smartphone, but including NFC in the Lumia 620 wins Nokia a fistful of tech brownie points. Although the NFC is in its infancy in terms of mainstream adoption, it’s an important element of the future-proofing of this phone.

NFC stands for Near-Field Communication and lets devices communicate wirelessly over short distances. The most attention-grabbing use of NFC is in making payments on the high street without a credit card, but it can also be used to transmit information between devices. Windows Marketplace even offers a section in its app store showing off NFC-based apps.

All the Nokia Lumia 620 misses out on is 4G. And such a connection won’t be much use in a budget phone for at least a year. Would you really fork out for a contract that gets you a £400 phone and opt for a £150 one?

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

A World of Paine

February 7, 2013, 9:13 am

The pink, red, green and purple colour scheme is so tasteful.

A World of Paine

February 7, 2013, 9:15 am

Come to think of it the silly little screen makes it look like a child's toy anyway, so why not have a kindergarten paintbox for a colour scheme - it makes perfect sense now.

meerkat82

February 7, 2013, 11:40 am

Excellent review. Excellent phone for someone young - or at least young at heart?
The Nokia comeback continues, but I think I'll go for the Xperia Z, although I am tempted to wait for the rumoured EOS as the camera is so good and the Nokia apps are excellent (maps, radio etc.)

diddler

February 7, 2013, 1:54 pm

If this had been available before Christmas I probably would have got one over the Ace 2, but like all NokSoft stuff it just seems a little too late to the party.

Stan D'Art

February 8, 2013, 9:02 pm

you are the best person to tell us what retard scheme looks like?

Shobin Drogan

February 12, 2013, 4:40 am

Not everyone has mega cash to spend on large screen phones, in any case why would you want a phone the size of texas, needs two hands to operate and drops your pants everytime you walk a LITTLE bit fast? Also, more colours = more suited taste for more people, its called expanding your market and increasing customers, something i suspect someone as idiotic as you would have no idea about.

kupfernigk

February 15, 2013, 1:03 pm

Another Galaxy Note 2 owner trying to justify their buying decision. Seriously, what kind of kick do you get out of trolling?

murali dharan md

February 15, 2013, 2:40 pm

i am waiting for it.......friends shall i get this mobile..... hoe it is just tell me

Potsomeg

February 19, 2013, 3:36 pm

I want a phone that will ring and vibrate for the duration of the ring so I can receive a call. The 620 is the same as the 710, Nokia have learned nothing. Where is the dustbin?

Potsomeg

February 19, 2013, 3:53 pm

I want a phone that will vibrate for the duration of the ringing when set on ring and vibrate.
The 620, I am advised is a repeat of the 710. Also the font size of the numbers is too small as is the 710. Where is the dustbin Nokia you have not listened to past complaints?

Yasser Fernando

February 25, 2013, 5:00 am

The font size of Windows Phone 8 can be adjusted. Oh, you didn't know? You shouldn't comment without searching.

Potsomeg

February 25, 2013, 1:40 pm

I went into o2 and they said that the font size of the numbers in contacts are fixed as on the 710. I will try and confirm with another visit. Have you any comments re the ringing and vibrate at the same time on the 620. I will ask about that again. I have another complaint about the 710, no drafts folder when texting, perhaps that is available with Windows 8. I am a Nokia fan, I have never had a problem with any of their products, just dissapointed with Windows 7.5.

Gary Szendzielarz

February 28, 2013, 3:54 pm

Works fine for me. I have the 620 and quite possibly the best phone I've ever had. The text size is changeable; yes, even for contacts and numbers. No issue at all. Look, if you look for problems, you'll find them. My wife has an iPhone, and we have an iPad. Both have problems - the iPad has serious problems. I wouldn't touch an Apple device with a barge-pole. Android is just a mess, and has WAY too much slow down.

Guest

March 24, 2013, 11:14 am

I own a Galaxy S3 and agree(not with you btw) that there are people who don't want a huge phone, i class mine as that. One that you worry about breaking when its in your jeans pocket and you sit down, incase it flexes and cracks. I listen alot to music through my earphones during the day at work so the phone has to be in my pocket and its annoying having to carefully position it in my trouser pocket to minimise any stress on it and the 3.5mm jack coming out the top. Phones in my eyes have gone past the point of appeal in their size. Big is not best, useability and function is. This is why i'm thinking about this Nokia Lumia 620, it has alot of pro's, tethering is a big one for me, as is overall size(height and width). And i use my phone alot, music, browsing etc, social apps(twitter) and ebay/amazon etc. Quit with the fanboy attitude and add something useful kupfernigk, no-ones here to read lame comments.

Guest

March 24, 2013, 11:18 am

I own a Galaxy S3 and agree(not with you btw) that there are people who
don't want a huge phone, i class mine as that. One that you worry about
breaking when its in your jeans pocket and you sit down, incase it
flexes and cracks. I listen alot to music through my earphones during
the day at work so the phone has to be in my pocket and its annoying
having to carefully position it in my trouser pocket to minimise any
stress on it and the 3.5mm jack coming out the top. Phones in my eyes
have gone past the point of appeal in their size. Big is not best,
useability and function is. This is why i'm thinking about this Nokia
Lumia 620, it has alot of pro's, tethering is a big one for me, as is
overall size(height and width). And i use my phone alot, music, browsing
etc, social apps(twitter) and ebay/amazon etc. Quit with the fanboy
attitude and add something useful kupfernigk, no-ones here to read lame
comments.

Phil

March 30, 2013, 10:12 am

I just bought one on payg on Vodafone for £129.99 plus £10 top up from Carphonewarehouse yesterday. I'm selling my Samsung Galaxy S3, lol. Its just too big and as amazing as it is, its not really suited to what i use a phone for and my work environment.

I've had the Lumia 620 a whole 24hrs now so i can shed a little light on it coming from a top level Android phone.

Took a few hours to set up everything, my accounts, twitter, ebay, emails, facebook and so on. Wifi was simply search, enter password and connected, and has been 100% solid in use(i think it switches off when screen closes and comes on when phone is unlocked). The Nokia Store has everything i need for now, WhatsApp, Twitter, Amazon, Battery monitor, Netflix, TV Catchup, Weather channel, Angry Birds, Flashlight, Ringtone makers, Skype, Speedtest, TuneIn Radio, You Tube, Wiki etc are all on there. With regards to typing, the keyboard(despite looking a bit cramped width-wise) has been very accurate, way more than the gs3 was.
Camera is good old nokia, solid, reliable feel, easy to use, capture shot sound is not intrusive tho screenshot sound is excessively loud!
Internet is good so far too. The only silly small problems i'm having is knowing how to do stuff like setting background for your photo app, and basically knowing where to look for certain things in the Settings etc. Stuff you will always get and eventually learn with a new phone.

Used the Nokia Drive sat nav too, DL'd the whole of UK and various voices and use it in offline mode is brilliant, no data charges anymore! Works fantastically too! So too is the Nokia Music, same thing, DL it over wifi, store up to 4 mixes for free or pay a small fee to allow more to be stored offline at any one time(new release pop, dance chart, most played dance or new releases etc) all for offline use. And the speaker is very good!

Battery dropped 2% in 6 1/2hrs during the night(remember i think wifi is turned off when screen is locked and i have turned off data connection 3g/2g so no data transfer is happening). Battery currently at 41% after 19hrs, 7hrs of that i was non-stop using it after it had charged up fully, that alone would have seriously impacted my gs3 with similar use, screen always on, use included downloading maps, voices and then using sat nav for 30mins, approx 2hrs music playing, general internet use and downloading games/apps, playing them, and using the camera taking pictures and viewing, re-arranging icons, lots of stuff you do with a new phone. Nokia Lumia 620 touchscreen very responsive and clear, it's all great news, tho it will take me a few days to get used to it whereas the GS3 is easy-peasy like ios is to use, but i have no regrets so far.

Few minor things i don't like. Camera lense glass??? is flush with the back cover so be careful putting it down. Speaker is easily covered up and almost silences the phone if covered with a finger etc! The 'send' icon if using Nokia's people hub(for twitter, facebook etc) is placed directly below the space bar on the keyboard and is EASILY pressed by accident, but use the official apps from the Nokia Store and keyboard 'send' icon is in a different position-icon is still same height below the space bar but further over to the left. Like i said, minor niggles. Shame no FM radio, but tbh this phone is stonking value, i can't wait to get the yucky lime green case for it! Very very recommended phone, once your micro sd(mines 32Gb) and micro sim is in(its horridly fiddly and cheap feeling how both are designed to be installed) and the battery is in, its all positive from then on!

Phil

March 30, 2013, 10:34 am

Go to 'Settings', 'ease of access' and increase 'text size' to as large or small as you want it, i checked this and it enlarges my contacts details including their number so i don't understand your complaint??? Main contacts list in the Peoples Hub is in large letters, tap on a contact and it has the contacts name across the top of the screen in CAPITALS, the rest below is in lower case, the number is in the same font colour as your tiles(mine are orange atm,), Just tap on contact name and then tap on the number to call it.

Phil

March 30, 2013, 10:42 am

I can't see a drafts folder, but if you type a message, them jump out and do other stuff, when you go back in to messages its there still, ready to be completed or deleted. Same as a draft is tbh, I think your nit-picking tho, would something that minor stop you from purchasing what is an excellent phone? You just need to go buy one and use it, thats what i did, i doubt anyone will be unimpressed with it after paying just £130!

Phil

March 30, 2013, 10:47 am

Give it a rest, the only time its any use when vibrating is when its on your person, either in a pocket or in your hand, if its not then thats why the phone rings and the vibrating stops. Its common sense. Why the heck would you want your phone to vibrate non-stop when its 10ft or more away?????? Your the only one commenting negative things and you don't even own the phone.......

Potsomeg

March 30, 2013, 2:28 pm

Thanks for your view,I work in a noisy enviroment, if on ring and vibrate I can't hear the ring, miss the single vibrate and consequently the call. I do not want to keep changing from vibrate only to ring and semi vibrate. The staff at o2, CPWH. and phones4u think it is odd. I do own a 620 and you were right about the font it can be made larger which was not possible with the 710 or if it was I never found out how to change. The rest of the phone is fine and good value. If you read other forums I am not alone, a lot of users are complaining. Nokia just need to make a change and have the same feature as Apple, it is a phone after all and Nokia are supposed to be connecting people!!!

Khairil Ashraf samsudin

April 22, 2013, 3:05 pm

i love this phone! when i buy this i was like, what the heck, this can be my 2nd phone backing up my 4s but then again, i found myselft staring at this phone more than my 4s!! lol im starting to fall in love with windows all over again, good job nokia and microsoft

Khairil Ashraf samsudin

April 22, 2013, 3:06 pm

i dont find thise little screen a bother anyway, it makes perfectly fit in my hands for single hand usage on messaging

Ce'Annda Brown

May 17, 2013, 6:25 pm

can you have the instagram app on this phone?

deepak

May 19, 2013, 8:12 am

i want to purchase a phone . can anyone help me ... which phone is better ?

Yak Maharg

May 24, 2013, 2:37 pm

I have had the 620 now for about 3 weeks. I gave up (finally) on my Blackberry Bold as at 50 something that kind of screen is now way too small! I needed a big screen - not a big phone. As someone who bought a Nokia 8210 way back in the last century, I really appreciate how quality, compactness and design all combine to create a work of art - especially where mobile phones are concerned. I would just endorse (rather than repeat everything) that Phil says. This is a budget phone that more than adequately does with ease what most phones are required to do. I worried a little at the outset because all the review site kept banging on about rubbish battery life. Well for me this just hasn't materialised. I use the settings to my advantage as I did with my Blackberry. If you don't need a function at the moment - TURN IT OFF. If you don't need data updates whilst you are asleep - TURN IT OFF. If you don't need the brightest screen setting there is use medium or low (Low is just fine for me). Use the battery saver for as long as it doesn't interfere with your use of phone functions. The last couple of nights my phone charge was the same percentage on waking as it was the previous night - even using the ALARM function. It makes a great alarm and the RINGTONE app lets you create alarms to your hearts content. I don't usually go on so much about techy stuff but this phone is just brill. Don't forget to protect it with a decent cover - I bought a Fruit Salad side flip case in Yellow from Nillkin as they seem to be the only manufacturers (IN THE WORLD) that offer this type of ULTrA-THIN case. Enjoy

comments powered by Disqus