Home / TVs & Audio / TV / LG Smart TV / Apps and Video Content

LG Smart TV - Apps and Video Content

John Archer

By John Archer

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
LG Smart TV

Summary

Our Score:

9

LG Smart TV 2013 - Content

So far LG's Smart TV system has impressed with its intuitive Magic Remote and search features, but the real acid test is the quality of apps and content available.

Where content is concerned, on one level – the sheer number of apps available – it’s extremely impressive. By the time you’ve taken all the games, utility, infotainment, and video streaming apps into account there are literally hundreds of different apps to choose from.

Of course, having so many apps around could be confusing. But as well as the main card/folder interface discussed earlier proving effective in helping you shortcut your way to the sort of apps you like, LG has done a great job this year of making sure that the submenus for each folder are also attractive, clean and helpful, keeping the search and browsing processes logical and clean.

We do, though, question the quality of some/many of the apps LG’s Smart platform is populated with. It seemed to us that a pretty high percentage of them are beyond trivial, totally rubbish, or both. This entirely confirms our long-held that pretty much the only apps that really count on a Smart TV platform are those devoted to video; the rest are mostly just filler.

So how does the LG platform stand up when we focus on video? Decently is probably the best way to sum it up.

LG 2013 Smart TV system

LG 2013 Smart TV System - Video Streaming

In the Premium card/folder are links to LoveFilm, the BBC iPlayer, Netflix, Acetrax (though this will soon be gone), BlinkBox, BBC Sport, YouTube, and KnowHow Movies. Clicking through on the More button adds Skype, Naspter, EuroSport Player, Redbull TV, Live Sport TV, DeezerCrackle, and Daily Motion – as well as the inevitable Twitter and Facebook apps.

This is a solid effort, but you can’t ignore the fact that Samsung additionally carries the key 4oD, Demand 5 and ITV Player catchup services.

Another small niggle on this secondary Premium content list is that the ‘TV’ box at the top left doesn’t keep playing your TV channel, but is instead given over to an LG video advert before just sitting statically with the LG logo in it.

LG 2013 Smart TV system

The other main video streaming source is in the card to the right of the Premium one: the 3D channel. And actually as well as containing more content than we’d expected, the quality of some of this content is also surprisingly strong. Rather than just being populated by lots of weird documentaries and quirky stuff chiefly sourced from Korea as was the case last year, now you can find such reasonably ‘major’ things as a full 3D concert from Kylie Minogue’s Aphrodite tour, Walt Disney’s G-Force movie, and The Lord of the Dance with – coo! – Michael Flatley.

It has to be said that we did experience a few streaming pauses on our consistent 6Mbps broadband feed with this 3D content, but hopefully LG will be able to improve the robustness of its streams over time.

diddler

June 26, 2013, 1:49 pm

This isn't WebOS is it? Doesn't look like it anyway. They are supposed to be revamping all these interfaces with WebOS in 2014, might be a bit of a bugger if suddenly your Smart TV gets all stupid with no updates. You could buy a Sony TV if you wanted that.

Technicpuppet

June 27, 2013, 10:06 am

I have a 2012 LG TV and it is fantastic for DLNA. Plays every format.

Mustafa

August 30, 2013, 9:46 pm

The mini tv does not work on my Samsung Gs4 either:( I can do everything just like more than a remote control but this function is not working and makes me sad:(

Marcelo Taranto

October 4, 2013, 12:05 pm

What a joke!! How could a review being made without any mention about the image quality, like black level, view angle, response time, etc??
It can't be serious...

andyvan

October 4, 2013, 12:43 pm

This is a review of the Smart TV features on their own. It's not a standard TV review. We cover all that stuff in our reviews of specific TV models.

Marcelo Taranto

October 4, 2013, 12:57 pm

My bad! I didn't realize it was a Smart functions only review. ;)

Casper Joefield

October 8, 2013, 4:29 pm

ok I am having some problems with my 42 inch smart tv..my remote works just like any other remote,where it suppose to be a magic remote where I can use the pointer as seen in videos on youtube unfortunately mine doesn't work like that..been tryin like forever to solve this problem and no help so far..question!! does my smart tv must have a motion LG camera to use the pointer from my remote,and yes the remote that I have is the remote I got with the tv when I bought it...and help on this would be great...getting pissed..

Ivm Ivm

October 11, 2013, 4:11 am

LG TVs have serious issues with DLNA technology. It does not support changing sound track for now. But it worked in earlier firmwares and one day they just decided to break it. NEVER LG ANYMORE!!!

Bobmaca

November 8, 2013, 1:59 am

LG sucks.. Well the tv was great tell it went dead. Bought a 47"3D smart tv and it went to crap a just over a year later. Just stopped working. Customer service sucks.. Now I have to go out 30 miles away from my home to get butt rapped on the repairs. It would be one thing if I lived in the damn hills but I live in Tacoma Washington and still have to travel.. Aholes..

Steven Pribilinskiy

November 9, 2013, 11:17 am

I have to confirm that i can't change sound track for downloaded mkv files, however it was worked a year ago. Since then i'm waiting for a new firmware because there's no way to roll back to a previous version :( Very frustrating

miki

November 24, 2013, 3:21 pm

lg 2nd display is usless, no notebook app that supports it also is not working on HTC Mobile Devices

Charles90210

November 28, 2013, 7:56 am

LG Smart TV is probably the worst news journalism ever on this Earth. I mean the MSNBC talking head is talking about shitting and pissing in a female's mouth and Lg calls this smart TV

hardwe||

January 5, 2014, 9:09 am

hey can you show a video about how to mirror using NFC tag pleas

trashcooky

February 3, 2014, 6:00 pm

You need the magic remote as the standard one sold with the TV is usually only a generic push button type: http://www.johnlewis.com/lg-an...

mick london

March 6, 2014, 8:07 pm

I bought a 55" lg smart just over a year ago and the lcd penal is gone and they LG dont want to know great it is like burning £1800 pounds

neilwheel

March 15, 2014, 2:40 pm

If you're thinking of buying an LG TV because of the Eurosport Player, take my advice - don't bother!
The app does not work, Eurosport ignores any attempt at communication regarding its non-performance and trying to get a subscription refund is impossible. In short, probably the worlds' worst (cr)app.

♜Donzzy™

March 17, 2014, 4:59 am

I'm thinking of buying either LG or Samsung. Which one is better?

Vinícius Rodrigo

April 7, 2014, 7:37 pm

I have the same problem .... do you solved?

kathleen nepia

June 24, 2014, 10:17 am

i have LG on now dont forget smart remote i forgot now im in need minz 2013

David

August 18, 2014, 7:17 am

LG for the win!

David

August 18, 2014, 7:19 am

Some models come with magic some come with regular. If you're sure yours is supposed to be a magic remote I would contact LG

David

August 18, 2014, 7:20 am

As an owner of 2 LG smart TV's (6205 and 6700) I will say the image quality of LG is amazing

David

August 18, 2014, 7:21 am

I agree, I have the 6700 and it plays almost everything I throw at it. Only the Xbox has better DLNA IMO

David

August 18, 2014, 7:23 am

Really? I have 2012 and 2013 LG's that would be nice. As it is there are still updates but not webos

Miyako O'Conner

February 12, 2015, 8:29 am

Great article John. For those who live outside US like me, you can access Netflix, Hulu and similar media stations on your LG Smart TV by using UnoTelly or similar tools.

comments powered by Disqus