Home / Mobile / GPS & Sat Nav / Garmin nuvi 2598 LMT-D

Garmin nuvi 2598 LMT-D review

By

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Garmin nuvi 2598 LMT-D

Summary

Our Score:

9

Pros

  • Traffic system requires no annual subscription
  • Maps will be up-to-date for lifetime of device
  • Great Voice Command system

Cons

  • Expensive Live Services
  • Traffic updates not as accurate as premium services
  • Smartphone Link for Android only

Key Features

  • 5-inch widescreen
  • Maps for 45 European countries with lifetime updates
  • Digital traffic updates with lifetime subscription
  • Live services via Android smartphone
  • Voice Command system
  • Manufacturer: Garmin
  • Review Price: £199.99

What is the Garmin nuvi 2598 LMT-D?

The Garmin nuvi 2598 LMTD is a mid-range sat-nav with a 5-inch screen and a plethora of bonus features, including lifetime map updates and free traffic information with no monthly subscription like TomTom's HD Traffic. The 2598 is part of a major design refresh by Garmin. After sticking with evolutionary steps for the last few years, with the exception of the super-svelte nuvi 3790T, the new models look significantly different.

Garmin has split its range into Essential, Advanced and Premium models. The nuvi 2598 is from the Advanced range, which focuses on features, where the Essential range majors on value, and the Premium models add extra style to the equation.

Garmin nuvi 2598 LMTD - Traffic Information

In our testing, the traffic information was quite responsive, telling us about jams dynamically as they built up, and giving useful information about how far ahead they were and how long they were likely to last. However, in a side-by-side comparison with TomTom's HD Traffic, we did encounter jams on local roads that the latter picked up but the Garmin nuvi 2598 LMTD didn't. Nevertheless, the Garmin option is free and found big delays on key roads, as well as providing more detailed information onscreen than the average RDS-TMC receiver.

Garmin nuvi 2598 LMT-D

Garmin nuvi 2598 LMT-D - Main Menu

The basic structure of the menu is the same as always, with big icons for Where To? and View Map, plus smaller icons below. A new addition to the Where To? system is a general search, which operates across both the points of interest system and the address database. This makes it easy to find a road when you don't know the exact town it's in. You might discover you don't bother with any other mode of destination entry once you get used to this process, either.

One of the smaller icons leads to the Apps system, which is a slightly trendy renaming of what is really a selection of supplementary tools and software widgets. These include a help system, the facility for operating your Bluetooth-connected phone, and customisation of the Voice Command system (of which more shortly).

You can also configure and enable the ecoRoute system, which allows you to choose the most fuel-efficient routes for your vehicle and set yourself fuel efficiency challenges. The Garmin nuvi 2598 LMTD's Trip Planner can also be found here, as well as an overall map view of traffic, a trail showing where you have driven on the map, and Last Spot. The latter tracks where you last stopped the car, so you find your way back - great if you forgot where you parked.

Titi

July 11, 2013, 2:30 pm

Smartphone Link also for ios.

Pat

September 18, 2013, 11:52 pm

So I can link my iPhone up to this?

theclassactman@hotmail.com

November 5, 2013, 6:30 pm

Have to reboot GPS every time GPS is shut off or loses bluetooth connection between smartlink and phone. Loses subscribed content, but not non-subscribed functions.

After many months and many hours of submitting logs and doing tests for Garmin's IT department there's been no change and no suitable compensation for their malfunctioning software. Can't be that difficult to fix, since everything works except paid subscription services. Feel that they're not trying very hard or they have incompetent IT personnel.

kaktuszjack

November 20, 2013, 11:06 pm

My score is -20!! on scale: -10 ...+10

Just bought my Garmin Nuvi 2598 LMT-D with all EU.
Have to say in nutshell, it is expensive and have expected to have a premium device with immaculate services. (I am perfectionist :-)
-- PRO: great ideas, great design, good enough menus etc,,,
--NEG: price too high, - not gives you the same value as you expect... - maps after 5-6 hours usage become freckling (means the map fallen to its parts... and seems like the cpu cannot provide the details "during driving !!!!!!!!!!"
- it keeps doing it regardless turned off the recent route logs, turned off the details to medium, turned the 3D to 2D - restarted the device, reseted the device... - firmware upgraded the device, latest map uploaded to the device -- still kept doing this MAJOR ISSUE!! - what is very annoying and dangerous when you would drive and want a reliable mate. a £25 old gps can do better job than this #@$!%!!!!

--- it keeps doing it and it is so much far from a professional device I was after
FIRMLY RECOMMENDED TO AVOID THIS DEVICE...
-- double checked with Garmin, it is not a bad device I have, because it has been replaced, and could exactly reproduced the issue on the new one on a different location!!!!

conclusion - GARMIN NUVI is not a professional GPS, do not waste your money, think before you do!
I claimed back the full refund within 14 days - and now I seeking my new device.

ed morrison

August 5, 2014, 6:04 pm

all I wanted is instructions. I don't have smart phone.

Brettski77

July 15, 2015, 9:30 pm

Is the car charger 24 volt compatible?

Dale B

December 30, 2015, 1:21 am

This is the 3rd Garmin I bought that is refurbished. It saves a good 20-35% off the price of a new one. I can't seeing buying any Garmin product that is not factory refurbed. They look, work, and are warranted the same 1 year as new products.
If you don't buy one off Amazon from an authorized dealer like GPS City, you can pay a little more and buy it directly off the Garmin Store.
OR pay retail. I would not buy used considering the refurbed prices.
OK I am off the soapbox!
Great device, not that different than the better models they have had the last several years. Mostly refinements but regular updates and upgrades add up to an excellent GPS that still rivals the competition. But in fairness, GPS technology had pretty much evolved to the max across the boards. Whatever is next would have to be revolutionary and still affordable. That could be a challenge.
I am not sure what a 'professional device' is supposed to do, and maybe my needs are modest, but with very few quibbles this device gets me where I need it to. Some limitations in Bluetooth performance which surprises me considering how long Garmin has played with the implementation considering a few brands like Java work well for a small price. But most of us would like more features in a single device, than running more accessories around their car. But only if they can be designed to work as well as inexpensive outboard units.

JohnDW

February 7, 2016, 8:20 am

Garmin 2589LMT ???

Nick Harris

April 19, 2016, 4:22 pm

My Garmin Nuvi keeps telling me it has lost satellite connection. Garmin have been asked twice how to fix this and twice they have failed to respond. What astonishes me is this. When I do a search on their "support website" and put in either the word Satellite and or lost it recognizes neither of these words. For a company based on GPS not to have the word Satellite in their search engine sums them up in their entirety. Try going to Tom tom and at the very least their search engine can recognize the word satellite. Evidence indeed that nobody in their right mind would by a Garmin. After months of Garmin frustration I have just with enormous satisfaction hurled mine against the lounge wall.

comments powered by Disqus