Home / Cameras / Camera / Canon EOS 760D

Canon EOS 760D review




  • Recommended by TR

1 of 19

Canon EOS 760D
  • Canon EOS 760D
  • Canon EOS 760D
  • Canon EOS 760D
  • Canon EOS 760D
  • Canon EOS 760D
  • Canon EOS 760D
  • Canon EOS 760D
  • Canon EOS 760D 3
  • Canon EOS 760D 5
  • Canon EOS 760D 7
  • Canon EOS 760D 9
  • Canon EOS 760D 11
  • Canon EOS 760D 13
  • Canon EOS 760D 15
  • Canon EOS 760D 17
  • Canon EOS 760D 19
  • Canon EOS 760D 21
  • Canon EOS 760D 23
  • Canon 760D


Our Score:


User Score:


  • Great images
  • Strong controls
  • Improved burst buffer
  • Handy touchscreen and articulation


  • No 4K video, or 60p Full HD

Best Deals for Canon EOS 760D

Key Features

  • 24.2-megapixel APS-C sensor
  • 100-12800 ISO range
  • Manufacturer: Canon
  • Review Price: £649.00

What is the Canon EOS 760D?

The Canon EOS 760D is an affordable DSLR in the package of a more high-end model. Its a far throw from models designed for first-timers, wishing to spend much of their time with the mode dial set to Auto.

The 760D's body alone will set you back £649, but it’s also available with a few different "kit" lenses depending on what you’re after.

The Nikon D5500 and Pentax K-S2 each offer elements that beat the Canon EOS 760D, but this advanced-feeling camera deserves to sit among them. It’s the APS-C Canon DSLR to go for if you’re interested in getting more involved with the company's lens system.

SEE ALSO: Best Cameras 2015

Canon EOS 760D 13

Canon EOS 760D – Design and Handling

When the Canon EOS 760D was first announced, we were left scratching our heads. Why were the EOS 750D and 760D – featuring the same specs – outed at the same time?

These models are here to fill-out the Canon DSLR line-up. The particular appeal of the EOS 760D is that it offers a control layout that feels similar to that of a high-end camera. With a price of £649 for the body alone you may assume this is a high-end camera, but in the world of DSLRs this is actually a more affordable model.

With that status, build quality is more humble. Although the Canon EOS 760D skeleton is made from aluminium, the outer parts of the camera are made up of plastic and carbon fibre. More expensive models have magnesium-alloy shells, giving you a more luxurious, more hardy finish. This camera is still pretty rugged, though, and will be able to handle some abuse.

Canon EOS 760D

The 760D isn't designed to be used in terrible weather, though. Weatherproofing is, again, something more often seen in higher-end models. The only camera is this class to offer any water resistance is the Pentax K-S2, whose seams are water-tight and card slots and ports are covered by rubber-sealed flaps. You don’t get that here, however.

What you do get are the types of controls and displays generally seen on cameras costing significantly more, and the 760D's top plate is a good example. The mode dial sits on the left side rather than the right (from your shooting position), and there’s an extra LCD panel through which you can view vital information such as shooting settings, battery level and how many shots will fit on the SD card.

Canon EOS 760D 15

The result is that the Canon EOS 760D needs to be operated with two hands, rather than one. However, it's therefore easier to control multiple items at once. Unlike the more accessible Canon EOS 750D, it's possible to lock the 760D’s mode dial. This is another high-end design trait, and stops you from accidentally changing its setting. Few things are more annoying mid-shoot.

Canon EOS 760D 17

To actually select shooting settings, you use the two manual dials. One sits just behind the shutter button, and the other is on the D-pad around the back of the camera. You have plenty of control, although higher-end Canon models such as the EOS 7D MK II use dials that are both a bit larger and offer greater resistance.

Best Deals for Canon EOS 760D


February 6, 2015, 7:01 am

Not sure your comment about in-body stabilisation is correct - can't see this mentioned anywhere in the press releases.


February 7, 2015, 1:40 am

Can you use Optical Stabilization in conjunction with the In-Body Stabilization? IMO that's doubtful.

Afraz Anosh

February 10, 2015, 1:38 pm

I see a 10-18mm lens...


February 11, 2015, 1:29 pm

I'm pretty sure neither of these cameras have IBIS.

Stefan Dumitrache

April 10, 2015, 11:59 am



April 14, 2015, 5:57 am

In-Body Image Stabilization

Carlos Nolasco

April 30, 2015, 5:31 pm

I don't think Canon has ever used IBIS. They always had IS in their lenses.


July 16, 2015, 3:08 am

They are comparable to Canon 70d in both price and performance. I chose 760D over 70D because it better fits my smallish hands. So far I am very happy.


July 19, 2015, 3:23 pm

Hi Mr ,i read well your message and i am so interested to advise me pls ,i expect to visit Malaysia and i want to buy one DSLR for a budget max 700$ ,can you recomand one reference pls? If you could contact me by email it would be better: saludo66@hotmail.Fr thanks in advance


August 4, 2015, 3:25 am

I would choose Canon 760d or 750d, not much difference when it comes to functions.


February 3, 2016, 11:42 pm

The 70D is a fair bit better than the 760D, so they are not comparable in price and performance.The 70D is partly weather sealed, shoots 7fps with a much larger buffer. It has superior dual pixel focusing for video with better face detection (tracks faces much better than the 760D does). Has many more focus selection options for viewfinder shooting. It has more physical buttons and customisable buttons. It has micro-adjustments for fine-tuning focus on lenses. It works with Canon EOS Utility over Wi-Fi, which the 760D doesn't. It has a better viewfinder.
There are other differences too, but you get the gist.

Sacha Vorbeck

April 5, 2016, 3:47 am

The 760D works perfectly with the new Canon camera connect app. I use it for food photography in a tripod with natural light. You can use the live view on an Ipad Pro and set focus point, shutter and exposure remotely. The live view will simulate your settings so you really save time and get perfect results without having to make a lot of test shoots or exposure series. So as always it depends on what you use your cam for.


April 5, 2016, 4:40 am

Absolutely. I have a 760D and not a 70D, I was just being honest that latter is a superior camera. The 760D is still awesome and has marginally better image quality than the 70D. I'm very happy with it. I'm also about to buy an 80D. I'm glad you're enjoying your 760D too. I recently saw a video saying the 760D has been the most popular selling camera in 2016! It has out-sold every other camera, including mirrorless and compact point-and-shoot cameras.


April 29, 2016, 10:42 am

I am thinking either getting this one or Nikon D5500. any advice?

Petri Laaksonen

May 4, 2016, 7:38 am

I was quite happy with my Nikon D3300 but decided to replace it with a 760D for its nicer controls, better autofocus for video and the top display (as well as the articulating touchscreen, but the D5500 does have that).


June 15, 2016, 11:56 pm

I'm curious why reviewers regurgitate specifications which are clearly incorrect. Canon claims 440 shots on a single charge, but anyone who has used this camera knows those figures are ridiculously understated! Why does the reviewer not point this out?

I've had the 760D for probably 8mths now and I have had the vertical battery grip from day 1. On the first shoot I ever did at an annual festival I shot 2936 shots, transferred all the images via USB (using battery charge) and the camera still showed 1/3 power after that. I never see the battery indicator even move off full at anything under 800-900 shots if I wander around with the camera on and hardly shooting. If I shoot fairly rapidly I'll get to well over 1000 shots without the indicator moving off full.

The key strengths of this camera are it's incredibly accurate metering, even in tricky lighting situations, very fast AF, the articulating screen, fast AF in live view, the electronic level (though I wish it was 2-axis like on the EOS M3) and the general ergonomics making it a fast camera to operate. For anyone on a budget I'd highly recommend this camera.

One comment on AF, servo AF in particular : the the servo AF is so good on this camera that when I was shooting a race in January the camera was rattling away at 5fps on a particular runner and as she moved out of the frame the camera snapped straight into focus on the next person who was about 20ft further back, seamlessly without losing focus. So in other words, at 5fps... Blonde girl in focus, blonde girl in focus, blonde girl in focus, red haired girl in focus, red haired girl in focus... without dropping a frame. What most impressed me was the fact there was a considerable focus shift in between shots jumping from someone 10ft from me to someone 30ft from me between shots.

David Woods

August 7, 2016, 10:10 pm

Best value lens for this camera ?

comments powered by Disqus