Home » Mobile » Tablet » Acer Iconia W510 » Cameras, Screen & Touch, Speakers

Acer Iconia W510 – Cameras, Screen & Touch, Speakers

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers


Our Score


User Score

Review Price £499.00

Acer Iconia W510 – Cameras

As with most Windows 8 tablets, the Iconia W510 has front and rear HD ‘CrystalEye’ cameras, offering 2 and 8 megapixels respectively. The rear unit even features an LED flash, and both are capable of 1080p video.

However, as with the majority of tablets we wouldn’t recommend trying to take nice pictures with the W510, as images tend to lack sharpness and colour accuracy.

Acer Iconia W510 – Screen

If there’s one thing we can thank the iPad for, it’s making high-quality IPS panels the standard choice in even mid-range tablets, rather than the cheap and not-so-cheerful TN panels that used to be the norm. Like all its Atom-based convertible brethren, the Acer Iconia W510 sports a 1,366 x 768 IPS touch-screen which holds up pretty well, and which Acer calls CineCrystal.

Colours are bright and punchy without being oversaturated, blacks are deep and, though you do lose a little dark detailing on the subtlest shades, it still offers a decent performance here. This is helped by the lack of any noticeable backlight bleed or clouding.

Gradients are also smooth with no artefacts, and squashing this resolution into a 10-inch screen - giving 156.7 PPI - means everything’s just that bit sharper than on 11.6-inch rivals. Inevitably, the Gorilla Glass 2 protection causes reflections when used in with strong ambient light and, unlike the 600nits Asus Vivo Tab, the 300nits screen doesn’t go bright enough to work in direct sunlight. Still, this is a complaint common to most tablets.

Acer Iconia W510 – Touch

If there’s one minor down-grade compared to some rivals with the W510’s base hardware, it’s that the screen ‘only’ supports 5-point touch, compared to 10-point on some. Still, only in local multiplayer can we envisage the need to touch a tablet’s screen with more than five fingers simultaneously for the average user, and this limitation also applies to ‘proper’ Core-i Windows 8 tablets that cost twice as much as the Acer Iconia W510, like our recently reviewed Lenovo ThinkPad Twist.

It’s worth mentioning Acer’s Ring software, which launches when you touch all five fingers to the screen simultaneously. Ring gives you a fairly handy quick-launch circle that lets you access photos, videos, documents, favourite apps and basic device settings with a single touch. It also gives you playback and volume controls, both of which would require an extra swipe and press to reach in Windows 8.

Acer Iconia W510 – Speakers

We were pleasantly surprised by the W510’s audio capabilities. Its side-facing stereo speakers manage relatively punchy and detailed sound at decent volume levels, with no painfully obvious quality drawbacks aside from the usual lack of bass. Considering this is the smallest Windows 8 convertible tablet we’ve tested, its performance here is impressive.

Unfortunately, the speakers’ positioning means your hands will likely cover them when holding the Acer Iconia W510 tablet in landscape mode. Also, we hardly need mention that even a half-decent set of headphones will still give you a better audio experience.

Previous page
Next page

Peter Edwards

February 2, 2013, 11:58 am

Windows Tabs need another generation or two before they are buy.

This one needs better CPU/GPU (Tegra 4?), The Pro machines need their weight reduced anything over 600g is too much weight.


February 28, 2013, 5:12 am

Peter E... you just make me laugh. I would be happy to know that you do make a living out of this.... because otherwise it just does not make sence.


March 11, 2013, 5:33 pm

Well sounds otherwise fine but the advantage of having a CPU like atom is that it stays cool, the system is compact and MOST IMPORTANTLY - it runs FULL windows x86. I don't want a tablet with a mobile OS. I'd sure love a fanless Core i5/i3 tablet with compact size and low weight.

Daniel Kerr

March 23, 2013, 10:28 am

Trust me, a fanless i5 or even i3 will be very hot without a fan...


March 23, 2013, 10:43 am

Well don't skip the "compact size and low weight" part. That was the most important thing. A fan running on a tablet doesn't sound good to me, I want my tablet to be an actual tablet that's 100% passive. And now I've got W510 and I'm pretty happy with it :).

ASUS Zenfone

April 22, 2013, 11:47 am

which one do you choose, having this Iconia W510 or a notebook?

Petar Tenev

April 22, 2013, 12:08 pm

If this Acer had a GPS sensor built in,i'd love to use it as a Navigation System in my car :) ...Any creativeness here ... plsss


August 19, 2013, 6:59 am

I have been using Acer Iconia w510 for a couple of weeks now, here is my pros and cons list:

- Very light!
- No fan. It does get a bit hot in the upper right corner sometimes, but not too hot for comfort.
- For the most time feels surprisingly smooth and responsive considering it is powered by a relatively slow Atom processor.
- Great battery life.
- Supports up to 64GB micro SD. This is crucial, as the device only comes with at max 64 GB SSD, but with an additional 64GB slow storage space for less frequently accessed files it works.

- Proprietary charging cable. I would much rather have a micro USB charger, like a lot of my other tech toys. Then I would not have to deal with one more cable.
- Micro USB connector is inconvenient. I would much rather have a regular size USB port. Acer do include an micro USB to USB convertor, yet another cable to deal with though.
- I do not like the design much. The white rim looks like something they added at the last minute. I would prefer a pure black design, no black, white, silver mixed together in a practical but ugly way.
- The PowerVR graphics chip is not compatible with a lot of 3D applications, like games. I do not mind it being slow, this is not a gaming machine after all, but it would be nice to be able to run some older games that should work well without having them simply crash because of some driver problem.
- Build quality a bit flimsy. You can actually bend the whole thing quite easily. But, the plastic helps keep the weight down, so this is a minor issue I think.

All in all, I would say I am happy with it though. Windows 8 works very well with a tablet, provides you so much freedom. I will never touch my Android/iOS tablets again! And although there is still much left to be desired, it is probably the Windows 8 tablet on the market which gives the most value for your money right now.

I would give this an overall 8/10 based on value for money.


August 19, 2013, 7:14 am

Both :)


September 11, 2013, 7:24 pm

Buy a gps with bluetooth connection or usb, and you will be in business ;-)


October 30, 2013, 1:55 am

I love my W510! I've had it since about a week after they released, and probably use it more than I do my high performance desktop. I bought it for college, and can often use it for all my classes, in between as well, keep my iPhone charged with it, and still not need to charge it for 2-3 days. It's competent with plenty of games as well, I've been playing Blizzards new beta Hearthstone on it ever since they passed out keys for it. Check it out!



March 12, 2014, 6:49 pm

I have 2 clients who purchased Acer W510 Iconia last year, May and June 2013 to be exact. This is NOT a very good product, Acer products in total are crap.

For client#1, purchased in for CAD$660, we need to send the tablet back for repair last Dec. 2013 because Windows 8 unable to boot. Through my client's shipping expense, It was repaired after 10 days. Unfortunately, just last March 7th, the same tablet won't power-on. We demanded Acer to REPLACE THE TABLET because for less than a year, it became defective twice. Tablet replacement was not approved by Acer.

I WILL NEVER EVER BUY AND RECOMMEND ANY OF ACER PRODUCTS AGAIN, you will loose a lot of customer for this.


March 12, 2014, 6:52 pm


For client#2, purchased in June 2013. December, the tablet won't power ON. Unfortunately, she lost the box, SNID, and receipt, and the Acer Customer Desk cannot help her.

Again.....I WILL NEVER EVER BUY AND RECOMMEND ANY OF ACER PRODUCTS AGAIN, you will loose a lot of customers for this.

comments powered by Disqus