Home / Gaming / Games / Final Fantasy 15

Final Fantasy 15 review

By

Updated:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR

1 of 31

FFXV
  • FFXV
  • Final Fantasy 15
  • Final Fantasy 15
  • Final Fantasy 15 2
  • Final Fantasy 15
  • Final Fantasy 15 1
  • Final Fantasy 15 3
  • Final Fantasy 15 4
  • Final Fantasy 15 5
  • Final Fantasy 15 6
  • Final Fantasy 15 7
  • Final Fantasy 15 8
  • Final Fantasy 15 9
  • Final Fantasy 15 10
  • Final Fantasy 15 11
  • Final Fantasy 15
  • Final Fantasy 15
  • Final Fantasy 15
  • Final Fantasy 15
  • Final Fantasy 15
  • Final Fantasy 15
  • Final Fantasy 15
  • Final Fantasy 15
  • Final Fantasy 15
  • Final Fantasy 15
  • Final Fantasy 15
  • Final Fantasy 15
  • Final Fantasy 15
  • Final Fantasy 15
  • Final Fantasy 15
  • Final Fantasy 15

Summary

Our Score:

8

Pros

  • Likeable core characters
  • Exciting combat
  • A great world to explore
  • Interesting missions and side-quests

Cons

  • Not the most comprehensible or well-told story
  • Rotten combat camera
  • Poor magic system
  • No save points in some dungeons

Key Features

  • Release Date: November 29, 2016
  • Platforms: PS4, Xbox One
  • Genre: JRPG
  • Developer: Square Enix
  • HDR support confirmed for PS4 Pro and Xbox One S
  • Manufacturer: Square-Enix
  • Review Price: to be confirmed

Available on PS4 (version tested) and Xbox One

I’m gobsmacked. I thought I was done with Final Fantasy. After FFXIII and its sequel I’d pretty much swore to never play another one again. I couldn’t face another sulky protagonist, another round of endless cut-scenes, another baffling, overly-intricate plot. Even Lightning Returns couldn’t convince me to return. So trust me when I tell you that what I’m going to tell you next seemed unthinkable a week ago. Final Fantasy 15 isn’t the best game of the year, but it’s definitely one of my favourites.

And this is despite some pretty irritating flaws. The new action-oriented real-time combat system might be brilliant, but it’s reliant on a camera which spends most of its time losing track of you, enemies and the action entirely. Your hero, Noctis, has a fantastically useful Warp ability that should play a core part in any fight, but can only use it when there’s a specific point to warp to, and many of the battlegrounds feature no such thing. If there is, finding it with the aforementioned camera is often a nightmare.

Related: PS4 Pro vs PS4

Final Fantasy 15

This is a game that’s designed to be accessible, yet contains dozens of nested systems, some of which you’re guaranteed to forget for hours at a time. Dungeons often come with no checkpoints or save points, but then feature a tough boss right at the end with the potential to send you back to square one, all progress and experience reset. The whole magic system is a near-disaster, first ignoring then restricting your use of the series’ signature summons, while focusing on an elemental form of sorcery that seems purposefully designed to wipe out your comrades as well as your foes. Both the PS4 and PS4 Pro versions suffer from noticeable frame-rate issues, though nothing that will make the game unplayable.

Then there’s the plot. I’m not one of those who thinks that the classic Final Fantasy games are models of flawless narrative, but FFXV’s storyline seems to lurch from one beat and objective to the next with only the slightest attempt at any causality. You’re often left guessing whether the motives of key characters are mysterious or just incomprehensible, while the sudden shifts of tone between happy-go-lucky and sad and mournful or angry and vengeful – then back again – just don’t ring true. A lot of the real story seems to be happening elsewhere, glimpsed only indirectly, and there’s no doubt that FFXV has something of a villain problem. Must all Final Fantasies leave us hankering for a Sephiroth or Ultimecia?

Yet I’ll forgive all this stuff and more, because Final Fantasy 15 is something the series (FFXIV excepted) hasn’t been in donkey’s years: fun. By putting a quartet of likable dudes on the road to open-world adventure, Square-Enix has built a game with room to breathe, laugh, discover and explore.

It helps that the world is a great one, merging the series’ traditional sci-fi, sword and sorcery with a sort of golden-hued 1950s Americana, swapping route 66 for twisting highways linking up scattered outposts, dungeons, wilderness areas and cities. Your car might not be much fun to drive – even when you drive it manually it steers itself – but it’s a great way to get from A to B while shooting the breeze and listening to classic FF soundtracks. Go off-road on foot or on Chocobo and there’s always somewhere to go and something to do, whether that’s fishing, searching for meal ingredients, taking bounty hunts on colossal critters or finding the treasure caches scattered liberally around. It’s not as rich a world as you’ll find in The Witcher III, but it has its own cool idiosyncrasies and its own vibe.

Related: Nintendo Switch Games

Final Fantasy 15 5

Meanwhile it’s hard to think of another RPG where the party feels less like a group of characters with different gameplay and narrative functions, and more like a genuine bunch of friends. The more you play the more you’ll come to love Prompto, Gladiolus and Ignis – even miss them when they’re absent for a time. There’s something of Uncharted in the way that the cast’s banter helps bring even the dullest moments to life.

Each has a function, thanks to the combat system's Techniques, but even then you never see them as the healer, ranged fighter and damage dealer, just the guys you trust to have your back. Their extra-curricular duties – cooking and photography – should be annoying, yet getting a new meal from Ignis or another batch of candid shots from Prompto is one of the great pleasures of settling down to camp. And while this focus on your core group comes at the expense of other characters – even those who get a guest slot in your party – FFXV still finds time for some other memorable faces, despite some dubious wardrobe choices for key female members of the cast.

Most of all, FFXV is compelling. I had my doubts about the combat system but, despite the silly camera, it makes each battle fast-paced, interesting and surprisingly strategic, with a real emphasis on positioning and resource management. You need to understand where and when to use Noctis’s summonable royal weapons and when to stick to more basic arms, when to trigger power moves and when to hold back. There’s a real art to using warp and warp strike moves, and making the most of the Techniques that enable you to call in your friends and their abilities, and then combine them with your own. It takes getting used to – and more old-school RPG fans might prefer to make more use of the pause-able tactical mode – but this is the first Final Fantasy in years that hasn’t felt bogged down by the fighting.

Related: Tekken 7 preview

Final Fantasy 15

There are some well-designed dungeons and missions in here too, even if some leave you wondering why Noctis doesn’t make more use of his Warp abilities to sneak past guards or get through chainlink fences and over walls. The set-piece fights and boss battles are often surprisingly strong, the monster hunts can be tense and exciting and only the bizarre, poorly-handed stealth and driving sections let the side down, though these are, at least, thankfully brief. And though the structure grows more linear as the game goes on, there’s a corresponding ramp-up with intensity, and you’ll still find moments of downtime where you’re free to explore.

This is a strange one. It’s not a traditional Final Fantasy, a traditional JRPG or even one that plays to all the strengths of the genre or the franchise. Yet there’s something really engaging and deeply satisfying about FFXV that leaves you feeling that if Final Fantasy hasn’t quite rediscovered its mojo, it’s at least found a map that tells it where its mojo is. Next time I’d like a better story, some issues ironed out, character progression made a little more exciting and the magic system redesigned, but I wouldn’t want to lose anything of what FFXV has brought to the series. It’s far from perfect, but it’s a thing of joy.

Verdict

For all its flaws – the dodgy camera, the lack of dungeon save points, the magic system, the bitty, oddly-structured plot – Final Fantasy 15 is the best single-player Final Fantasy in a decade. The new combat system is more action-oriented, but still surprisingly tactical, while the new focus on open-world exploration brings the game and its world to life. Crammed with character, choice and interest, it’s an RPG where the good times keep on rolling down the road.

Overall Score

8

William Mason

November 28, 2016, 1:53 am


it doesn't look or feel like Final Fantasy. I WON'T be buying this.

Ryu Sheng

November 29, 2016, 2:46 am

"After all, most of us preferred the open-world setup and more action-oriented combat of Final Fantasy XIII: Lightning Returns to the linear boredom of Final Fantasy XIII. "

Talk about generalisations, how do you know most of us preferred the open world set up? Personally, and everyone I know hates the open world set up, preferring instead the more linear previous titles. So I can easily say 'most of us' prefer the older style and find this trend to open world to be dull.

As for this game, I'm sorry it's not a final fantasy game. That doesn't make it a bad game, because it's not. If it was called any thing else it would actually be a fairly solid, though generic open world game.

But as a final fantasy game it lacks the 'magic' that the previous games have, event the lightning series

K is King

December 3, 2016, 2:49 pm

Stop reviewing it like an AAA title and review it like an FF title.

theBritRebel

December 3, 2016, 11:03 pm

Who was Noctis meeting in Altissia? I mean if Luna is in Insomnia during Kingsglaive, he was meeting nobody.

I know Regis sent him away to protect him from what was gonna happen, but why not do the same for Luna? If Noctis isn't safe there, she isn't either. It makes no sense to have her there when she needs to give the ring to Noctis. And plays an important role guiding him. She barely makes it out alive.

Her mission then is to set out to get the ring to Noctis. Regis could of just given it to Luna to give to Noctis once they were safely away. Considering how important that ring is, it was beyond idiotic to keep it in Insomnia.

Brandon Crosby

December 5, 2016, 7:47 pm

If you watched the movie Regis was sending him to Altissia to meet with Luna not knowing his Kingsglaive operative was killed before every reaching Tenebrae. So Regis never knew before sending Noct off that Luna would not be waiting for him.

theBritRebel

December 5, 2016, 7:58 pm

No I've not watched it, I just knew she was in Insomnia while Noctis set off on his trip. So i thought it was odd. Thanks for clearing that up for me.

Brandon Crosby

December 6, 2016, 5:05 pm

no problem

Chris

December 9, 2016, 1:09 am

That's a very shallow way of thinking. I mean, sure it's not the traditional sty;e of FF that we have all grown to love, but it doesn't mean it's a bad FF game. Look at Crisis Core. That was a FF game, and it was far from the formula that everyone had come to know yet it was acclaimed by critics and fans. Even FF itself has evolved beyond the traditional fighting systems. All the way up to 9, it was the same thing, just flashier every new game. 10 comes out and makes it more fluid, and allows you to see what effect the moves will have on the turns in combat, and also switch members on the fly, or have the weaker ones escape to avoid death. 12 made it basically an action RPG, yet all of these games were praised for innovating on the genre. 13 was very bland in comparison, but 13-2 was slightly better, and Lightning Returns was even better than that. FF games are gonna have to change in order to stay relevant in today's mainstream. If you don't want to support it, or even give it a chance by renting it through Redbox or something, then fine. Just don't make that decision because it doesn't look like FF7 version 9.5.

Doge.nefarious

December 12, 2016, 8:52 am

Funny thing about the cons listed is that it can and will be fixed (camera) and no save points in a dungeon is to add to the difficulty, which is also a choice made by the developers thus it shouldn't even be a valid cons.

I think people nowadays are looking for any possible way to find anything negative. I heard people complaining about the trees getting in the way and my answer to it is, so? If you the tree is in the way then move out of the way so you can see better. I am sure the creators notice this but decided not to make the tree invisible or transparent because it is a design choice.

The real cons i see in this game is,

- Magic (Which you guys nailed it)
- The story (which you guys nailed it too)
- and customisation of weapons are missing (like materia or junction or FFX customisation)

Other than that, they are all purely design choice, which most modern gamers cant handle because they want everything to be put on the plate for them.

Most hardcore or older generation players are looking to complete this game 100% and will enjoy these challenges. I would rather die 10-20 times and replay the dungeon then to save the game every time i killed a mob in a dungeon.

Doge.nefarious

December 12, 2016, 8:53 am

Yeah you are right about the magic! At least this game is 1000x better than FF13

Doge.nefarious

December 12, 2016, 8:54 am

How do you define it as FF then? I played all the FF series and it feels very ff to me so far. 35 hours in as well.

Sephy

December 14, 2016, 10:00 pm

PROS
"Exciting combat"

Does the reviewer really playing the game? THE REAL one in my meaning.. Cuz it seems like you haven't really play the end game dungeon or high level bounty at all.

Combat is garbage.. it is too bland and no depth to it. AI companions are just annoying extra that always die and die again. They don't even know how to run away or avoid the AoE or learn the basic boss move. You'll end up solo most of the time due to stupidity of your "AI companions". (which you can look up all these high level battle uploaded by players)

The difficulty in end game contents are poorly tune. FFXV just want to make this game to a 'spam pototion' game and your defense is useless since boss will hit you 9999 anyway if not phase shift.

I admit that, if talking about combat in main story only, it seems OK, but not the real open world which FFXV intend you to play.

And finally, dungeon has so-called save-point. yes, a camp in will auto-save you in a dungeon.

Artémis

December 16, 2016, 12:21 pm

Interesting side quests? Are you really kidding me?

Giving food to a cat n times, getting a dog tag 10 times and catching stupid frogs are interesting side quests? Guys... you've spent to much time gaining exp on World of Warcraft and should start playing truly entertaining games...

This FF is just all but enjoyable. I really pushed my self to the edge to finish it, it's personally one of the worst that I've ever played. Blend and empty.

Artémis

December 16, 2016, 12:27 pm

I define this game as a mix between GTA V and World of Warcraft, with tedious and rubbish non-sense side quests.

Desmond

December 16, 2016, 12:35 pm

After playing and beating FFXV, I'll say the action style combat was only fun for a few hours until you realize every single enemy can be owned by just using warp attacks... The story was pretty good and graphics amazing but the combat was a let down. Bosses felt no different than regular enemies and many times much easier. I seriously hope they don't go that route with FFVII. They should stick to ATB or maybe a polished version of ATB. It was nice when some bosses actually involved strategy or required you to actually think things through.

Sebastián Gómez-Latorre Insúa

December 19, 2016, 9:08 pm

please name me another AAA japanese title ... I can only think about Yakuza (japan only btw) Dark Souls 3 and MGS5 ... FFXV is a AAA game you like it or not

K is King

December 20, 2016, 10:08 am

Jesus Christ, there are dumbasses here as well.

Stop REVIEWING IT like a AAA game, not stop BEING a AAA game.

Sebastián Gómez-Latorre Insúa

December 20, 2016, 7:11 pm

you are not making any sense you dummy, the game IS A FUCKING AAA GAME SO YOU HAVE TO REVIEW IT AS A FUCKING AAA GAME

Paris Amedeus Weir

December 24, 2016, 7:30 pm

the game to me feels like if dragons dogma and ff12 had a baby. So for me its a good thing..minus terrible camera..magic is..meh..but its quite powerful..so..i guess they want it to be less of a job and more of a utility?

StarSix Cooper

December 28, 2016, 12:31 am

Plot is simple if you pay attention haha and it's captivating if you don't have the attention span of a 5 year old and have more respect than a teenager haha yeah noctis changes a lot by the end and idk how people are so confused with the ending when they basically talk about it with all the kings and then Ardyn even says he will see you in the great beyond haha personally I'm a classic ff fan so I like turning on wait mode for harder bosses, turn it off to have some fun in battle button mashing, dodging and warping around.

theBritRebel

December 28, 2016, 7:30 am

Like you said, they're gonna make dlc to fix the story and characters. But I don't think it will be enough to sort everything out. If by some miracle they do fix all or most of it, I'll wait for the complete edition.

theBritRebel

December 28, 2016, 8:24 am

I've never played a Final Fantasy game before so i was skeptical to begin with, and never pre-ordered it. Only ever done that with one game, and that was The Witcher 3. Thankfully that payed off.

You have a point about anything related to story should be free, otherwise the fans of FF games like yourself are paying more money to fix SE's mistakes.

It's gameplay is varied and fun, but that itself is not enough to justify calling it a great game. If it didn't have a big fanbase it wouldn't of sold as well as it has. And because of that fanbase SE probably knew it would sell regardless of its mess of everything, but gameplay.

theBritRebel

December 28, 2016, 9:38 am

Well it's my first FF game and it has put me off future titles ha.

The story has been crammed in with no room to breathe. It's got a whole lot more hours of story to tell and development to show, but it's just squashed in there resulting in plot holes, inexplicable character decisions, and everything else that goes with it.

I tend to think as long as a game has the majority of aspects done well, I can forgive a few bad bits. Like Red Dead Redemption's world was too empty, imo, but had good story, characters, gameplay, missions etc. Same with some others games. But FFXV had all bad bits except gameplay.

theBritRebel

December 28, 2016, 7:30 pm

Yeah I have no problems reading, and graphics ain't everything, so I will have a look at the other FF games like the ones you mentioned.

I hope the FF7 remake is a good one that the fans deserve, and it just may potentially make me a fan too ha.

Best of luck, and thanks for the chat.

sougingga reza

December 29, 2016, 11:15 am

Score too high m8. FFXV story just simply terrible, the worst from all ff series. Do they never learn how to make a good game and good story telling? Play Witcher 3 first then make game Tabata. Removing Stella was your first and biggest mistake.

comments powered by Disqus