Dyson V6 review

Luke Johnson



  • Recommended by TR
Dyson DC59


Our Score


User Score


  • Hugely versatile
  • Cleaning as good as corded models
  • Light and easy to handle one-handed


  • Small dust capacity

Review Price £280.00

Review Update 15/06/15: Dyson recently revamped its cordless vacuum cleaner range. It's added the new Dyson V6 Fluffy that comes with an innovative new cleaning head designed for hard floors. The DC59 is now known as the Dyson V6 or the Dyson V6 Animal if you add the animal specific cleaning heads, but they remain fundamentally the same machine as the DC59 reviewed below.

What is the Dyson V6?

There's a revolution going on and it's powered by batteries. Some of the best and most interesting vacuum cleaners in 2013 and 2014 have been cordless vacs. From the Gtech AirRam to the Bosch Athlet, lots of brands now have cordless vacuum cleaners that aim to give you greater freedom without compromise and the Dyson V6 is one.

A follow-up to the Dyson DC34, the Dyson V6 aims to provide the same cleaning performance of Dyson's larger vacuum cleaners but in a small, portable and cordless body. It claims a 20-minute battery life and is light enough for most people to use single-handed. Moreover, unlike Dyson's handheld models, its long arm attachment means hard to reach areas are easy to get to. It's now cheaper than when we first reviewed it (down to £280 from £350 at launch), making it better value than before.

SEE ALSO: Dyson DC41 MkII Animal review

Dyson DC59

Dyson V6: Design & Features

The Dyson V6 makes a great first impression. This isn’t the sort of ugly vacuum you want out of sight in a cupboard, it's a good-looking modern gadget. It's also packed full of thoughtful design tweaks that show Dyson has thought hard about how people will use the DC59.

One of the biggest is the power button. Rather than a simple on/off switch button, the V6 has a power trigger you must hold down that helps extend the functional battery life

That's because the trigger system means you never leave it running unnecessarily, which makes the difference between the V6’s battery life and the 40-minute cleaning time of the Gtech Air Ram less pronounced. It also matches up reasonably well to the Bosch Athlet when used on its 'normal' setting, though the Bosch claims up to 60-minutes when used on its lowest power setting for hard floors.

In practice, we found the V6's battery life was more than ample for a couple of full sweeps of a moderately sized two-bedroom house.

READ MORE: Vacuum Cleaner Reviews

Dyson DC59

With all this said, it does reinforce the fact the Dyson V6 is really a vacuum cleaner for smaller households, or a secondary cleaner for quick 'top-up' cleans. Its size and nimble design make it ideal for small houses and flats, but it’s a tight limit to clean a large family house in 20 minutes.

That argument is supported by the limited 0.4-litre dust capacity, a decent amount less than the 0.9 litres of the Bosch Athlet. As with the battery life, 0.4-litres is enough for small homes and flats, but it's not enough for larger homes if used as your primary cleaner.

But what the V6 lacks in capacity, it more than makes up for with lightness and ease of use. The Dyson V6 isn’t too hard on your wrist or back as it weighs just two kilos (about the same most laptops). It's easy to tilt it to the ceiling or reach tight corners with minimal strain, which is down to how evenly its 2kg weight is distributed. It's an incredibly well balanced machine.

Our only other small complaint is the number of scuff marks and blemishes the motorised cleaning head acquired after just a couple of weeks of use. It’s not a critical problem, but we expect a little more hardiness at this price.

SEE ALSO: Best Washing Machines 2014

Dyson DC59

Dyson V6: Accessories

The Dyson V6 comes with plenty of accessories to tackle a variety of jobs. The main one is a motorised cleaning head for normal carpets, but it uses more power so there’s a standard non-motorised one as well in addition to the crevice tool and bristled extension for those more delicate areas.

All of these attachments fit either directly to the body, or at the end of the one-metre rigid extension, which means the Dyson V6 comfortably doubles as a handheld vacuum (for car interiors, table tops etc.) and a standard vacuum for normal housework. It's an incredibly versatile machine.

But, while we love V6’s versatility and dexterity, its most practical feature is the neat wall mounted docking station. The dock, which screws into the wall, is a brilliant addition that stores and charges the vacuum, and holds two cleaning attachments. It’s useful so that you don’t forget to charge the V6 between cleans – an important point considering the 20-minute battery life.

Next page

Matthew Bunton

September 28, 2013, 10:26 am

I could really do with one of these especially for the car but damn they're expensive. However I have to admit we have been using Dysons' for the past 15 years now and wouldn't use any other Vacuum cleaner.


September 28, 2013, 1:03 pm

looking forward to some reviews of hoovers by other companies..


September 29, 2013, 12:21 pm

I have this very model and I agree with the review, the main downers are the price and the battery life.


September 30, 2013, 12:44 pm

We have a few on the go at the moment. Watch this space.


October 1, 2013, 12:20 pm

I guess I was being snide, it seems dyson is promoted as Britain's answer to apple, a tech company we can patriotically embrace. For me there is a smugness and puritanical arrogance to dyson, but perhaps having been in the design world my views are overly cynical.
I'd say get a Henry..

Linda C West

October 5, 2013, 10:43 am

Absolutely brilliant machine, great cleaning power and versatility. Worth the money!


November 15, 2013, 7:44 am

The only company you can have reviews of Hoovers from is Hoover!


November 16, 2013, 1:50 pm

This product has a design fault. Turn it upside down and the filter falls out. Dyson say that you are not supposed to turn it upside down but I was carrying it horizontally and it rotated and out plopped the filter. I was walking from my car and nearly lost the filter. I have applied a small piece of Gorilla tape on the top of the filter to ensure that it stays in.


November 19, 2013, 1:38 pm

'hoover' with a lower case 'h' is what is known as a 'genericised trademark' and therefore a valid noun in English for any vacuum cleaner.


November 27, 2013, 11:46 am

Why are all Dysons so expensive?. There is nothing special about them.


November 27, 2013, 3:29 pm

I have owed a few Dyson's never seemed to last very so ended up buying a can you believe cheaper miele that has been on the go for years now.
Dyson used very generous grants to set up his business in the uk and once he started making a profit buggered off overseas to avoid paying UK tax, and employing UK staff - That man is a Peach!

Bob Evans

December 1, 2013, 1:31 pm

The main benefit of Dyson is it did away with the bag. The rest of the design is in my view not particularly good. The hose concept on their upright cleaners is crazy. It is almost impossible to use.

Changing a simple thing like the brush is crazy it relies on a screw driver and brute force

My view is they do not justify the price. There are cheaper and better alternatives

Barbara Smith

December 5, 2013, 1:15 pm

I have a GTECH Air Ram and it is the best cleaner I have ever used. Extremely easy to use and the battery time is good. My husband has even started using it, never hovered before as he hated it and left to me. Got to be good as he helps me a lot now he doesn't have to plug in and its so easy to use.


December 10, 2013, 9:07 am

I met someone who imported the paper they use to make vacuum cleaner
bags. When I asked whether he was concerned that Dyson would finish his
business, he said "No". He also deals in the stuff they use to make
filters and his view was that if you get rid of the bag people just get
through a lot more filters instead.


December 10, 2013, 6:25 pm

The price is the only reason that I'd not buy this model. Think I'll stick to my 'dOLLY LE DYSON' as she was referred to some years ago.


December 12, 2013, 2:53 pm

I bought this for my two bedroom flat and it really is brilliant. It is not only incredibly powerful but it takes up no room. I really do recommend it.

Simon de Lancey

December 13, 2013, 12:20 pm

Yes, my old vacuum cleaner is totally unlike a Dyson - it isn't made of 99% plastic and didn't stop working after a year and a half due to some ill-conceived plastic part falling apart...!


February 6, 2014, 12:56 am

His god daughter was on my design degree, we tried to get a donation towards the costs of our degree show, he donated an amount which covered each of the 45 students enough for half pint of lager each. He really is, as you say, a peach.


June 25, 2014, 4:42 pm

I bet it weighed more than two kilos as well, used a ton more electricity and was back breakingly hard to do the stairs or ceiling with.

Also, you really must have been banging that thing around as we have had several Dyson models and only had one part break because, I admit, I was too rough with it.


June 25, 2014, 4:45 pm

He is wrong, as Dyson filters are all washable you should never need to replace them. There are also a lot of other manufacturers making bagless cleaners now too.

The latest models have done away with filters entirely as the extra cyclones are able to filter out that dust on their own.

The only reason it might not be a threat is because people do not want to pay this much for a vacuum cleaner as they do not realise its worth the money. Then again, the cheaper models by other manufacturers could snag those users up.


June 25, 2014, 4:46 pm

You have to be more specific seeing as their upright cleaner hose design improved with each new model.


June 25, 2014, 4:47 pm

Because research and development is not free and you are totally wrong.

Just because you cannot see it doesn't make it true.

Bob Evans

June 26, 2014, 8:32 am

Overpriced. The cost could be justified initially as it would be covering the R&D
£200 plus though now is way over the odds, They are not even really British. There is another make as good if not better that you can get for less than a £100 and is lighter


August 11, 2014, 2:25 am

Just bought a Dyson 59 animal - you get what you pay for. This is an amazing vacuum cleaner. Bought other vac's over the years and NOTHING comes close to the power and quality of the Dyson. Should have bought it years ago!

John Smith

September 3, 2014, 5:04 pm

Battery charged up for a full day. Started using the vacuum and in no time, the charge was gone.

comments powered by Disqus