Modern Warfare Remastered is getting new free maps and modes next week

Modern Warfare Remastered will receive six free multiplayer maps and two new modes in an update next week, Activision has announced.

The maps will be available to download on December 13 for PS4, Xbox One and PC, giving players plenty of shooter nostalgia to dig into.

All of the new content will be immediately familiar to Call of Duty veterans, including the six classic maps: Bloc, Countdown, Pipeline, Showdown, Strike and Wet Work.

Related: Final Fantasy 15 Review

In addition to half a dozen new maps, Activision is also adding two modes to the remastered package. Gun Game and Hardpoint will join the fray, which you can check out in the trailer below:

December 20 will see the introduction of the “24/7 Winter Crash Playlist” featuring a festive rendition of the classic map. Nothing says christmas like the throwing of grenades and firing of assault rifles.

Chicken Widget

Best Game of Thrones Deal

Now TV – 3 Month Entertainment Pass (UK Deal)

Giving you just enough time to catch up on previous episodes of Game of Thrones and to dive into the eighth and final season, this discounted three-month pass is perfect for the casual watcher.

HBO on Amazon Prime Channels – 7-Day Free Trial (US Deal)

Residents in the US can get access to all of HBO's fantastic content (including Game of Thrones) through Amazon Prime Channels, with a 7-day free trial available for new customers.


Modern Warfare Remastered is currently only available as part of the Legacy Edition of Infinite Warfare. As far as we know, Activision has no plans for a solo release in 2017.