• Recommended by TR
Humax HDR-1000S


Our Score


User Score

Review Price £279.99

Humax HDR-1000S Menus

The rest of the Humax HDR-1000S user interface is responsive and easy to navigate. The Home menu is particularly well designed. Live TV plays in a large box, with the menu options to the left. When you scroll through the list, the information below the screen changes – so when you select TV Guide you see a scaled down version of the Now and Next EPG, for example.

Humax HDR-1000S

From here, you can also visit the Settings menu (which is thorough and incredibly easy to follow), check hard-disk recordings, consult the Help section or search for programmes in the EPG by keyword. You can also explore On-Demand content from a dedicated menu if you don’t fancy searching through the EPG.

Humax HDR-1000S

The Showcase section picks out a selection of recommended programmes, split into various sections – ‘Watch Tonight’, ‘Don’t Miss’ and ‘On-Demand’. This isn’t based on your viewing habits like Virgin Media’s TiVo box – it’s simply a collection of programmes that Freesat thinks you’ll like, like the first incarnation of Sky Anytime.

Humax HDR-1000S

Another section worth checking out is simply labelled ‘Humax’, where you can explore the TV Portal’s range of apps. Currently the line-up is limited to Wiki@TV, Flickr, Picasa, Teletext Holidays and Humax Support, although YouTube will be added soon. You can also watch videos, photos and music from the hard-disk or a connected USB device, or stream media from DLNA devices.

The list of supported video formats is excellent. The Humax HDR-1000S tackles AVCHD, XviD, DivX, hi-def AVI, MKV, MP4, and WMV HD, although playable music formats are limited to MP3 only. The media playback menus are superb, displaying logical lists against sophisticated background graphics.

The Recordings also looks terrific. You can filter your list in different ways – ‘HD’, ‘Most Recent’, ‘Still to Watch’ and so forth. You can also view programmes you’ve kept and ones that will be deleted first when you start to run out of space. A series of icons denotes the status of each recording, and you can manage them using a menu that pops up when you hit OK. It’s remarkably thorough yet intuitive.

Humax HDR-1000S

Humax HDR-1000S Remote

The Humax HDR-1000S remote is designed with similar attention to detail. First up, it’s the perfect shape for the hand with its inward curving sides, plus the glossy black finish makes it a coffee table triumph. We love the large rubbery buttons with their clear labels, and the layout is perfectly intuitive with the menu controls directly under the thumb. It doesn’t feel cluttered, but all of the key functions are covered – there are buttons for Recordings, Settings, Search and the EPG of course, plus the red Record button is impossible to miss.

Previous page
Next page


November 1, 2012, 4:58 pm

A comparison with the older DTR-1000 would have been helpful. Struggling to see many differences not least because neither have integrated Wi-Fi.


November 10, 2012, 8:34 pm

Does JDunn say that there is an older DTR-1000 model other than the Youview model. If not, then the most obvious difference is that DTR-1000 is a terrestial (Freeview) model and the HDR-1000S is a satellite (Freesat) unit.


January 4, 2013, 12:03 pm

You cannot copy recorded programs onto a USB disk as you can with older Foxsat-hdr model.


January 31, 2013, 7:01 am

My 2 month old 1000S worked fine until the auto software update which rendered the unit unusable. Now going through the warranty process.

John Brenkley

February 3, 2013, 10:41 am

I ordered and returned this PVR. It is a buggy, developmental bit of kit which frankly isn't ready for public release. Wonder if Danny Phillips is related to Alan Sugar, because his gushing 'rose tinted' review (which positively swayed my initial purchase decision), I'm afraid isn't terribly representative of my subsequent experiences with the unit.

The SD picture quality from the 1000S in particular was mushy & soft compared to my Foxsat HDR. Whilst the media player in the 1000S is very, very disappointing. Even connected with 500Mbps Home Plugs to my NAS it is a lardy lump when it comes to streaming MP3's, I would rather nail-gun my eyes out than wait around for the 1000S to eventually catch up and get there. Music is for enjoying and wading through the treacle-like 1000S' Media Player HMI certainly does not contribute one bit to that enjoyment.

Streaming video isn't much better. It incorrectly scales the video and chops off some of the picture. Funnily enough no mention of this in Danny's 'in-depth' review........ but check-out the forums, this would appear to not be an isolated issue.

I'm keeping my Foxsat HDR + existing Media Streamer, but also using a YouView unit for Freeview which incidently Humax have got just about right. In the meantime, if you want to be disappointed in an over hyped-up bit of tech then go for the 1000S.

Steve Crook

January 26, 2014, 12:36 pm

The box does all the basics well, I've no complaints with how it handles records, series or split. HD picture looks ok to me, though I've not got much to compare it against.

The UI is the problem. There are a number of features missing or broken despite several software updates over the period of a year.

1. The EPG cannot be set to use the favourites channels by default. So every time you access the EPG you have to press List, Up, Enter to select Favourites
2. There's no way to search the EPG for programmes of a particular genre. So no way to look at all the films being broadcast during the next week.
3. There's no way to reorder channels in Favourites, so you're stuck with them in channel number order.
4. There's only one Favourites. Another for Radio would have been handy.

There are others. I've found the above to be so irksome that I'm actively considering a switch back to Freeview and the better UI on the Humax Freeview product....

Dan Saxton

March 9, 2015, 8:02 pm

Do not buy this!

Don't buy one of these, it doesn't work with ethernet after a while and
then when you're out of warranty they'll charge you £110 to replace it!


October 18, 2015, 5:26 am

trying to buy a HUMAX top box with YOutube and this on of them. Do not need WIFI as with HumaxHDR10101S (£200 Min.) in white which costs more than this one at £150 Richer Sounds. Black model Humax HDR1000S seemed perfect to me but read your review. £150 seems cheap. Was it really that bad and did you pay £110 extra to have it replaced if it is 2yrs +? Wondering what to do now and appreciate you reply. thanks

comments powered by Disqus