Home / Product Round-ups / Washing Machines / 6 Best Washing Machines in 2016 – Buying Guide

6 Best Washing Machines in 2016 – Buying Guide

Andy Vandervell


Best Washing Machines

It pays to do some research if you want to find the best washing machine for your home. We test machines from the top brands to save you the time and effort, and every machine in our round-up has been tested thoroughly.

Our pick of top washing machines includes machines from major brands like Miele and Samsung. The list is organised from cheapest to most expensive and the cheapest machine costs less than £300, so you don't have to spend big bucks to find a good washing machine.

Click here to view the list if you'd rather get straight to it, but read on to see the huge difference between good and bad washing machines and understand more about how we test washing machines.

What's the difference between a good and a bad washing machine?

We examine the washing performance and power use of every washing machine we test, but what's the difference between the best washing machines and plain bad ones?


Here's an example 'test stain' that we use in every washing machine we test. It features wine, blood, ketchup, coffee, fruit juice and oil – we put similar test strips in every machine we test and use a branded non-bio washing detergent.


This is what a test strip looks like after a standard cotton wash in one of our TrustedReviews Recommended washing machines. Almost all the stains are entirely removed with just a hint of oil, which is normal given we use a non-bio detergent.


Here's the result from a less proficient machine that didn't receive such a glowing review. The oil is almost untouched, while the wine (far left), coffee (middle) and fruit juice (second from right) are still clearly visible.

That's a very poor result, but it's important to know that there are cheap machines that wash well and do so efficiently. More expensive machines do typically wash better and have more features, but you don't have to spend loads of money to get a good machine – some in our best washing machine round-up cost less than £300.

This Week's Best Washing Machine Deals

LG F1495BDA at Amazon.co.uk | Was £900 | Now £756

Samsung WW9000 at Amazon.co.uk | Was £1,699 | Now £1,174

How we test washing machines

That's an example of how machines can vary, but what else do we look for in washing machine? Every washing machine we review is thoroughly tested and is evaluated and rated based on nine specific criteria:

Design and Ease of Use – This is where we look for style and simplicity. If your washing machine takes up a prominent space in your kitchen then it had best look good. We also look for simple, easy to understand controls.

Washing Quality – As shown above, we put all of our washing machines to the test against a test strain strip of wine, coffee, blood, ketchup, fruit juice and engine oil, always using the same, branded non-bio washing detergent.

Spin Efficiency – We weigh clothes before and after each wash to determine how much water has remained. Too much water still residing in your clothes means they’ll take an age to dry, which is just plain irritating.

Noise – We measure the noise in decibels for every machine during it spin and wash cycles and compare it to the manufacturer claims. We also keep an ear out for knocking noises that will prove distracting.

Running Costs and Value – We calculate the approximate annual running cost based on typical UK usage for every machine using full, half loads and eco modes. We also look at whether the machine is good value based on the features and performance on offer compared to other machines at the same price.

Click the next arrow to find out which washing machines we recommend.

Need more help? Leave a comment and we'll do our best to help.


April 22, 2014, 4:08 pm

How come there are no products from Germany company Miele which is well known for the highest quality washing machines. The author should be ashamed as the title Best washing machines is a real overstatement.


April 22, 2014, 6:31 pm

True; Which always ranks Miele first for washing machines.

And Bosch second...they aren't on this list either.

Prem Desai

April 23, 2014, 7:38 am

Too true. Miele is one of the few, maybe only, company that makes an appliance to its standards, then sets a price. Other manufacturers make machines to meet a price point. Bosch had joined this party lately.

My 12 year old Miele washing machine came with a 10 years parts and labour warranty (which I have never has to use). Other manufacturers never offer this because they can't. Some, like LG, do offer a 5/10 year warranty for parts only (you get ripped off on their labour charges) and then again on some parts only e.g. The motor only. Ridiculous.

If my washing machine needed replacing, I will not be looking beyond Miele regardless of how many bells and whistles other manufacturers offer.

Prem Desai

April 23, 2014, 7:41 am

The total capacity e.g. 10kg is misleading as this can only be used on certain loads. For most loads like delicates, it's usually half or sometimes less.

To anyone buying a washing machine based on load capacity, please check the appliance's manual online before buying.......


April 23, 2014, 8:18 am

To be fair, I believe TR have done in-depth, real-world tests on each of these washing machine. Considering this isn't 'Trusted Washing Machines Reviews' I don't think they'd have the time to review every model out there. Having worked at a review site before, I know that some manufacturers don't send out review samples or only send to select sources - so it could even be Miele to blame.

M Anton

April 23, 2014, 9:28 am

Prem, I think you'll find Miele's warranty is based around X years of expected usage as opposed to the flat X years the literature implies. If for example you used a machine 3+ times a day you'd be be exceeding their reasonable usage.

That said we have 3 Miele appliances and I recently got spares for a 17 year old vacuum cleaner.

Check out ISE Appliances; - http://www.iseappliances.co.uk... A brand with a good ethos.

oh and if you thought Miele were expensive, have a look at http://www.vzug.com/gb/en/


April 23, 2014, 12:53 pm

Best washing machine is one that last for years and years, such as a Miele.


April 23, 2014, 12:55 pm

Agree, our Miele machine is coming up to 20 years old and we have three children so its well been used, never a days problem.

Prem Desai

April 23, 2014, 11:25 pm

No mate. My Miele came with a 10 year parts and labour warranty. No reasonable usage clause or anything except that it should be used for domestic purposes only.
Miele do these offers every now and again on selected models.

I don't feel Miele is expensive compared to the other big name brands. It is dearer than budget or own brand models.

I had a look at the zug website - no prices there but they don't really have a presence in the uk and you'd be stuck for spares, service, etc.

Great thing about Miele is they're easily obtainable, reasonably priced and spares, consumables are plentiful.

No, I don't have shares in Miele ..!!

Abc Tyres

April 24, 2014, 12:44 pm

Miele is really good quality, expensive though.


April 24, 2014, 3:50 pm

We're currently waiting on delivery on one of Miele's new washing machines. We also have a couple of Beko's in the lab at the moment. We're building up our base of washing machines at the moment, but this kind of thing takes time.


May 1, 2014, 10:10 am

FYI -- we're expecting delivery of Miele's latest machine very soon.

Maciej Jablonski

May 1, 2014, 7:17 pm

How Panasonic NA-140VZ4 compares to NA-140VS4?

Maciej Jablonski

May 1, 2014, 7:17 pm

It looks to me Panasonics leave wash quite wet (40-52% comparing to 34% by other machines on the top list).


May 8, 2014, 10:58 am

It's a good point, Prem, though it's worth remembering too that large majority of people use the main cotton wash.

Prem Desai

May 8, 2014, 12:13 pm

I am the only bloke in my household and have been told (nay, ordered) to use the delicates programme only!!!

Interestingly, most of my own clothes (man things!!) say to use the delicate cycle and at either 30 or 40 degrees.


June 21, 2014, 5:29 pm

My old Bosch lasted 25 years without a problem but the new one has had 3 visits from their own repairers in the past 3 years and still is not satisfactory. Will be scrapping it and buying Miele if it needs another call-out.


August 21, 2014, 1:35 am

I have a Miele fridge/freezer (KF7642SN) and, some years ago, the freezer alarm started going off randomly with simultaneous freezer temperature drop. It can go days without that happening and, suddenly, in just one day (or middle of the night), it can sound the alarm (which doesn't shut up EVER and can't also be disconnected) 3 times and I wake up and have to get out of bed to turn it off (the turn alarm off button works for each time only!!)... While it was in its warranty, a Miele's technitian said the issue was just cleaning the radiator behind and that only shut the alarm for like a couple of months and we gave up trying to fix it since Miele, itself, didn't seem to have a better option. Later, when the warranty was over, we went over to Miele to replace a door handle and, because we were there, we thought, why not talk about the alarm issue again, who knows we would get a different answer, and a different answer we had. Turns out that they know that problem very well. It's in the electronics, and fixing it was almost the price of the fridge. We feel like we've been conned by Miele and I'll have trouble giving so much money for a brand that I just can't trust anymore. As a consequence, besides having to shut the kitchen door every night and every other doors on the way to our bedrooms to stop a potential random alarm from waking us us, because the freezer constantly loses cold, we can't use that one so we are using a Liebherr (I know, same factory) freezer which is sitting outside of the home and, luckily, never had any issues so far. We don't have any electrical issues in our network for those who might think of that hypothesis. That's rare. On the other hand, we have a Miele dryer and that has been working fine for years but I just thought I should write this for anyone out there who's willing to shell that extra dollar for a Miele fridge to have "peace of mind". I am in the process of replacing it. Today I went to the store and I have my sights on a moderately priced Bosch model with a good (not the best) energy rating. I saw only 1 Miele model there. It had the 2nd best energy rating was 1300€ compared to a better spec (top energy rating, more space, and neater features) Bosch which cost 999€ standing next to it. I'm going for a 600€ Bosh though. The lesson I learned is that you just can't buy your way out of trouble, even with Miele. If you think this is a one time issue specific of this model, you'd be wrong because, later I've just checked and later Miele models also have this issue (if not the same, similar, issue with the alarm sounding randomly without a chance to turn it off)


September 3, 2014, 6:15 pm

My 18 year old Hotpoint Aquarius is still working fine. never had a repair either. This was made when Hotpoint were a British brand before selling to Italy. I doubt a new machine from them would compare to my old Brit made one.


September 10, 2014, 12:24 am

i saw an old Miele of 98 if im correct being sold for 100€. so i guess it's better to get it than a used Candy or Indesit though a little bit cheaper?


May 19, 2015, 9:22 am

My parents had an old Bosch for about 10 years before giving it to me - friends always thought that a washing machine was an odd hand me down. Anyway it finally gave up the ghost after another 4 - 5 years service and I had to buy a new one. After a lot of research I ended up coming via this website and was set on getting a Samsung WD906U4SAGD. it was more to do with the aesthetics than anything else. I planned to buy it via Amazon as I had a gift card knocking about which would have saved me an extra £50. However, when I clicked the Amazon market place link above I came across a company named NewLife Appliances. Not only were they bar far the cheapest but they also offered free delivery. Just to play it safe I decided to Google them - turns out there website is even cheaper than their amazon listing http://www.newlifeappliances.c...

Really worth checking out, I ended up getting mine for £325 from them! I saved roughly about £275


July 5, 2015, 7:00 am

Like some of the other posters below, I also have a Miele washer that is now 12 years old, it came with a 10 year warranty that I have never had to use and the machine as is as good today as it was when it was delivered. The exterior is so well made it hasn't aged a bit and you can in fact still buy an almost identical model - class and quality don't age. The only annoying thing about it is the fact that it is so perfect I have no need to buy another Miele to replace it! I have many Miele appliances and I cannot fault any of them - They are more expensive but you really do get value out of them. I spent more on the many cheap washers I had before the Miele - besides the fact that Miele's are exceptional at what they do rather than simply lasting well.


July 28, 2015, 8:05 am

Could not agree more about the Miele brand (with the exception of some of their vacuum cleaners). When we lived in Holland we purchased our first Miele washing machine. It lasted 20 years before the motor failed.For some reason we could not get a replacement. By then back in the UK, we purchased a Hotpoint. It dropped dead, after many failures, within 3 years. We switched back to Miele, it is still faultless after 18 years and that is the end of the story. They run and run. It cause me to update my will at this rate :-) However, I would like to comment on the "green" aspects of this. Being able to use and repair a machine over a 20 year lifetime is surely greener than switching to a new model for a miniscule improvement in washing efficiency. I really would like to see longevity taken into account when assessing the green aspects of a product. Miele come out very well on all aspects and there is the added bonus of owning something which is not part of the throw-away society. Efficiency ratings without taking into account longevity are not particularly relevant.

Tumer Sismanoglu

September 24, 2015, 3:09 pm

Anybody had any bad experience with Samsung with WW80H5440EW1ST which is a new model of the one started with WW80H7410 EW series or vica versa. Any comments will be most appreciated .


March 1, 2016, 7:53 am

Nice post about washing machine,
http://espressomachineadvisor.... always helps to used best washing machine and gives a huge experience about the using the all type of washing machine.

comments powered by Disqus