Trusted Reviews may earn an affiliate commission when you purchase through links on our site. Learn More

EE makes roaming in USA and 10 other countries way easier

EE has overhauled the way it charges customers to use mobile data when they’re abroad, introducing a brand new ‘Travel Data Pass’.

The Travel Data Pass replaces the old Euro Data Pass, and extends EE’s service to a further 11 countries, all of which are outside of Europe – hence the name change. Starting today, EE customers will be able to use the Travel Data Pass in the following additional countries: United States, Canada, Turkey, Australia, New Zealand, UAE, India, Thailand, Mexico, South Africa, and China.

Like the Euro Data Pass, the Travel Data Pass is an opt-in subscription that charges you a fee each day you’re in a country. For £3 per day, you’ll get 500MB to spend daily in Europe, while £4 will net you the same amount of data in the USA and Canada. And the other nine countries are charged at a £5-per-day rate with the same amount of data.

If you’re already subscribed to the Euro Data Pass, you’ll be automatically transferred to the Travel Data Pass, and will start getting the benefits as soon as you travel to a listed country. And if you’ve yet to sign up, you can opt in by texting the word TRAVEL to 150. You don’t need to remove it when you come back to the UK – you won’t be charged if you’re using your phone on British soil.

“Whether you’re planning on celebrating New Year in Times Square, getting away from the cold with some sun Down Under, or sampling the Hamburg Christmas markets, you can relax and post photos on Facebook or Instagram, and send messages via WhatsApp – with no surprise bills when you get back,” explains EE.

Here’s a full list of the European countries covered by the Travel Data Pass: Austria, Azores, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canary Islands, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, French Guiana (France), Germany, Gibraltar, Luxembourg, Madeira, Malta, Martinique, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Reunion Islands, Romania, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Martin, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the Vatican City.

In countries that aren’t part of the Travel Data Pass scheme, you’ll still need to opt into a specific bundle when you’re attempting to roam.

Related: Samsung Galaxy S8

Watch: OnePlus 3T review

What do you think of EE’s new Travel Data Pass? Let us know in the comments.

Unlike other sites, we thoroughly review everything we recommend, using industry standard tests to evaluate products. We’ll always tell you what we find. We may get a commission if you buy via our price links. Tell us what you think – email the Editor