Home / Computing / Peripheral / WD My Cloud / Setup, Performance & Verdict

WD My Cloud

Gordon Kelly

By Gordon Kelly

Updated:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
WD My Cloud

Summary

Our Score:

9

Best Deals for Western Digital WD My Cloud

  • amazon
  • ebay

WD My Cloud - Setup

Given the My Cloud's wide range of functionality it would be reasonable to expect a difficult setup. Instead this is where it really gained our attention.

WD has succeeded in making My Cloud virtually fool proof. Users connect it to their router, switch it on, visit wdmycloud.com (wdmycloud.local for Macs) or download the My Cloud software from the WD website and follow the setup wizard. This lets you choose your username and password and add users for remote access. Compared to even the most intuitive NAS, this is child's play.

WD also deserves great credit for the quality of the browser UI. The main dashboard provides at-a-glance information on available capacity, drive health, firmware, Cloud devices, users, shared folders and media content. The tabbed interface then brings dedicated segments for users, shares, Cloud access, Safepoints and settings. It is intuitive and stylish and, quite frankly, a sector benchmark in clarity and usability.

Where we do have a gripe, however, is remote access via the PC app (below). It is possible to map drives, but these are read only and depend on your router's IP so have to be remapped if you change network. Consequently the simpler path is to use the My Cloud PC software, but while it brings read/write functionality the UI is sparse and there is no support for right clicks instead relying on clumsy menus icons beside each file. Furthermore, media doesn't stream when opened, but is instead downloaded and for big files this can defeat the point. Given the Android app streams without any fuss, hopefully this will improve with time.

WD My Cloud - Performance

This aside My Cloud remains very impressive and what keeps it thoroughly in our good books is the incredible performance.

Gigabit Ethernet read speeds hit a stunning 92.4MBps (739.2Mbps) with writes of 71.9MBps (575.2Mbps). Given both outpace even the latest 802.11ac wireless standard you'll need a wired connection to exploit its full potential, but this is unsurprising for speeds which even push the boundaries of Gigabit Ethernet.

Getting it extra brownie points, the My Cloud maintained its composure throughout staying quiet enough to keep in a living room – not something you can say about most NAS. Ultimately this means pro-grade NAS performance but with better table manners.

Should I buy the WD My Cloud?

At this point the only thing that could really throw a spanner in the works in the asking price, but happily this is the cherry on top.

The 4TB RRP has yet to be announced, but 2TB and 3TB models cost just £129.99 and £159.99 respectively, a mere £30 premium on the same sizes of My Book external hard drive. You would expect to pay at least double for the equivalent in a populated NAS while a 200GB Dropbox account would set you back the price of a 2TB My Cloud every 13 months.

And yet we can't be quite so glib. NAS offer disk redundancy, potential for expansion and a wider array of options, and while My Cloud builds in Safepoints backing it up will requires significant further storage outlay. Meanwhile actual cloud storage services keep your data safe from home or office accidents while your personal cloud does not.

Despite this we must admit WD has created a seriously compelling device. For little more than the cost of backup storage you get a blazing fast basic NAS, your own vast personal cloud and the potential to wave goodbye to monthly Dropbox, Drive or SkyDrive subscriptions. In addition, when WD makes dual and quad drive versions of this line bringing data redundancy, it could change the market.

Verdict

The My Cloud is a remarkable three-in-one device that somehow gives a bloody nose to backup storage, NAS drives and Cloud storage in a single blow. It looks great, is easy to use, keeps quiet and performance is mind blowing. WD still has work to do on its PC app, particularly to support media streaming, and multi-drive models are needed to add data redundancy, but make no mistake this is a landmark device.

Overall Score

9

Scores In Detail

  • Build Quality 7
  • Design 9
  • Features 8
  • Performance 10
  • Usability 9
  • Value 10

Best Deals for Western Digital WD My Cloud

  • amazon
  • ebay

Pg

October 10, 2013, 12:43 pm

It's also cheap. People don't back up their data as often as they should, especially their photos/videos. Something like this is perfect for home use, most people don't know, and don't want to know, about raid and multi-disc NASs. They just want something that works - which is sounds like this does.

It won't help in a fire, but it's a step in the right direction. Don't go through the pain of not having backed up.

Brian Munich

October 10, 2013, 3:30 pm

What's the actual model though? Amazon have an older version stocked I think?

DanielM

October 11, 2013, 1:50 pm

my book live with a diff case?

Philippe

October 11, 2013, 8:58 pm

Wait a minute, D-Link has been doing this for years....

Gordon Kelly

October 15, 2013, 10:48 pm

Not quite. Read beyond the first few paragraphs :)

Gordon Kelly

October 15, 2013, 10:48 pm

Nope

Gordon Kelly

October 15, 2013, 10:49 pm

The MyCloud line have 2TB, 3TB and 4TB models. There is no previous line so it shouldn't be a problem finding one. We had the 2TB model.

Gordon Kelly

October 15, 2013, 10:50 pm

Exactly. It is perfect for backing up and accessing your files remotely, but as the main source of your data the problem is it needs something to back itself up. A 2 drive model with integrated redundancy could cover all bases. We're told it's coming.

Pete

October 18, 2013, 5:49 pm

Gordon am I right in thinking that the IOS app will not allow you to play/stream iOS compatible files saved on the my cloud? Or have I got that wrong clarification would be helpful as I am about to buy one of these

Guest

October 20, 2013, 7:56 pm

I set this up today.
I can access the files (via wifi and 4G) through my MBP(Finder) and my iPhone 4S(WD app and another media streaming app).
But I am not able to access the files via web browser (same or different network). When ever I click on the shared folder after signing in on WD2GO.com I get an error "Execution Failed :80"
Any Help?

Powder Monkey

October 21, 2013, 4:34 pm

I prefer dropbox as the files sit on your computer and sync with the cloud, that is a far better system and WD would do well to adopt it.

sasmjuk

October 28, 2013, 12:13 pm

Very useful. I got my brother to bring me the 3TB version back from the States and so far it's proving very useful. The main benefit is I can now slowly begin to move my stuff off from my Dropbox account and go back to a free account. At the same time I have masses more storage and can still access everything remotely. It's not quite as flexible as Dropbox, in that there's no folder that syncs automatically with the drive, and as the review states the PC App is quite limited, but it does the job. So instead of having a folder that syncs automatically you have to use the PC App to upload files to the MD My Cloud. Still a very usefull piece of kit and very cheap considering.

Jeremy

November 8, 2013, 1:34 pm

Would this work for synchronising two computers, laptop and desktop? It doesn't sound as though it's quite got the capability of a Dropbox-type facility, unless there's a way of doing that. Would the auto backup (Time Machine in my case) create synchronised records between both computers?

Mo

November 14, 2013, 3:51 pm

Can you limit the space TimeMachine backups take - otherwise it will fill any free space with Mac backups?

MJdaSupremeBeast

November 21, 2013, 3:35 am

Does any know whether this drive is 7200rpm or 5400rpm?

Artie

November 27, 2013, 10:53 pm

I purchased a 3tb My Cloud have almost 10 hours on line with support. Support does an ok job but it depends on who you get. Additionally it took 6 hours of support to get the drive to work as advertised. I had my first real problem with the drive not allowing public vs private access and the support guy was useless. I was finally able to get it working myself but find the product not ready for release, instead we are the beta guinea pigs.

Kingy

December 13, 2013, 10:18 pm

Hi, I just want to be able to put photos, movies & music on this drive and be able to share it wirelessly to iPhones, android touchpad, Sony Bravia smart TV & PS3.......... is this the drive for me ?
And is it the one currently selling for £99 on Amazon?

Thanks guys

Dave

December 27, 2013, 11:48 am

Can this device be used for media streaming that can be accessed anywhere with an internet connection, not just on your home network? For instance, if I travelled a lot, can I store all my media on my cloud and stream it to my laptop or tablet from another location?

Charles Tenant

January 3, 2014, 8:43 pm

I've been using Copy for my cloud storage and it's pretty fast.
It's from the folks at Barracuda Networks. They offer 15 gigs for free.

neet

January 16, 2014, 7:04 pm

Looked at this excellent review because my old WD dropping connection a lot last week. Very hard to reconcile to amazon comments - like 6 days to transfer my current files onto it (not to mention the persistent issue with dropped connections!) Wonder if TR should check forums as part of review - many firms, not mentioning netgear or HP in particular, seem to have intergenerational curses.

Iarla Kilbane-Dawe

January 27, 2014, 10:19 pm

Only if the wretched thing works. Which is tends not to.

ikd68

January 27, 2014, 10:28 pm

My experience was the same. Dead slow, can't see the internet, a hopeless, utterly HOPELESS support. Wish I'd never bought the wretched rubbish. A USB hard drive would have been way better and cheaper.

kilo

March 4, 2014, 5:44 am

Can this be directly hooked up to a laptop through Ethernet cable and copy/paste files?

Andy Cannon

March 14, 2014, 8:27 pm

Slow as hell, no support, constant errors trying to transfer files, terrible interface... I am beginning to regret this purchase as it is basically a very bad product. It needs a proper instruction manual to come with it to explain how to set it up and actually transfer files across.

Dazed and Confuzed

March 22, 2014, 7:52 am

It would appear from all the comments that all these devices and NAs's are rubbish….is there an answer out there. My omega media player just died after a year of use. I have had multiple HD die on me also.!!!

comments powered by Disqus