Home / Cameras / Camera / Samsung WB2000 / Test Shots - ISO Performance

Samsung WB2000 - Test Shots - ISO Performance

By Cliff Smith



  • Recommended by TR
Samsung WB2000


Our Score:


User Score:

Over the next few pages we show a range of test shots. On this page the full size image at the minimum and maximum ISO settings have been reduced to let you see the full image, and a series of full resolution crops have taken from original images at a range of ISO settings to show the overall image quality. These pictures were taken indoors using reflected natural light.


This is the full frame at minimum ISO.


Image quality at 80 ISO is excellent.


Unsurprisingly, still no problems at 100 ISO.


Still very little noise at 200 ISO.


There are a few blotches on the green channel at 400 ISO, but noise is still minimal.


Slightly more noise at 800 ISO, but this is still very good quality.


1600 ISO shows some slight loss of detail, but this is still a printable picture.


3200 ISO is still good for smaller images.


this is the full frame at 3200 ISO.



November 5, 2010, 3:37 pm

I bought this camera for £245 from jessops online. Ended up returning it for a refund. Although it has some amazing features, the battery life is rubbish, have to charge the battery in the camera. Samsung Tech support is poor, picture output is very inconsistent. Outdoor pictures are brill, but any any other conditions its a mixed bag. Menus over complicated. Video is excellent, but the left mic is positioned where you would place your finger to hold it. Ended up buying a Lumix TZ10, and prefer the image quality and although the video is 720p, It's still very good.


November 5, 2010, 6:39 pm

Hi Zubs,

I'm planning to buy a camera but I'm torn between the TZ10 and the WB2000. Hi-Def video is important to me (so the WB2000 seems to score higher than the TZ10 based on image resolution and the fact the TZ10 limits your recordings to 15 minutes) - which camera do you feel is better for family videos overall.

Also - which camera do you feel gives better quality images in low light (Indoors at pubs etc)? The reviews on the TZ10 suggest it's not so good in low light as some other cameras so really not sure which camera is better for me overall.

When you had the bad images on the WB2000 - what issues did you experience. (Poor focus, pictures undersaturated?)

Sorry for all the questions - Just would really appreciate a users view from anyone who has used both cameras.


November 5, 2010, 9:41 pm

I've had this camera about ten days and been very impressed. A couple of things, like 'smart range' (which, for the steady-handed, takes two shots at different exposures and combines them in camera (Ricoh style) for massively increased dynamic range)are burried too deeply in the menu. Also it seems to generally slightly overexpose shots. However I've tested it under all sorts of conditions and I'm pleased to say I agree with Cliff that this is a very good little camera. If's OK as a point and shoot, but if you take a little trouble and use its many options then it is capable of producing superb results. And most of the controls are easily accessed via the mode dial and function button.


November 6, 2010, 12:33 am

Hi Maxik, The Samsung 1080p is very good, but I was looking for overall image quality. But even at 720p, the Lumix is very good and has excellent stereo sound recording. The samsung has too many settings for different setting, and in reality most people will never user some of the functions.TZ10 recording in europe is up to 29mins 59 secs. The camera is easier for my wife to take pics of the kids and has the extras for me, I love the results in all conditions. Regarding images, focus, blurring was present on some shots(which I never even had with my 7yr old Canon Ixus).colours can look undersaturated and cold(Other reviews have also said the same) and battery life is pathetic. But it's down to personal taste. Being a Canon user, I feel at ease with the TZ10, with good support from Panasonic. Sadly Samsung have a bad rep for product support, I experienced this when I called their tech support twice to ask about the max SD/SDHC card support(they didn't have much of a clue) Although a 16SDHC worked fine.


November 6, 2010, 6:21 pm

Hi Zubs - Thanks for that - it's very much appreciated.

I think the Lumix will be the one for me, especially now I know it can record for up to 30 mins.


November 8, 2010, 2:11 am

I live in the US and have the American equivalent to the WB2000, the TL350.

I am extremely impressed by the quality of the video: the 1080 video blows away videos made with my Panasonic ZS3/TZ7 which records in 720p. There's simply no comparison. I also like the fact that one can pause video recording (without creating an additional file) and resume recording with a simple push of the OK button.

The numerous user settings make this a very capable camera, and I have found that the colo(u)rs are quite accurate unless one uses the "vivid" setting which, if truth be told, is quite useful for fall foliage!

The rapid and simple access to common user settings is especially welcome: there is a specific button push for ISO, for example. It's true that in an ideal camera, I'd like to have the possibility to set the EV just as easily, but finding the EV setting is nonetheless sufficiently quick for me.

There is no perfect digital camera; the Panasonic TZ7, which has an excellent long zoom, is too noisy (grainy) even at relatively low ISOs, and the video is only 720p; the Canon S95 doesn't do 1080 video, nor do any of the other pocketable cameras available. My best advice is for you to choose the camera that best suits your wants and needs, and then to accept that it is the best one for you, regardless of its quirks and perceived shortcoming. Learn the interface thoroughly, so that it becomes second nature to select the appropriate settings. The resulting images will be quite comparable, whichever 10MP camera you get.

I'm learning my Samsung's interface and am quite pleased with the images and videos that I'm getting out of it. BTW I'm running it with a 16GB Class 6 card, and everything works perfectly.

Gordon 1

November 13, 2010, 2:20 am

I'm so confused right now as to which camera to get! Right, have shortlisted:

Samsung WB2000

Samsung WB600 (not sure I need GPS of the WB650, the WB600 is also SO delightfully cheap at the moment)

Sony WX5 (probably most like-for-like the WB2000 except lack of manual controls)

Sony HX5 (very keen on this one except noise reduction is super aggressive according to some reviews)

Panasonic TZ8 (Don't need the GPS of the TZ10, pic quality seems excellent up to 400).

As w previous reviews, it's hard to decide between this compact, and the other listed models some of which are bulkier travel superzooms. I'm giving myself £250 or so max, which rules out the like of the S95, EX1, LX5. I'm starting to think of a CMOS sensor as a 'must have', which then probably rules out the TZ8 (arguably best IQ of the list) and the WB600 (just incredible value and still very good IQ).

I like the sound of the wizardry Sony's got inside the WX5, but am not sure how much real-world value it has (there seems to be only a few reviews of the WX5 at the moment, and of those none of them quite match up to Sony's own blurb of "DSLR quality" IQ wise, surprisingly enough).

I'm off to Budapest in a couple of weeks and see myself doing great sweeping sweep- panoramas of the Danube (hence the preference for a CMOS type sensor), including night-time shots. Anybody got any input or comments on the above?

Tom MacFarlane

November 14, 2010, 12:57 am

I bought this camera the week it came out and am totally delighted with it.

The movie mode is the best I've seen in a small compact, but the cherry on the icing on the cake is to get RAW mode, which I now use most of the time.

The Silkypix software is a quirky program, but it does do the business.

I agree the battery life is a let down - as is the need to re-charge in camera - but I would expect to buy a spare in any case.

The big let-down is not the camera: so far there's no HD lead to connect to the TV, and this camera's movie mode demands nothing else.

Colin Fry

December 3, 2010, 5:59 pm

In regards to the battery life, I bought a charger and two batteries on E-bay for $20. I also bought a 6 foot HDMI cable for less than $10. I love this camera for all its features


February 5, 2011, 4:51 am

I think the thing that sets this camera apart from the rest for me is the Small size and video features


May 8, 2011, 1:32 am

So far, outstanding camera, as good as my SLR for some purposes. Flash and fill flash is especially good, which is often forgotten by reviewers as a feature.

First-class lens, excellent exposure and very good focusing, plus excellent image quality. And it does RAW and HD1080.

Must have some fancy internals to be this good.


May 18, 2011, 12:54 am

I have just bought this camera and have issue with this review - and so far, the camera as well.

1. It is NOT 1080p - it is 1080i...which is NOT full HD. It's 'HD READY'....going by TV spec. jargon.
2. No mention of dodgy battery life in review?
3. When in shooting mode the camera makes a constant quiet buzzing noise, if your ear is within a foot you'll hear it...!? Why? No surprise it has poor battery life.
4. So far pics seem noisy.... also even when I pointed it right into a lightbulb that was tunred on the shutter speed still was on 1/60!? My DSLR would be about 1/500
Also I agree with the others....no HDMI cable, no charging dock - originally £300. Get real.
I may well take this back unless I can find a good reason to keep it. I don't mind an ugly looking camera if the pics are good...but this is pushing it with it's lazy styling in some areas.

Faivre Thierry

December 16, 2011, 11:21 pm

Bons résultats avec des conditions de lumières fortes. Par contre pour préserver le piqué Samsung a opté pour la dégradation de la chrominance dans les isos forts et même dans les zones sombres de l'image; cette dégradation est vraiment trop forte! Le shoot en raw ne sert pas à grand chose, le moteur jpg étant très bon La balance des blancs est totalement paramétrable, même avec des valeurs perso. L'autonomie de la batterie est comme tous les compacts modernes très limite, rien à voir avec un canon g6 ou un fuji f30!.... mais il était plus volumineux Il n'est pas possible de faire des panoramas en taille réel, la mémorisation de l'ae n'étant pas prévue, il faut se contenter de ce que donne l'appareil. La molette rotative est trop souple, le le déclencheur trop sensible, alors que le zoom est fluide, il a 10 pas. Le prix étant bien chuté, l'appareil vaut le coup, globalement car le canon ixus220hs similaire est bien moins bon en télé...

comments powered by Disqus