Our Score


User Score

Review Price £319.00

The P7000's overall performance is somewhat mixed. In actual operation the camera feels sluggish. There is a delay when menus are activated, and a longer delay afterwards to go back the shooting mode. It can start up and take a picture in a little more than three seconds, which is possibly a bit on the slow side for a £350 camera. In single-shot JPEG Fine mode it has a shot-to-shot time of approximately 2.2 seconds, which is about the same as the Canon G11, but slower than the LX5 or the EX1. In Raw + JPEG mode however it is much slower, with a shot-to-shot time of a little over six seconds. In continuous shooting mode it can manage approximately 1.5fps, indefinitely in JPEG mode but only for five shots in Raw + JPEG, with a lot of processing time afterwards.

The P7000's autofocus system is excellent. It has a nine-zone multi-AF option, as well as as two different centre focus options, and face detection. Manual focus is also available. The AF is very quick and accurate, and also woks well in low light. There is a very bright AF assist lamp with a range of several metres, so it can focus in complete darkness.

The raison-d'etre of a high-end compact is image quality. These cameras are often bought by DLSR owners looking for a lighter alternative, but without giving away too much in terms of resolution and sharpness. The P7000 certainly delivers the goods, helped by its superb lens. The 7x zoom Nikkor provides excellent corner-to-corner sharpness with minimal wide-angle distortion and no chromatic aberration. The level of fine detail is very impressive, producing low-compression files of over 4MB. This is certainly on a par with other similar cameras, although we'll have to wait and see how it compares to the G12.

Exposure and colour rendition are very good, and dynamic range is also better than average. Image noise is very well handled, producing clear and reasonably well-detailed pictures at 1600 ISO, and even the 3200 ISO normal maximum produces usable images. ISO can be extended further to 6400, but here the results are not so good.


With the CoolPix P7000 Nikon returns to the very top end of the compact camera market. It's an impressive camera, with good build quality, a wide range of features and a lot of creative versatility. Performance could be a little better, but there's nothing wrong with the results. It is a viable and slightly cheaper alternative to the G12 and LX5.

Personal note

After nearly seven years and over six hundred reviews and features, this will be my final appearance on TrustedReviews, as I'm moving on to new projects and challenges next year. It's been my great pleasure to entertain and hopefully inform you, and I hope you've had as much fun reading my reviews as I've had writing them. Keep enjoying your photography, and please be nice to whoever takes over as camera reviewer. Goodbye!

Previous page
Next page

Matthew Hunt

December 15, 2010, 1:02 pm

Thanks for all the great reviews Cliff, I have personally purchased two cameras based on your opinions and have not regretted either. Best of luck for the future.

Richard Boden

December 15, 2010, 1:35 pm

Dear Cliff. I have thoroughly enjoyed your reviews over the years and indeed purchased the LX3 on the back of your thoughts, and what a camera! You shall be missed a great deal by many, and we all in the photography community, who have processed your words of wisdom with consideration, wish you all the very best for the future. RB


December 15, 2010, 1:38 pm

Sorry to see you go Cliff, your reviews were some of the ones i always trusted the most. Look forward to seeing you pop up elsewhere and I hope TR can find someone of your equal to replace you.

Looks like Nikon have finally gotten back into the game. An optical viewfinder, that's a rarity these days, along with the increased zoom level I'm giving my trusty LX3 some puzzled looks. Might hold out hope for a lottery win and the Fuji FX100 though...


December 15, 2010, 1:49 pm

good review


December 15, 2010, 1:55 pm


Best of luck and thanks for your reviews.


December 15, 2010, 2:24 pm

Thanks Cliff. We will all miss your reviews!

But I hope the next reviewer is based in Exeter too - I can't imagine reading a camera review without pixel-peeping at that Exeter Cathedral window shot!!

Steve Ayres

December 15, 2010, 2:58 pm

Sometime since I’ve commented, but Cliffs TR’s retirement is enough to bring me out of retirement.

All the best!


December 15, 2010, 4:18 pm


Noooooooooooo! Please don't go!



and all the best for the future.


December 15, 2010, 5:11 pm

Hey Cliff, I'll miss you and your reviews. Best of luck to you!

Si P

December 15, 2010, 6:21 pm

Cliff, you'll be sadly missed. I loved reading your camera reviews and comparing the shots at the end. I bought 3 cameras (sorry Matthew Hunt above!) on the back of your reviews and am still using all 3. I really hope you'll be staying in the photographic world somewhere, and I look forward to reading your words of wisdom some time in the not too distant future. Good luck, and have a great Christmas and New Year. Si


December 15, 2010, 6:36 pm

@Cliff - thanks muchly for the reviews, best of luck for the future, and we'll hopefully see you on the bitstream!


December 15, 2010, 10:10 pm

@Cliff Bought my Sony NEX-5 on the strength of your review and have been very impressed. Sad to see you leave. Best of luck.


December 16, 2010, 1:31 am

Nikon just released a firmware update, Cliff stay onboard and write up about the changes... then just hang about!


December 16, 2010, 4:34 am

Cliff, you will definitely be missed. Your reviews have always struck the right tone and IMO represent the best attributes of TR. True to form, your final review was very helpful... I now know what to get me for Christmas ;) Thanks, and good luck wherever you go next!


December 16, 2010, 5:50 am

Like losing a family friend, but the very best of British to you in your new ventures.

Though Sidmouth Harbour has a lonelier feel now.

You depart on a high, this camera is a genuine point & shoot (it has a viewfinder)first I've seen for ages, I hope we will see more in the future.


December 16, 2010, 8:59 am

Thank you for your reviews. I had great fun reading them.

I wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

John Shewsbury

December 16, 2010, 8:59 am

Dear Cliff,

It seems that the news of your departure grabbed more attention then the review itself hahahaha.

Nonetheless, things can change in life and sometimes we do have to move on and try something new. Thank you for all your reviews and I knew it is normal that no matter what is your opinion and comments that you shared through all your reviews in Trusted Review, there will always be positive and negative feedback, not easy to please everyone but that is also part of life as journalist.

As a personal note, ever since I read your review about Panasonic FZ28 (and eventually I bought it and happy with it), Trusted Review (and your review in particular) become a must read for me if I were to buy another camera. Overall, I am pretty happy with all your reviews and comments.

All the best to you and your family, God bless you.

I will still visit Trusted Review and see how the person replacing you perform, hope the others wont bully him/her hahahaha....

As for the camera, I am now looking for a new camera (again) and now considering between Canon G12 and this Nikon P7000.

I don't and never bother about video features as I never use them anyway, but your comments on the performance of P7000 is quite a concern and I guess I somehow need to visit some shop to try the P7000 first, if I'm not happy with it, I guess G12 (or maybe G11 if still I can find it) will be my choice.

Merry Christmas 2010 and Happy New Year 2011 to Cliff Smith and all staff in Trusted Review, keep up the good work...


December 16, 2010, 1:56 pm

Cliff, you are a good man, it is definitely a tough job to be a reviewer.

I always thought that you are one of the best in the business, and good luck.

We hope to see you soon.


December 16, 2010, 5:39 pm

Cliff, I can't believe it's goodbye! Will miss your reviews-they have always been an excellent contrast to other web-sites. Don't know who to trust now...

Mitesh Kumbhat

December 16, 2010, 9:14 pm

Cliff, this is my first comment in TR. I have read all your reviews since last 3 years. I purchased Samsunng NV9 based on your review and really happy with the camera.

Good bye and best of luck!

John Z

December 17, 2010, 9:25 am

Hello, Cliff.

What do you think of the following suggestion :

Could you please stay just for one more review, the one concerning the Canon G12 ?

This camera is so much the Nikon P7000 direct contender,

that it would be highly logical that its review would be done by the same person.

in order to give us a completely coherent point of vue,

without any distorsion introduced by the fact that the reviewer is not the same.

Could you do just that one more thing for us ?

I wish you all the best.


Peter Hague

December 17, 2010, 6:49 pm

Ricoh R7,Fuji S9600 (one of your favorites) and Nikon D5000 all purchased based on your reviews. What am i going to do now?

All the best Cliff your style and comments will be sorely missed i wish you good fortune for the future.



December 20, 2010, 8:56 am

I seriously hope that TR's next digital camera reviewer takes identical shots of the toy cars, Exeter Cathedral, "the stone wall", Sidmouth seafront etc., so that readers can easily keep comparing ISO performance, barrel distortion, centre and corner sharpness etc. between past and future camera models.

It would be a shame if Cliff's sample images from over the years weren't comparable to the sample images of the person taking over (whoever that might be).

Good luck, Cliff!


December 29, 2010, 12:35 pm

Thanks for the reviews Cliff, they have helped me a lot over the years, especially with the wide angle and close up shots of the same subject so you can compare different cameras.

I won't say I agree with all your reviews, I have bought a couple of cameras that I didn't get on with, but I bought a P7000 a week ago and I absolutely love it. I am a casual photographer who doesn't venture into manual modes much, this camera works well in Auto, but also makes me want to explore all it can do. Finally I have a compact(ish) camera that can do everything I need as a travel pocketable camera that also acts a good partner to my Panasonic G2 with a 200-600mm lens so I now have 28-600mm covered with two cameras that aren't bulky.

My only gripes with it are the viewfinder which feels like something I had on my first cheap and nasty film camera (110 format?) 30 odd years ago, lack of a wrist strap, and Nikons funky NRW RAW format that only CS5 and Photoshop Elements 9 seem to work with, the latter I have just bought. Being able to shoot RAW on a compact is fantastic though, the results are so much better than the overly compressed JPEG from compacts I am used to.

Walter from MunichBavaria

January 7, 2011, 8:33 pm

Dear Mr.Smith,dear Cliff,being one of your more rare ( but faithful) German readers in London and Munich I would like to thank you for your objective and reliable reviews,which

I enjoyed very much for their precision as well as the indications of a sometimes eye-twinkling sense of humour hidden between the lines.Your recommendations led me to the purchase of 2 cameras(F70EXR and P90),which I did not regret.Outside and inside Exeter-Cathedral I took the well known snaps myself...So let me tell you I will miss you.Farewell and good luck to you!

comments powered by Disqus