Home / TVs & Audio / Headphones / Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr

Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr review

Andrew Williams

By

Reviewed:

1 of 7

Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr
  • Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr
  • Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr
  • Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr
  • Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr
  • Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr
  • Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr
  • Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr

Summary

Our Score:

5

Pros

  • Great youthful looks
  • Good accessory package
  • Sound better than the Solo range
  • Decent build quality

Cons

  • So-so comfort
  • Expensive
  • Unbalanced, adolescent bass

Key Features

  • 40mm dynamic drivers
  • Folding cups
  • Removable cable
  • Music sharing 3.5mm jack port
  • iOS remote
  • Manufacturer: Beats
  • Review Price: £219.99

What are the Beats By Dr. Dre Mixr Headphones?

The Beats by Dre. Mixr claim to be some of the “lightest, loudest headphones ever”. They’re ‘inspired’ by French beat fondler David Guetta and continue the Beats trend of being headphones that’ll look the part on the heads of young trendy people in ironic T-shirts.

They look great but, as with most Beats-range headphones, they’re for bass hunters only.

Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr 4

Beats By Dr. Dre Mixr - Design and Comfort

Beats by Dr. Dre headphones aren’t just about providing sound. They’re out to provide a look too – headphones as a status symbol have only really come to prominence in recent years.

On this front, the Beats By Dr. Dre Mixr headphones excel. While we don’t seriously believe David Guetta had much to do with their actual design, whoever was behind the Mixr look knows how to make headphones look good.

The crucial bit – the Mixr headphones do not stick out from your head much at all. This is the part that makes people in full-size headphones look so silly. Where other large-ish headphones can make you look like you’ve stumbled out of an Air Traffic Control tower, the Beats By Dr. Dre make you look like you’ve sauntered out of a music video (if you have the face and body to match, that is. You probably don’t).

However, there is a reason why other headphones use oversized headbands – it lets the earcups exert a fairly even pressure of your ears/head.

To try and mitigate, the Beats By Dr. Dre use earcups that pivot on multiple points, to help them fit your head better. Although they fit just fine, they’re not the most comfortable of the Beats headphones, noticeably less so than either the smaller Beats Solo HD or the larger, over-ears Beats Studio.

The Beats By Dr. Dre Mixr are mid-sized headphones. Their pads sit half on, half off your ears and are topped with convincing protein (i.e. fake) leather. Although the foam underneath is soft, it doesn’t entirely compensate for the stronger-than-average headband pressure. They put more strain on the area just above your ears, and take quite a while to ‘disappear’ on your head – the price to pay for style.

The headband is similarly concerned with looks. It’s very slim, with minimal padding, and uses high-friction squidgy rubber, rather than fabric or leather. This helps keep the Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr on your head when you’re moving about, but it’s not the most luxuriously comfy headband out there.

Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr 2

The cups fold 90 degrees forward, for one-eared DJ-style listening, or backwards right up into the headband for easy stashing. A semi-hard case is included too.

Their approach to cabling is unusual too. There are 3.5mm jack inputs on the bottom of each earcup, but you only need to connect the supplied cable to one – which is up to you. The other acts as an output, letting you connect, daisy chain-style, another pair of headphones to share your tunes with a friend.

Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr 1

Beats by Dr. Dre includes two cables with the Mixr headphones. One is a straight cable with a 3-button remote for iOS devices, the other a remote-less cable with a spiral section – this is the DJ’ing/at home cable, as the spiral bit stops damage should you accidentally pull on it. A 3.5mm to 6.3mm jack adapter is included too, letting you plug them into a source a little more serious than an iPod.

They may seem like a case of style over substance, but there’s a commendable array of practical concessions put into the Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr headphones.

Still, the look is far more likely to capture an audience than its supposed nods to music professionals. The Beats By Dr. Dre Mixr come in eight shades, including the gloriously shocking pink seen here. White and black versions are available, if you like your headphones low-key.

Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr 3

Beats By Dr. Dre Mixr – Sound Quality

The Beats range of headphones has a reputation, and among audio fans it’s not a good one. Beats headphones are a little bit obsessed with bass, and the Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr are no different.

Like most on-ear headphones, they use 40mm dynamic drivers, but it’s the tuning that provides the Beats ‘magic’.

The Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr’s main aim is to provide the sort of low-end thrills that you’d normally expect from a subwoofer. Hence the name – beats: electronic beats, kick drum beats and so on.

Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr

If you’re after meaty bass thuds, the Mixr headphones can provide them. But these headphones are tuned with the idiotic glee of a teenage boy put in charge of the hi-fi volume knob at his first house party.

There is some small degree of separation between bass and ‘the rest’ of the sound, to the extent that we think the Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr sound better than the hugely popular Solo and Solo HD headphones. Balanced they are not, though.

The bass artificially promotes lower-register instruments in a mix, proving that the Beats claim of relaying music “the way artists intended it to sound” is utter nonsense.

That said, these are certainly not bad-sounding headphones. There’s a good width to the sound, and the smooth, rich mids and treble are very easy on the ear. They are as critical as a new-age nursery school teacher, and the over-enthusiastic, occasionally resonant low end does cast a fog over the mid-range, but we can imagine many of the prospective Beats audience being satisfied with their purchase.

Should I Buy the Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr?

The Beats by Dr. Dre Mixr headphones are Beats headphones through-and-through. They look good, they offer pumping bass and have even more music names attached than your average pair of Beats headphones.

The downsides to the Beats formula include that their sound is far from balanced, not remotely ‘high-end’ in its signature, and the price seems slightly inflated when you stack the Mixr up against some of the less heavily-marketed competition.

However, it’s largely down to the sound tuning, which is a carefully contrived part of the Beat experience. Should £220 sound like this, though? We don't think so.

Verdict

The Beats By Dr. Dre Mixr headphones successfully continue the Beats legacy – they’re stylish and sure to attract thousands upon thousands of buyers. However, the ill-disciplined bass-heavy sound doesn’t match the £220 price to our ears.

Looking for the best pair of cans for your noggin? Then check out our Best Headphones round-up.

Overall Score

5

Scores In Detail

  • Design & Features 7
  • Sound Quality 6
  • Value 5

Al Sweeney

July 29, 2013, 9:07 pm

"tuned with the idiotic glee of a teenage boy put in charge of the hi-fi volume knob at his first house party" lol

rockstar

September 12, 2013, 9:50 am

Actually as a studio professional I can tell you that the beats are far better than other headphones in their price range, listening to things from led zeppelin, black sabbath to Dre and Girls Aloud to Chopin. Although I am only familiar with the sound of the Beats Studio your review sounds like a teenager with a bias against people who want to be stylish whilst appreciating quality sound.

Adam

December 23, 2013, 11:28 pm

I'm listening to the mixrs right now and I'm very open minded when it comes to headphones and I've listened and tested all sorts of headphones and I can honestly say your review is total BS and you have something against beats.. Yes they are a popular name and that's why they're a bit pricy but that doesn't mean the sound quality is going to be bad. Actually the sound quality is quite amazing and it really couldn't be any better.. And the bass isn't overwhelming at all, it's perfect. You should be a little bit more open minded about the actual sound than what you think everyone says about Beats.

Chris

January 8, 2014, 5:36 pm

Try some Sennheisers for maybe 1/3 the price. Your welcome

Anonymous

January 11, 2014, 1:24 pm

I admit that really love the shape and the sound of this headphone but what suck is that it's not comfortable, it hurt ur ears so freaken bad. U properly listening to 5 songs and it hurt your ears so bad. Wasted money

Lola Alfaro

October 11, 2014, 9:12 pm

I just picked up a pair of the Mixrs after spending about an hour listening to several different Sony, Bose, and Beats models at BestBuy. I almost went down the road to Guitar World to try some Audio Technicas, but in the end they are too big for my taste.

I chose the Mixrs compared to the aforementioned headphones, because they sounded really good compared to the others. I'm not an audiophile, but I do listen to music all day, so I was fairly critical.

I hear lots of detail in the headphones, and I think the bass is more well-balanced than the article's author feels.

Another reason I picked up the Mixrs is because their build quality was better, in my opinion than the Sony, Bose, and lower Beats models.

Not sure why all the hate towards the Beats, other than they're overpriced. And if you're buying them, that's all up to you anyway. So price aside, these headphones are a quality pair with good sound and style.

UPDATE:

After using the Mixrs for about two weeks, I ended up returning them. I really liked the sound quality and the looks, but in the end, they were just too uncomfortable for longer than an hour of use.

I have since purchased the Audio Technica M50xs and I have to admit, they win out in every area except for looks IMO. The sound quality is much better, and the bass is almost that of the Mixrs.

The Mixrs are really sleek, though, and I'll miss that, but In the end, comfort and sound quality won out, since I just couldn't wear the Mixrs for very long before I started moving them around or taking them off to give my ears a break.

Dana W

November 14, 2014, 9:12 am

If you look, the ones in the review are fake. :/

TJ Appenzeller

January 12, 2015, 4:59 pm

Well I have owned many sets of headphones in my life, I've had a couple pair of low end Sennheiser, V-Moda, Bowers and Wilkins, Audio Technicas, Logitech UEs, and some JBLs, my verdict is that these sound nice, they are tuned bass heavy, the bass is sloppy, etc etc, but the mids and highs are very crisp. They aren't the best sounding headphones that I've heard by far. My head is average size and I don't notice too much discomfort. I did pick up a set of Beats Studios (the older model) and they sounded like somebody put them through a toilet paper/paper towel tube. the Mixrs on the other hand did not. I've hated on Beats since they've come out but saw the set that I have for sell at $150 (USD) and I decided to pick them up because I figured that I would give them a chance. I closed my eyes and was very impressed, not by their sound quality, but because they sounded as good as they did. These arent Grado Labs GS levels, or Sennheiser HD levels. but they sounded way better than I thought that they would.

Bottom line

I wouldn't recommend them to a person looking for headphones that sound balanced. I wouldn't recommend them to somebody that needs a reasonably priced set of cans. But if you do have money to spend, go ahead. Buy them. you wont be disappointed. I'm just waiting for mine to break.

Cheers!

___________

Jüri Pranstibel

January 25, 2015, 6:12 pm

1st of all this review is most definitely biased.

These are really good headphones, one of the best i've ever tried, extremely durable and sound quality isn't half as bad as this reviewer wants to make it seem... mids and highs are really crisp... bass is kind of unbalanced and very loud but NOT BAD AT ALL... It's kind of interesting how beats got the bass so loud on these headphones with very little distortion... as a bonus, these headphones look great aswell.

I'd give them a rating of 8.5 /10 overall, or even 9/10, just because they're not the best sounding headphones I've tried, I actually like the aiaiai tma-1 studio designed by young guru the most, only downfall is the highs aren't so crisp on tma1 studio... But they're probably supposed to be like that. I've also used sennheiser hd25s... They're good-sounding headphones aswell but not so comfy... Almost every time I used them, my ears literally started to hurt so bad after a hour or two of djing I just had to take them off and rest my ears .. I'm happy the mixrs don't hurt my ears, though i've read many people are not so lucky with the mixrs aswell :)

Anyway, This trustedReviews review should not be trusted. Shame on you Andrew...

Dana W

February 9, 2015, 6:04 pm

The Review is of a pair of fake beats. The glossy top strap is a dead giveaway. The Mixers are the only ones that don't sound like crap. But reviewing cheap clones is hardly fair.

Disqustuff

March 19, 2015, 2:45 pm

The reviewed pair is fake. I own originals and on the photo there's no space between beats and mixr on the headband. The originals do have a space between the two words (obviously).

So the only thing that's actually relevant is the reviewer's opinion about the looks. Good job man :(

Jesse B

June 30, 2015, 3:05 am

It's really sad how biased everyone in the comment section is towards Beats. They're insanely overpriced and they absolutely do not deserve to be in the same price range as many other hi-fi headphones.

Jesse B

June 30, 2015, 3:09 am

Oh yeah, the M50s are definitely a good way to go, I have them sitting by me right now. I've since moved onto a nice pair of AKG cans but I'll always remember my trusty M50s <3

Jesse B

June 30, 2015, 3:14 am

This comment pisses me off purely because it's left me speechless with it's ignorance. *Stills struggles to come up with a snappy reply*

iinfynite

July 23, 2015, 3:59 pm

This person is full of shit. Anybody involved in the industry would tell you beats are garbage. Take a look at a Freq Response graph for them.....Rockstar is either the dumbest in the industry or is so full of shit his eyes are brown. Don't be fooled by liars. Beats are TRASH.

Aaron Russell

August 10, 2015, 1:26 pm

Old review I'm aware but there's a few things Id like to say:

1) Everyone seems to overlook the fact that these are actually intended for DJs.
That being said, having exaggerated bass frequencies are precisely what you want when trying to beat matching. The kick punches threw and so you can match the tempos in a noisy club.

2) Yes they can get uncomfortable after listening for a while but again, intended for Djin, and not for extended listening. The high clamping force helps isolate the headphones from outside sound, again helping out the DJ.

I own this head phones, I am not a fan boy of beats, but theses phones are great for DJin.

DjFREQ

September 7, 2015, 6:49 pm

You may be right. There are a couple of other telltale signs of fraudulent headphones (there are a couple of good videos out there comparing the two) and looking at the pictures, these fit all of those earmarks of being replicas.

DjFREQ

September 7, 2015, 6:53 pm

Alright, so explain to us exactly what about the frequency response of the Mixrs is so bad, specifically. I've seen freq response charts for solos, which are awful. I have yet to see any such charts for Mixrs. If you can provide said chart, and explain your gripe with it, this argument will be valid.

comments powered by Disqus