Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

Anyway, rant over, let's get back to the review. In all other respects, the D90's performance is excellent. It starts up almost instantly (approximately 0.15 seconds), focuses quickly and reliably in almost all lighting conditions, has negligible shutter lag (approx. 0.65ms), and has a good fast shooting speed. It can shoot at an impressive 4.5fps in all modes, including Raw+JPEG Fine mode, although I did find that with some SDHC memory cards the shooting speed was a little erratic.

In terms of image quality the results were generally very good. The level of overall detail is very close to matching the performance of the D300, although that camera's 14bit A/D conversion gives it the edge in colour depth, contrast and general sharpness. I also found that the exposure meter produced slightly varied results in low light, with repeated exposures under similar lighting conditions varying by around half a stop either way.

Image noise generally well controlled, and low-ISO images are clean and sharp, but it is a problem on longer exposures, with shots over 1/10th of a second at 200 ISO showing some image noise and uneven colour reproduction. 200 ISO is the D90's lowest normal sensitivity setting, and 3200 ISO the highest, although it can shoot as low as100 ISO and as high as 6400 in extended ISO mode. However results at the higher end of the scale are not good, at least in JPEG mode, with copious amounts of noise including some hot pixels. However hand-processing the shots in Raw mode produced noticeably better results, especially at the middle ISO settings.


The Nikon D90 is a logical progression from the D80, and covers the middle ground between the consumer models like the D40X and the new D60, and the professional models like the D300 and the D700. It has the creative versatility, performance and quality to appeal to semi-professionals and advanced hobbyists, while the scene modes, live view and the video mode will appeal to gadget lovers and the more casual user who wants a good all-rounder.

Previous page
Next page


November 29, 2008, 4:07 am

aw...Cliff seems a lil camera shy...(lol! at the irony in that). Congrats if that was your video debut and great review as well.

PK Son

November 29, 2008, 3:09 pm

Too bad I have a D300, (and a D70) but this camera would've been great!! Nikon!! woohoo!!

Thanks for the review!


November 29, 2008, 4:49 pm

Nice camera, but ISO performance shots surprised me. Here, at TR, you can see a hint of noise at ISO200 and it gets worse at higher settings. DPreview shots are clear up to ISO800 and even ISO1600 looks good. Why so much difference? Faulty camera?


November 29, 2008, 5:43 pm

I was also surprised by the amount of noise.A compact like the LX3 isn't all that far behind this midrange DSLR in that respect...Unless this was really a defective camera.(absolutely NOT comparing other aspects to a compact; however, the noise was really astonishing for a DSLR)

Horace Coker

November 30, 2008, 12:47 am

I think the noise problem may be due to the fact that all the shots of the model cars look slightly underexposed to my eyes.(Compared to the LX3 images.) Would noise be more likely to be visible on an underexposed image?

dave doubledecks

November 30, 2008, 4:36 pm

I didn't realise the camera doesn't AF in video mode. A huge shame but I guess the 5DII is the same??

In 12 months time all mid-range dSLRs will have video I reckon.

Geoff Richards

November 30, 2008, 6:11 pm

Yeah, no auto-focus in video mode is a real killer for me. Who is seriously going to adjust their focus manually when filming the dog running around etc? :(

Ulf Bjarke

December 3, 2008, 10:41 pm

Very surprising that the D90 got a 9 points for image quality point while the D300 got 10 points. The noise is the same. I own the D90 and I would recommend you not to trust this review regarding image quality.


December 17, 2008, 1:54 am

I agree with all above about ISO. I have a compact Canon A590IS and the noise level will be better than Nikon D90? Impossible. Return to google and seek other reviews and make your conclusion. IMO D90 is wonderful, will be my next purchase.

prem 2007a

December 19, 2008, 7:23 am


I'm not able to watch any review videos in TR.

Installed Items

Win Xp -SP3

Mozilla Firefox 3.0.5

Flash player

Shockwave player

windows media player & other plugins for firefox.

Java (enabled)

Do I need to install anything 'special' to view TR videos ???????

Plz help !!!!

James Morris

December 23, 2008, 11:28 pm

@prem_2007a: Nope, you should be able to watch the videos. Have you tried using IE? What exactly is the error message you are getting?

prem 2007a

December 26, 2008, 8:07 am

Dear james,

Thanks.Actually I'mn't getting any error msg.The portion where the video is epected to dispaly is viwed a completely blank.Its just like a plain white.I thnik the video player is some how not loading.Don't knw what really is the issue.

I have tried IE & Opera.Still same results.

Any idea james ???


March 20, 2009, 5:44 pm

Iso PICS, page 6 are not real, believe me. Mistake or not, please, put on the real pics.

Image quality in high ISO is so GOOOOD in the D90...


March 20, 2009, 6:06 pm

OK, AlfSmith. Been smoking too much of something you shouldn't?


April 27, 2009, 2:29 pm

Does anyone know if Nikon do a camera with VR built into the body, rather than the lens? I believe one of the Sony Alpha's does, but I'm kinda wanting to stick with a Nikon as I have all the lens' for them.

Ivan Harris

May 22, 2009, 12:43 pm

I love the D-90 but when I do a video and play it in Windows Media Player the sound stops and the video continues for a period of time. In the camera and using Quiktime the video and audio stop together but without the additional video I see with Media Player. Specific: if a file runs for 52 seconds with audio and video in the camera and Quiktime, it will run longer in media player but without audio. No matter how long the file there is still some video without audio. I tried to talk to Nikon tech support but they are incompetent or worse. I want the video that is recorded but I would like to have audio with it. Any thoughts? One other thing, in Media Player, when the cursor reaches the right side of the screen is when the audio stops and the video continues.



May 28, 2009, 12:21 am

D90 Great CAMERA - Bought Mine Sat 23 May - Manual was missing 17 pages and had duplicate pages instead NIKON WILL NOT PAY for you to send it to them for exchange - they're in Dublin so it costs you £3 from UK mainland at cheapest printed rate airmail - a small amount you may think - but their QC that caused it!! One trusts the camera QC is better!!

Peter Dunkley

June 4, 2009, 2:50 am

OK guys, I need a simple answer . . . I'm looking at buying a DSLR and night after night I try and find what will be best and its got to the point I'm exhausted, so I need help, my situation is this;

I'm a designer (were not all bad), I have some photography experience more with traditional SLR, I would like to take images for product shots, through to background images, sizes ranging from hi-res magazine articles through to large 2m banners, you can see its a pretty wide scope . . . would the D90 be my best option in the sub £900 price bracket.

I was concerned about the image ISO samples shown here !

PLEASE HELP as I would like to purchase this weekend. Anyone have a recommendation as to suppliers I can go to I live near Warrington.


June 12, 2009, 2:49 pm

Can any of you guy’s with a D90 do me a favour.

If any of you have a PS3, can you try plugging your D90 into it, and see if you can copy the photos/video onto your PS3 (or anybody else’s for that matter!).

I was able to do it with my D40 with no problems, and it was fantastic! The PS3 keeps the image quality really high and makes viewing the photos a breeze. But for some reason when I put in my D90, it just tells me it detects an unknown USB device and doesn’t let me connect.

It’s a shame as I liked turning my TV into the mother of all photo frames!

I have only had my D90 for 3 days so its too early for me to comment on it, but my first impressions…………………Oh yeah baby…………


December 6, 2009, 6:43 pm

i have had D90 for over 8 months. I struggle to get the right red saturation from this camera. It also has an exposure problem. Overall i do not rate this as a good buy for a keen amateur. A camera costing this much should deliver good quality photographs using green mode and factory settings.


January 7, 2010, 6:35 pm

Abraham, I think you're missing the point with this camera.. if you want it to do everything for you maybe you need a more entry level consumer camera?

David 38

January 9, 2010, 11:56 pm

i would love to have this camera, and have used one on loan from a friend, its a wonderful camera, but then what o i know, i have D3000.


January 13, 2010, 4:37 am

Bought the D90 by accident really. Wife was expecting and we'd decided to get a dslr. Previous experience pushed me towards Nikon and the D60 in particular. Unfortunately they were like hens teeth (may 09), didn't want the D40 & Jessops were prepared to put together a fantastic deal on the 90 (not surprised the company is in 'financial difficulties' with the price I managed to screw them down to!). Anyway we've since shot several thousand frames with discards only coming from poor framing. The camera produces outstanding results everytime, whether fully auto or manual programs. It's just the idiot behind it that messes up.

Can't recommend the D90 enough. I'd give it 11/10

Mike B

March 24, 2010, 12:35 pm

I agree those ISO shots are not realistic of what the camera produces. I suspect either a user error or possible a faulty camera.

Any mass produced item can suffer from a rouge unit and I suspect all those who have issues should have taken their camera back for exchange.

Ashok Tandukar

January 30, 2014, 10:28 am

give how to save d90 camara.

comments powered by Disqus