large image

Trusted Reviews is supported by its audience. If you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

Xbox One release date delayed ’til 2014 in eight countries, UK still on track

Microsoft has announced the Xbox One will only launch in 13 countries during its November 2013 roll-out, down from the original plan to arrive in 21 markets before the end of the year.

Gamers in eight European countries will now have to wait until 2014 before they’re able to buy the next-gen console.

The UK and Ireland is safe from the cull, but gamers in Russia, the Netherlands, Norway, Belgium, Sweden, Finland and Switzerland will miss out for a few month months.

In a post on the Xbox Wire blog, Microsoft has apologised to gamers in those countries citing the ongoing work to ‘localise’ the Xbox One dashboard, secure content deals and add additional languages.

The post read: “While we wish we could launch Xbox One simultaneously in these markets, there are many factors that determine the timing of specific market launches. This includes work to localize the Xbox One dash, incorporate additional voice and languages, and build partnerships to bring apps and meaningful local content to each country.”

The company has promised to launch ‘as soon as possible’ in those countries next year and by way of an apology will furnish all pre-order customers a free game with their ‘Day One’ systems when that time comes.

The 13 remaining launch markets; the US, UK, Canada, Australia, Austria, Brazil, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Spain and New Zealand will still get the console in November.

Exactly when in November is another matter altogether, with Microsoft yet to confirm a concrete release date. That is expected to happen during the company’s appearance at the Gamescom conference in Cologne, Germany, scheduled for August 20.

Why trust our journalism?

Founded in 2004, Trusted Reviews exists to give our readers thorough, unbiased and independent advice on what to buy.

Today, we have millions of users a month from around the world, and assess more than 1,000 products a year.

author icon

Editorial independence

Editorial independence means being able to give an unbiased verdict about a product or company, with the avoidance of conflicts of interest. To ensure this is possible, every member of the editorial staff follows a clear code of conduct.

author icon

Professional conduct

We also expect our journalists to follow clear ethical standards in their work. Our staff members must strive for honesty and accuracy in everything they do. We follow the IPSO Editors’ code of practice to underpin these standards.