Trusted Reviews is supported by its audience. If you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

Assassin’s Creed Chronicles announced for April 22 release

Ubisoft has announced Assassin’s Creed Chronicles, with the release starting on April 22.
Assassin’s Creed Chronicles is a trilogy that will take players to China, India and Russia respectively.
The series will feature three new cult assassins, one of which is female thank goodness.
The first episode, Assassin’s Creed Chronicles: China, will be available from April 22 on PS4, PC and Xbox One.
The Chronicles trilogy the first in the Assassin’s Creed series to be a 2.5D side-scroller, developed by Climax Studios in collaboration with Ubisoft Montreal.
Each entry in the trilogy will have its own art style, story, setting and Assassin, but the idea is that all three weave together in terms of narrative.
Related: Assassin’s Creed Unity Tips and Tricks

Chronicles will explore different time periods and civilisations, including the start of the Ming dynasty downfall in China, seeing the Sikh Empire prepare for war in India and the aftermath of the Red October revolution in Russia.
As for the assassins, you’re looking at Shao Jun from the animated short Assassin’s Creed Embers, and Arbaaz Mir and Nikoai Orelov from the Assassin’s Creed graphic novels.
Although China will land on April 22, we haven’t heard when the Russia or India chapters of the Chronicles trilogy will land as yet.
You can pre-order Assassin’s Creed Chronicles: China from tomorrow, April 1.

Why trust our journalism?

Founded in 2003, Trusted Reviews exists to give our readers thorough, unbiased and independent advice on what to buy.

Today, we have millions of users a month from around the world, and assess more than 1,000 products a year.

author icon

Editorial independence

Editorial independence means being able to give an unbiased verdict about a product or company, with the avoidance of conflicts of interest. To ensure this is possible, every member of the editorial staff follows a clear code of conduct.

author icon

Professional conduct

We also expect our journalists to follow clear ethical standards in their work. Our staff members must strive for honesty and accuracy in everything they do. We follow the IPSO Editors’ code of practice to underpin these standards.