large image

Trusted Reviews is supported by its audience. If you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

Amplitude is coming to PS4 in January 2016

A release date has finally been announced for Harmonix’s Amplitude, which is coming to PS4 on January 5, 2016.

After multiple delays and unusual hiccups, a release date is now confirmed for rhythm game Amplitude.

The reboot of the PS2 cult classic is being developed by Harmonix, the creator of the Rock Band franchise.

Amplitude will be available from January 5, 2016 for $20 on the Playstation Store, a UK price is yet to be announced.

Sony announced on Playstation Blog today that those who backed the Kickstarter at $40 will have access to the game early.

These lucky players can download the game from December 23 on PS4. A PS3 version of Amplitude is also in development, although no release date has been confirmed.

Related: PS4 vs Xbox One

Amplitude was originally going to launch in March 2015, but was delayed several times to amplify (sorry) the game’s scope and add more content.

The delay has allowed Harmonix to add new game modes, two new environments and online leaderboards to the game.

Amplitude will ship with a number of game modes including campaign, solo freeplay and teamplay mode.

The original soundtrack will consist of 30 songs, instead of the originally planned 16.

You can check out the full list below:

  • “All The Time” — C418
  • “Assault on Psychofortress” — Single White Infidel
  • “Astrosight” — Inter:sect Ft. Noelle LeBlanc & Naoko Takamoto
  • “Break for Me” — James Landino Ft. Noelle LeBlanc
  • “Concept”— Symbion Project
  • “Crazy Ride” — Insomniac Games
  • “Crypteque (1-2)” — Danny Baranowsky
  • “Crystal” — George & Jonathan
  • “Dalatecht” — Harmonix
  • “Decode Me” — Inter:sect Ft. Noelle LeBlanc & Naoko Takamoto
  • “Digital Paralysis” — Harmonix
  • “Do Not Retreat” — Komputer Kontroller
  • “Dreamer” — Harmonix
  • “Energize” — Harmonix
  • “Entomophobia” — M-Cue
  • “Force Quit” — Jim Guthrie
  • “Human Love” — Harmonix
  • “I.C.U.” — Harmonix
  • “Impossible” — Darren Korb
  • “Lights” — Wolfgun
  • “Magpie” — Harmonix
  • “Muze (Amplitude Remix)” — Ingrid Lukas, Remix by Patrik Zosso and Nik Bärtsch
  • “Perfect Brain” — Harmonix
  • “Phantoms” — Freezepop
  • “Recession” — Jeff Allen Ft. Noelle LeBlanc & Naoko Takamoto
  • “Red Giant” — Kodomo
  • “Supraspatial” — Jeff Allen Ft. Naoko Takamoto
  • “Synthesized” — Symbion Project
  • “Unfinished Business” — Shiohito Taki & Junichi Kamiunten
  • “Wayfarer” — Harmonix
  • “Wetware” — Harmonix

Amplitude will be playable at Playstation Experience this coming weekend; so will 112 other titles.

Why trust our journalism?

Founded in 2004, Trusted Reviews exists to give our readers thorough, unbiased and independent advice on what to buy.

Today, we have millions of users a month from around the world, and assess more than 1,000 products a year.

author icon

Editorial independence

Editorial independence means being able to give an unbiased verdict about a product or company, with the avoidance of conflicts of interest. To ensure this is possible, every member of the editorial staff follows a clear code of conduct.

author icon

Professional conduct

We also expect our journalists to follow clear ethical standards in their work. Our staff members must strive for honesty and accuracy in everything they do. We follow the IPSO Editors’ code of practice to underpin these standards.