Teufel AC 9050 PH Headphones - Teufel AC 9050 PH

By Edward Chester



Our Score:


Taken as a whole, though, and more importantly from a sound quality perspective, these 'phones do impress. What immediately hits you is how Teufel has managed to create an incredibly powerful bass response without compromising any clarity at the top range. Bass lines genuinely rumble, timpani thunders, and kick drums really kick. From Metallica to Pantera, Evil Nine to Fat Boy Slim, and Messhugah to Lamb Of God, these headphones simply love pounding out loud and heavy metal and thumping dance music. Indeed, I'd say these are the best headphones for Dance and Metal I've heard for under £100.

Even taking into account the aforementioned lack of spaciousness they also cope well with dynamic orchestral work. A great example of this ability is highlighted when listening to Mussorgsky's Pictures At An Exhibition, where deathly quiet passages of light string work rapidly turn to full and hearty brass and percussion sections. The AC 9050 PH's don't miss a beat providing all the subtlety and finesse required of the former and all the gusto of the latter.

Where these phones do have a weakness is in a slightly under developed mid-range. Guitars and vocals in particular don't leap from the phones with any great verve, instead they sit back in the mix. This is demonstrated both in the solo acoustic guitar and vocal work of Jose Gonzalez just as much as it is with mainstream guitar driven rock of Foo Fighters or Guns and roses. They're still great to listen to but if you're trying to work out how to play your favourite riffs, you'll struggle to pick everything out with these phones.

For the same reason, despite initially loving the sound of these phones, I found myself continually turning to my Grado SR80s when watching video on my laptop at home. The brilliant mid-range of the Grados really brings out vocals, making it much easier to keep track of the all-important dialogue.


In the AC 9050 PHs, Teufel has created one of our favourite set of everyday headphones. There are better choices for at-home listening where open-back headphones come into play but, for closed-back phones, these reproduce most genres of music to a satisfactory level and excel at some. They're also comfortable, block out a decent amount of noise, and have some neat design touches. Most significantly, though, they're available for a quite incredible price.

Overall Score


Scores In Detail

  • Value 9
  • Sound Quality 7


March 27, 2009, 7:04 am

"...these reproduce most genres of music to a satisfactory level and excel at some..."

never understood what this means, always thought that audio equipment excels at all "genres" or none.


March 27, 2009, 1:00 pm

Yes and no. Go and listen to your favourtie tracks on a multitude of different Hi-Fi setups and headphones and you'll find that different ones seem to be better at others when it comes to certain types of music. Sure, most conventional Hi-Fi systems, of a certain quality, will cope with pretty much anything you throw at them but when you're talking about 2.1 systems, surround systems, or headphones, where the physical limitations of the design present certain problems, there's almost always a 'black spot' in the device's audio reproduction.


March 27, 2009, 7:03 pm

I understand what you wanted to say in your review and i'd write the same even though i really don't believe that "hi-fi" systems can reproduce in a different way various genres. Audio-Video machines must just be neutral and precise, they are just reproducing, not producing. I just like only professional audio and video equipment. They have much better design too.

Rory Ginger

March 31, 2009, 6:13 am

Absolutely not true, as an avid listener of higher end hi-fi I am aware (as are many others)that each piece of equipment slightly alters the end sound.

This is a result of bias in frequencies which may then effect the music playing dramatically.

Each genre uses different quantities of certain frequency bands, and has different percussive attack.

Doesn't this suggest a little bit to you that not all music or equipment is the same, therefore the variations are far more than "just sound" or "good sound"? seems a bit black and white to me.


April 1, 2009, 9:23 am

Every genre has its own mix of frequencies (not always). Let's take one frequency, one genre has 5% of this and an other genre has 95%. Let's take an audio machine that can't reproduce this frequency in "high fidelity". It will sound bad in both genres, more or less, doesn't matter much, i will be disturbed, don't know about you.

Conclusion=perfect or lame=cruel reality. Thank God there is human imagination or we would be dead.

Rory Ginger

April 1, 2009, 1:34 pm

This is getting into the realms of trolling.

Funny but last I recall all sound reproduction is scientifically analogue. I don't care how many times any company claims to be digital in any respect.

Clearly I should sell my M-audio/Arcam Bi-Amp/Tannoy setup for my pc and get a nice logitech system using onboard sound, because both sound "good", neither can possibly sound better. That way I can profit some and I'll never even notice the difference. So glad its clarified now.

"Thank God there is human imagination or we would be dead."

(Don't get me wrong, in some cases audiophile stuff doesnt always hold true for example spending loads extra on cabling has always bugged me I have 𧶀 cables and ٣ ones I've never been fussed, but some things are easy to illustrate ie. Grado vs Sennheisser neither is better, they are drastically different. Try that one out before replying, if you don't notice a difference its not down to imagination, you'd have to be deaf.)


April 1, 2009, 8:58 pm

What i said is that any given audio machine has equally "good" or "bad" performance in every "genre". It ads its own "color" everywhere. It's been some time since i left kindergarten, to believe in fairy tales. I have some AV stuff (not hi-end, i am not rich) and i have "seen" too much other equipment that was very mediocre (that was a humble comment) and their owners were very proud for they spent much money for them. Never noticed any difference in various "genres".

I think Van Morisson says some words...

"There's just too many myths

Can't you see I'm just trying to stay in the game

Just too many myths

I'm just trying to maintain"

I just pretend i am enjoying music or i will be dead.

Rory Ginger

April 2, 2009, 6:46 am

Epic ROFL.

You're a funny guy.

You made my day and I hope the trusted reviews team enjoyed it as much as I did.


April 2, 2009, 8:09 am

Thank you sir for choosing us. I hope you enjoyed it.

By the way, i have the Logitech Z5500 and a Soundblaster card. My brother (not me) says the whole system in games and music sounds...sounds...i can't say it... I say just decent for PC.

Read some user reviews online. One names something a top product and another a complete crap. You are very sure of things you have no idea about. The typical sedated "user".


May 22, 2009, 2:29 pm

I never realised this conversation went on for so long. I've just had reason to revisit this review and seen your continued ridiculous statements, stranded. You're seriously trying to engage in an argument over sound quality when your reference system is a sound blaster card and some Logitech surround sound speakers - not very 'professional'.

comments powered by Disqus