Home » TVs & Audio » Blu-ray Player » Sony BDP-S570 » Performance and Verdict

Sony BDP-S570 - Performance and Verdict

By Danny Phillips


  • Recommended by TR
Sony BDP-S570


Our Score


User Score

Review Price £179.99

Not only is the BDP-S570 a smooth operator, but it also delivers outstanding picture quality. The deck’s video circuitry takes every last pixel of Terminator Salvation’s 1080p transfer from the disc and delivers them to the screen over HDMI in the purest, cleanest way possible.

The result is meticulous detail reproduction, best demonstrated by the movie’s sparse, desolate landscapes – as Marcus evades a T-600 in chapter 4, the razor sharp presentation of battered buildings and rubble really brings the scene to life. As it cuts to the T-600, you can make out all of its grisly mechanical detail. None of the image subtleties escape the Sony’s grasp.

This, combined with the punchy blacks and excellent shadow detail, gives the image the sort of depth and cinematic lustre we long for. The colour palette is strong yet natural, rendering Bryce Dallas Howard’s pale skin as convincingly as Christian Bale’s darker, dirt-smudged face.

It’s also a dab hand with motion, keeping judder at bay on camera pans, and it passes all the key tests on the Silicon Optix HQV Blu-ray disc. DVDs also look superb when upscaled to 1080p, making this a fantastic choice if you have a large collection of SD discs that you don’t want to replace.

Testing out the S570 gave us the chance to dust off some of our old SACDs, and the BDP-S570 does an excellent job with them. The bubbly rock of The Police's Greatest Hits sounds warm, dynamic and most importantly detailed, with clear vocal reproduction and a healthy amount of bass.


Sony took a while to get its act together, but it’s finally making some of the best Blu-ray decks in the business, and the BDP-S570 is one of them. Actually, calling the BDP-S570 a Blu-ray deck is like calling the iPhone a mobile – it does so much more than play discs, with a range of smooth networking features and wide multimedia support. Yes it’s expensive, but the astonishing feature list, spellbinding performance and top-drawer operating system could make it the best £200 you’ll ever spend.

Scores In Detail


Our Score


User Score

Previous page

Don Kanonjii

July 16, 2010, 1:55 pm

Is it better than the Panasonic DMP-BD60?


July 16, 2010, 2:24 pm

Sorry to say but ths blu-ray player is totaly waste of time if you want to use 3d why? as it has only 1 hdmi output.

you need players wiht 2 hdmi outputs the reason for this is if your amp does not support 1.4 hdmi then you need a new amp this costing you more. players with 2 hdmi ouputs can send the sound out of 1 to the amp using 1.3 and then you can use the 2nd hdmi to the tv which would be 1.4.

but if your not bothered about 3d then its ok


July 16, 2010, 2:35 pm

@Meridius - yes but the crucial phrase there is "if your amp does not support 1.4 hdmi" - most people who are getting on board with 3D at this relatively early stage are early adopters who want the best. They are also likely to be looking at Sky+ 3D and other 3D sources, so they are likely to have spent or be willing to spend money on a receiver which will pass through HDMI 1.4 signals, in which case the 3D video and multichannel audio can be taken from the player over a single HDMI cable.


July 16, 2010, 2:38 pm

@Meridius - If I wanted audio sent to my Amp I would use the optical or coaxial output, so it's not wasted on 3D.


July 16, 2010, 3:47 pm

Play.com have one of these s570 units for more than your stated price and they claim the WiFi is not integrated. They advise you need a Sony USB dongle. Are there multiple SKUs or just shenanigans?


July 16, 2010, 4:59 pm

@den sorry to say that will not work for hd audios, why have a blu-ray player and movies to watch a fantastic picture but to listen to poor lower bitrate sound.

optical is old now you need hdmi to get the best from your audio

i have the yamaha 3900 which coast me £1300 and i had a A2 before that whihc lasted me 10 years and i hope my 3900 lasts that long which it should. but how much and how difficult would it be to just add another hdmi out to a player.

for players with 1 hdmi and want 3d you would

1 buy the player £200

2 buy a new amp £1400

2 buy a new tv £1000

total £2600

now if thay add 2 hdmis to a player

1 buy the player £200

2 buy a new tv £1000

total £1200

do you see what i am getting at it would coast me £1400 more becasue they could not add another hdmi out and you need this to get Hd audios from blu-rays.

i think all blu rya 3d machines should come with 2 hdmi out as there are alot of people not going to upgrade there £300 to £2000 amps just to support 1.4 hdmi.

i upgraded y amp only for the new hd audios but buying a £1400 1.3 hdmi amp and then upgrading to a £1400 1.4 hdmi amp and just getting the next version of hdmi and no better sound why would you do that.

this will put alot of people of 3d even if i wanted it and bought a new tv and player theres no way iwould buy a new amp on top of that.

i think sony missed the ball on this one and if i do go the 3d route i will have to buy a 2 hdmi output player or dont lookat 3d for another 10 years as i am not upgrading my amp


July 16, 2010, 7:13 pm


If so, that's a shame. One of the draws here is built in Wi-Fi. With its ubiquitousness, dongles really are an inelegant solution, particularly for manufacturers boasting about svelte design. (Goes without saying that it's a bit of a racket too. How difficult or expensive can it be to build the antenna in?)


July 16, 2010, 8:16 pm

This product is junk. I found it had a number of issues. 1) Not very good range on the wireless. 2) Very slow at loading CDs sometimes it did not even see a CD. 3) Average CD sound quality. SACD sound might have been ok I did not test it but CD was definitely below par. Compared it to a Denon SACD/DVD-Audio/DVD player and the Denon was far superior in audio quality. Granted if you have the right receiver the analog audio quality of this unit should not matter. Also all blu-ray players are identical when outputting 24Hz 1080p.

Matt G Baish

July 16, 2010, 8:20 pm


HDMI 1.4 is likely to be yesterdays news soon anyway so I wouldn;t lose any slepp about it! ;^)

<a href="http://www.thinq.co.uk/2010/7/...


July 16, 2010, 10:11 pm

@Matt - Off-topic, but I wish TR's comments section did support (some) html tags. Maybe with the new re-design?


July 17, 2010, 3:42 pm

Well, regarding the wireless, it appears the link provided by TR send to a site with the product cheaper, multi-region for BD and includes WiFi. I'll get a few other reviews under my belt but I think I'm sold. If i'm lucky this can replace my WDTVLIVE and BDP-S360 in one fell swoop. Regarding 3D, i'm only interested in this for gaming and i'm not interested in it in any current gen consoles(just not enough grunt) so i guess i can sit and wait for the displays to mature before hopping on this slow moving bandwagon.

PS4.XBOX1080 or whatever...


July 19, 2010, 5:21 pm

While I'm sure this is probably a very good BluRay player, I have my doubts with this review. Was the DLNA feature really tested by the reviewer?

The feature was added by firmare in July, and from what I read in forums doesn't work particularly well for HD content (stuttering, mkv's do not work properly). Correct me if I'm wrong, but this alone makes it deserve a lower score, and this device definitely won't replace a WD-TV Live.

If any Sony BDP-S owner has DLNA working properly with HD content I will eat my words, but as it stands this player is primarily for BluRays only... be aware!

Jonathan Hackford

October 14, 2010, 5:05 pm

I've just bought this player from Amazon for £176 (inc next day delivery) and I have to say it is very good, on a par with my PS3 for Blu-Ray. I'm only using 720p output to my Sony HD ready TV at the moment but am looking to go full HD soon, so looking forward to seeing it in 1080p action.

The Bravia Internet Video streaming works really well if you have a good internet connection.

I think the TR review is fair and justified, however, one minor criticism is that when playing Blu-Ray dics the drive is not silent in operation and you can hear it spinning during quiet scenes.

Overall though I am happy with it and would highly recommend it.

Brian Farrell

January 3, 2011, 8:59 pm

The problem with my excellent Panasonic BD60 blu ray is that it does not allow the picture aspect to be tweaked, so having to put up with letterbox view on e.g. 2.35:1 ratio. Anyone know if this Sony player allows the viewing aspect to be changed to fill the screen ???

comments powered by Disqus