Home » Cameras » Camera » Samsung WB600 » Test shots: Zoom, Contrast and Colour

Samsung WB600 - Test shots: Zoom, Contrast and Colour

By Gavin Stoker


Our Score


User Score

Review Price £109.00

Here are some general test shots taken with the WB600 to give an idea of performance ability when it comes to image quality, dynamic range, colour rendition and the focal range of the respective optics.


Here's a tricky exposure for any camera at any level - a dark foreground and a bright, largely featureless sky as the background. Incredibly the WB6000 has managed to maintain detail in both, providing an image which is pretty much a match for how the eye saw it at the time.


It's not all good news however. White balance is rarely but here slightly off kilter, producing a decidedly cool looking image that would greatly benefit from an application of Auto Levels in Photoshop and adjustment for brightness contrast to give depth to the rather flat image.


Here's a slightly wider framed image taken from exactly the same vantage point that reveals a closer result to how the colours in the scene should look, with much deeper (and warmer) browns.


Generally the WB600's colour balance errs on the side of natural, as this swimming duck shot, taken again at maximum telephoto and in the golden light of late-ish afternoon, reveals.


Scores In Detail

Image Quality

Our Score


User Score

Previous page


February 1, 2011, 5:18 pm


Can you tell us if you will be altering the ISO tests in the future? I recommend a subject that has an area of fine detail as well as the smooth area so we can see the effect of increased ISO usage on both parts. How the camera applies its noise reduction on fine detail is of interest.

Also could you include a full frame of the last ISO shot so that we can see the effect of the ISO increase on the full image? Sometimes, noise can resemble film grain which is normally pleasing but you can't see at 100%.



February 1, 2011, 5:34 pm

What's the flash / indoor performance like then? If low light performance is poor is the flash capable of doing anything to compensate?

This is something I miss in general in TR reviews of point and shoot cameras. There's a good chance a camera like this will be used indoors for family snaps and the like - how does it do at that?

Hans Gruber

February 1, 2011, 7:26 pm

Please can you retain a separate rating for image quality. Performance to me means general ease and responsiveness of use and may include such aspects as autofocus reliability, continuous shooting speed etc.

Image quality would cover ISO 'performance' and noise reduction (as indicated by Joose) as well as resolution/acutance, distortion, vignetting, chromatic aberration etc. I think it's a pretty important factor in determining whether a camera performs well or not to have its own separate score. A camera might be blazingly fast at taking poor quality pictures but what good would that be?


February 2, 2011, 4:26 am


For 100pd and produces such excellent images shown here I would wholeheartedly recommend this model without hesitation. BTW I bought one unit for my son, I like it very much obviously it has its deficiencies. Overall I would buy it again and fully recommend it to anyone as a travel camera or general purpose photography.

An excellent P&S camera at such a low price.


February 2, 2011, 9:31 pm

As an owner of this camera I would like to point out to any potential buyers there is a menu option to keep the microphone on while zooming in video mode - it is the first setting I altered! Since TR saw this as one of the main negatives, hopefully this will help make up some people's minds. Obviously you can hear it zooming, but it's not that intrusive and certainly not as annoying as the sound cutting out.

Also a fairly minor point although one end of the charging cable is USB the end that plugs in to the camera is proprietary so if you are travelling you may be able to share the plug with your mobile phone/other gadgets but you will need to take the cable.

One more thing, if you look around the web you will see the GPS feature of the WB650 is idiosyncratic to say the least so unless you are desperate for the AMOLED screen you should save yourself the money and get this one.


February 3, 2011, 2:44 pm

Forgot to mention the hideous chrome effect around the outside of the shell - it's like a 1950's car.

Ian Porter

February 4, 2011, 8:45 pm

I have to agree with Joose. Even at the lowest of ISO settings the toy cars look out of focus to me. Wouldn't a straight line pattern, something akin to the old BBC test card be better. Until the cars look in sharp focus I cannot judge ISO properly.


February 14, 2011, 10:30 pm

to all potential buyers, having red a review a few months back I suggest to get wb600 over the wb650, if picture quality is the top priority for you over GPS/AMOLED screen...the simultaneous laboratory tests had shown slightly better picture quality of wb600, initially I didn't believe but after having a closer look to sample pictures taken in various shooting environments (the same objects) by both cameras I could see the difference clearly ...the crops out of wb600, when zoomed in, were less 'blurry' with a little bit lower amount of noise...overall slightly better looking...anyway whatever choice you'll make out of these 2 - wb600/wb650, hope serves well ... :-)

comments powered by Disqus