Home » TVs & Audio » TV » Samsung UE55D8000 » 3D Performance

Samsung UE55D8000 - 3D Performance

John Archer

By John Archer


  • Recommended by TR
Samsung UE55D8000


Our Score


User Score

Review Price £1,999.95

Moving on to the 55D8000's 3D features, the most notable addition is auto-detection of incoming side-by-side 3D formats of the sort delivered by Sky's 3D channel, saving you the bother of manually activating side-by-side mode in the TV's menus. You can also adjust the image's depth and focus via a 3D 'optimisation' slider.

What really matters about the 55D8000's 3D capabilities, though, is that they deliver the 3D goods much more successfully than those of Samsung's first-generation of 3D TVs.

First and most importantly, they suffer much less with crosstalk. Scenes like the Monsters Vs Aliens Golden Gate bridge sequence and archived Sky footage from the Ryder Cup is much less prone to the old double ghosting problem, especially if you don't go too mad with the backlight setting (around 12 seemed to work best).

This has a massively positive impact on the 3D experience, allowing you to watch 3D for longer without feeling tired, and finally making it possible to see without distraction just how detailed and crisp Samsung's 3D engine can make full HD 3D material (from Blu-ray) look. Furthermore, the huge reduction in crosstalk also makes the 55D8000's images seem to have a greater depth, without your eyes having to work overtime to resolve everything.

The other two palpable hits about the 55D8000's 3D performance are the richness of colours and the striking brightness level that remain even after you've donned Samsung's active shutter glasses - glasses which, incidentally, have shifted to Bluetooth syncing with the TV rather than the old infra-red system.

It's this brightness and colour potency that represented the most significant Samsung 3D advantage over the otherwise excellent 3D plasma TVs last year, so it must be a little scary for the plasma brands to find Samsung not only improving its 3D brightness and colour response, but also drastically reducing last year's big LCD weakness, crosstalk.

That said, the 55D8000 hasn't got rid of crosstalk completely. There are still minor traces of it to be seen here and there - more, still, than we saw on Panasonic's 2010 plasmas, in fact. But let's be quite clear, here: the 55D8000 is definitely a true advance for the 3D cause, and sets the bar high for the rest of 2011's TVs.

Previous page
Next page

Michael G

March 10, 2011, 2:16 pm

£2500 TVs, £2000 projection screens...yeah I think I see the direction TR is heading in.


March 10, 2011, 2:44 pm

Yeah, god, that's all we ever review...



March 10, 2011, 8:53 pm

Stunningly elemental design spoilt somewhat by the sadly necessary lapel at the bottom. I would have preferred you to detail it's SD upscaling qualities too since that's what the majority of content that'll be viewed on this.


March 10, 2011, 10:53 pm

One the Swedish Samsung site (www.samsung.se) there's a TV called UE55D8005 and I guess it's the same thing as the one reviewed here. Anyway, according to the information on the site, UE55D8005 has a built-in web browser. Did you find a web browser on this one, with the option to browse the entire Internet? Did you test it? Was it good?


March 11, 2011, 2:54 pm

@OneMoreMartin - I'm afraid John Archer doesn't respond to questions or comments.


March 11, 2011, 8:04 pm

@Metalex - it's because he's developed square (or widescreen) eyes from all the up close and personal TV testing he's undertaken over the years!

His eyes fail to recognise the glyphs in our comments - his eyes are too busy checking out the shade and geometry of the individual pixels.

He's the stig of the visual entertainment world.




March 11, 2011, 10:42 pm

@Metalex - well, I guess I will find out sooner or later. Someone, somewhere, somewhen should have the answer. Maybe it's you, maybe it's me, John Archer it doesn't have to be.


March 11, 2011, 11:41 pm

Now that's what I call FREE MARKET COMPETITION. Top that Pani!!

Given the HIGH scores for picture quality, at first I thought it was a plasma tv and had to read the first few paragraphs a second time to make sure there wasn't some mistake.

Thus in fact I would expect a similar spec and quality plasma tv to be priced at £1999.99.

As for the web browsing with this tv, well it should not be beyond the bonds of current technology and the concept has at least been seen by me in American (non sci-fi) tv programmes. As I cannot see in the context of the stories that it was done specifically for the programmes I would say it was done with real technology.

So well done Sams.


March 22, 2011, 6:35 pm

Ok - I'm liking this TV a lot ! An awful lot in fact.

Love the very slim bezel design. Love the apps built in (is iPlayer coming?).

Not a fan of 3D but I guess it just can't be avoided on this size TV now.

Wish the stand was a little less lary, and protuded a little less at the front but I'll have to consider that if I go ahead and buy it. Guess I should let the price settle anyway / see how the other new sets for this year compare before leaping in.

Very very interesting though.


May 25, 2011, 8:25 pm

Design is good, but there are a lot of problems whis new D series models, like pixel burnout (like on plasma tv's), 3D is a little bit better then on C series, Motion in horizontal direction is much more worse than on C series and main problem what i hate is - No Digital programm sorting WTF?
Sony is much more better

Jan Andersen

June 8, 2011, 3:45 am

If Samsung made a 21:9 50" as above, I promise I will not request more from a TV.

Now that Philips somehow is on its way out - can we pray that Samsung will pickup the lead, and continue what Philips started.


February 27, 2012, 7:22 am

Samsung Electronics may have been good last year but I'm afraid Samsung won't be able to win this time with their new OLED TV technology since many fingers are pointing towards LG OLED TV and even Sony is going up very strongly as well. The truth is that Samsung has had a lot of complains and even lawsuit for their LCD/Plasma TVs power defects. Some here: http://www.engadget.com/2012/0...


December 4, 2012, 11:42 pm

I have this model from Samsung at home. The picture is great, but is lagging behind the audio. I tried connecting a Lip Sync Corrector to the TV, but it only goes up to 300 ms, which unfortunately is not enough. Is there a way to fix the problem? Paying appr. $3000 for a TV that cannot manage to hold sound and vision together, is unacceptable.

comments powered by Disqus