Samsung LE40B550 40in LCD TV - Samsung LE40B550

John Archer

By John Archer

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Samsung LE40B550 40in LCD TV

Summary

Our Score:

9

Yet more good news concerns the 40B550's standard definition performance. This used to be a weakness for Samsung, but this year, thanks to a new chipset that's been two years in the making, Samsung has turned into one of the best upscalers of standard def material. This trend continues even with the relatively ‘low-rent' 40B550, which makes even low-quality standard definition sources look sharp, naturally coloured and impressively free of video noise.

There are inevitably one or two issues surrounding this remarkably affordable TV's performance. As hinted earlier, it's not as clear or fluid with its motion reproduction as Samsung's higher spec models. Also, its black levels, while good, somehow don't seem quite as profound as those of Samsung's B650 range.

Also, in common with most LCD TVs, the 40B550's presets need to be tweaked to produce the best picture quality, and the contrast level drops off rapidly as soon as you have to watch the screen from much of an angle - horizontal or vertical.

This set also fits the unfortunate Samsung LCD pattern of not being very hot in the audio department. If you're just watching normal, undemanding TV it sounds okay, but there isn't enough power or range on hand to let the soundstage open up to accommodate an action scene. Instead, action scenes sound a bit thin, forced and unnatural.

Verdict

Yes, the main review of the 40B550 finished with a few negatives. However, it's the positive points about this in some ways quite remarkable TV that really dominate, leaving the few flaws to be easily swallowed up by the allure of its astonishingly low price.

Overall Score

9

Scores In Detail

  • Value 10
  • Image Quality 9
  • Sound Quality 6
  • Features 9
  • Design 8

cfm

August 18, 2009, 5:54 am

any reviews on this model Samsung PS50B530S2WX?

Randy

August 18, 2009, 2:28 pm

Now: the big question - This one or Panny's TH-42PX80 plasma?

jackp

August 18, 2009, 3:09 pm

You'll be lucky to find the PX80 anywhere.


Isn't the 42x10b now?

Xamph

August 18, 2009, 4:43 pm

A further plus in favour of this set is the fact that it can be tweaked to play MKVs and movies via USB just like its bigger brother, the B650 series.





http://www.avforums.com/forums...

Andy Vandervell

August 18, 2009, 4:45 pm

Xamph: that's a very cool tip, nice one.

mikfrak

August 22, 2009, 1:43 am

I own a Samsung LCD television which was widely praised on internet reviews sites. Unfortunately, it has just started making a clicking noise and won't switch on. When I investigated this on the internet it seems thousands of other people have the same problem, caused by the use of extremely low quality electronic components by Samsung in its power supply units which pack in after about 15 months (just after the guarantee expires). Most manufacturers would recall or offer to replace faulty components but it appears Samsung has stuck its head in the sand and refuses to acknowledge that there is a problem, charging over £80 an hour for repairs. Don't just take my word for it, look it up on the web. Retailers who have been inundated with complaints are also refusing to acknowledge that there is a manufacturing fault and are insisting the consumer pays for independent engineering reports before honouring their responsibilities under the Sale of Goods act. These reports, of course, cost more thn the item itslef so most consumers simply give in and pay over £200 for the repair. The answer is, of course, is quite simple. Do not touch Samsung TVs with a barge pole.

Geoff Richards

August 22, 2009, 2:40 am

@mikfrak - I'm not familiar with the fault you describe, but I've got one of these Samsungs: http://www.trustedreviews.com/...





which is 4 years old and doing just fine.

rob2trusted

September 3, 2009, 1:16 am

Can anybody submit the optimal calibration settings for this TV?....I would be very grateful....

NICKADSLUK (MVP)

September 3, 2009, 8:38 pm

comet have just added the model LE40B530 to their range priced at £479 and is very good indeed so much so all stocks are sold out at this time!!!

john reilly

October 2, 2009, 2:24 am

Like many other people i have a samsung lcd tv and like many other people the same problem.TV wont turn on clicking noise and red button flashing.


Samsung know of this problem,and refuse to do anything about it.


Pay the £200 repair because the tv cost me £950.


Like the guy above said DONT TOUCH SAMSUNG with a barge pole.


knew i should have stuck with SONY.

mike allison

March 3, 2010, 3:12 am

hi would this review compare for the 46 inch model. really like this tv, but feel 40 inch isnt a big enough step up for my current 32?

comments powered by Disqus