Our Score


Review Price £74.99

The digital camera market, as you're no doubt sick of me telling you, is extremely competitive. Manufacturers will go to extraordinary lengths to make their cameras stand out and be noticed, in a desperate bit to out-sell their rivals. Many will add previously rare and sought after features such as image stabilisation and HD video recording to budget-priced models, while others will invest in research and come up with advanced new technologies such as back-illuminated CMOS sensors and ultra-high-speed shooting. However in these recession-hit times some manufacturers have had to come up with more cost-effective ways of getting their cameras noticed, which is probably what prompted someone in Pentax's design department to come up with today's camera, the Optio RS1000.

The RS1000 is an extremely basic ultra-compact with a 14-megapixel 1/2.33-inch CCD sensor, a 4x zoom lens equivalent to 27.5-110mm, and a 7.62cm (3.0in) 230k resolution LCD monitor. It has a very plain rectangular plastic body, available in black or white, and extremely simple controls. It is quite similar in size, shape and features to another recent Pentax compact, the Optio H90, launched earlier this year. Like the H90 it is aimed squarely at the budget end of the market, and is currently selling for less than £100.

The RS1000's gimmick is its interchangeable “skin”. The front panel of the camera has a transparent plastic cover, held on by four small screws. This can be removed using a small Allen-key tool, which is supplied, and paper inserts can be placed underneath it, allowing users to customise their camera. A small selection of inserts are supplied, and Pentax has created a website where users can upload their own images and design their own skins, which can be printed on any domestic printer, cut out and applied to the camera.

Next page


November 27, 2010, 5:23 am

Would it be possible to get a Pentax K-5 review in the works? I still remember the TR review of the GX10 (K10D in Pentax terms) and it would be great to see that depth for the K-5.


November 27, 2010, 5:29 am

Cliff's working on it this week I believe.


November 27, 2010, 5:06 pm

Every time I open a Pentax compact review I'm hoping for ANY kind of improvement, as it's really sad to see the company releasing such appalling rubbish on the consumer. Looking at Pentax's recent compacts it's clear there are some appealing designs trying to escape, but shame about everything else..


November 27, 2010, 8:24 pm

Is there going to be a review of the Sony a33 or a55 coming before christmas as I'm looking at getting in on Sony's VAT cashback scheme and can't decide between the NEX5 or a33. Though will probably go for the former based on Cliffs excellent review. Thanks.


November 29, 2010, 7:15 am

@Cliff - I agree that the image quality does look very poor, which is why I'm surprised that you would give it a score of 8/10 for Value...especially after saying: "Even considering the RS1000's low price this is very poor performance. There are budget compacts of around the same price that offer vastly superior results". It doesn't seem to be full of features that would make it good value either.

If a person doesn't really care about image quality at all, they might as well take their photos with a basic cameraphone. But if they care enough to spend £100 on a dedicated device, I'm sure they want better image quality than 3/10. So how can this camera still be good value..??

Ian Porter

December 4, 2010, 2:00 am

@JK. I agree completely. Surely the "value" is so sub standard that it should be down there with the image quality, 4/10 would be generous?


December 8, 2010, 5:02 am

Can anyone confirm that this camera is the same as the LS1100 being sold on Amazon for £60, just dressed up differently? I have owned a Pentax Optio S4 which had very impressive image quality and I was looking to replace it with something like this, but am disappointed to see that the image quality is so poor. Any other recommendations for under £80? Been looking at the CASIO EXILIM Zoom EX-Z335, CASIO EXILIM Zoom EX-Z35 and the OLYMPUS X-940, all around the £70 - £80 mark. Any others worth considering?

comments powered by Disqus