Home / TVs & Audio / Gadget / Pakuma Akara K1 / Protection, Comfort and Verdict

Pakuma Akara K1 - Protection, Comfort and Verdict

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers



Our Score:


So far we've been a little disappointed with the layout and protection of the compartments, but the laptop pocket might change all that. Used in all of Pakuma's bags, the company's Cocoon system employs ribbed strips of high-density memory foam to protect your laptop from harm. Unlike Brenthaven's panel system this protection is not rigid, so a strong, focused impact can still damage or destroy your laptop. However, the strips are carefully arranged so that there is at least one on every side of your machine – except the top flap, which to be fair is least likely to require it and is still thinly padded. The advantage to Pakuma's system compared to Brenthaven's is its greater flexibility, as you can even fit some really 'fat' laptops like the Novatech X70 CA Pro.

In terms of protection it is on a level with the Dicota BacPac Xtreme and superior to what is found in many offerings at a similar price point - it's just that the Pro 15/17 Backpack set very high standards and it's difficult to settle for less. Given the price difference, though, we'll be lenient and call Pakuma's system decent to good – with its capacity to take laptops up to 17in a relatively rare bonus.

Perhaps the best part of the Akara K1 is how comfortable it is to carry and wear. The top carrying loop is surrounded by a very soft foam-like handgrip, which never hurts your fingers. The backpack has very thick padding with breathable mesh both in its back and on the height-adjustable shoulder straps, which offer adjustment at the top to accommodate the exact degree of shoulder support you want and length adjustment to determine how high or low the backpack rides.

In addition to the chest strap, which is common enough, there is a waist strap too with padded side sections. All straps seem solid and can be tightened 'on the fly'. Our only minor complaint is that the thick padding on the Akara K1's back is in two separate strips rather than one whole one, which can be less comfortable than competing models with complete back padding if you're carrying something heavy that isn't flat in the laptop pocket.

Overall, it's easy enough to forgive the Akara K1's failings due to its low price, as it can easily be found for under £40. It's not the most attractive bag around, but that will make it less likely to be stolen, and materials feel solid even though they lack the quality of more expensive backpacks. We wouldn't worry too much, however, as Pakuma does include a lifetime warranty.


The Pakuma Akara K1 backpack has its share of flaws, but is nonetheless above average considering its low price. If you take a little care due to the inadequate padding outside of its Cocoon laptop pocket, this backpack is a versatile, affordable and above all comfortable means of carrying your laptop and other bits around.

Overall Score


Denis iii

August 10, 2010, 11:17 am

so it definately won't fit a Asus G73jh?


August 10, 2010, 1:15 pm


We didn't have one to hand to try, but the official dimensions would suggest not.


August 10, 2010, 7:27 pm

I've used one of Pakumas Choroka bags for the last 4 years and its been an excellent bag. If thats anything to go by, I'm sure this will be an excellent bag.


August 10, 2010, 7:51 pm

Screams fu***ing ugly to me! Backpacks should be forbidden for anyone who is not actually, well, backpacking. But then I suppose anyone who cares about whether a bag has pockets for cables cares very little about style. Cannot believe TR is reviewing backpacks...


August 10, 2010, 9:41 pm

i've had this for over 2 years now. the rubber (?) lining along the bottom edge has worn away to the point where i can see through it, but then again i've never owned a still functioning bag for so long.


August 10, 2010, 9:47 pm


"It's not the most attractive bag around" - our way of saying it was more... diplomatic :)plus "that will make it less likely to be stolen". Also, the black version of the bag is prettier - as usual ;)

Also, considering a backpack is the most convenient way of carrying anything, why would one have to be backpacking to enjoy the advantages?

And last but not least, we've been reviewing backpacks for a very long time, just check the article for some links.


August 10, 2010, 9:53 pm

i've had this for over 3 years now.


August 11, 2010, 11:53 am

I've had one for over, not this colour, I've got the black version.

Its a great bag, still good condition and I use it every day on the train.

Definitely worth the small amount of money they cost.


August 11, 2010, 3:11 pm

@Ardjuna yeah i've seen you have other backpack reviews. Obviously it's up to TR to review whatever it wants and people have commented so it's obviously a useful category for some. I just find it bemusing; next will be mice mats and keyboard covers! While perhaps convenient they are immensely ugly, right next to Crocs & Uggs in my book. Maybe I care how I look too much but I wouldn't be seen dead with one; I might like my gadgets but I don't want to scream "IT nerd" too loudly. I'll take a satchel, shoulder bag or even a man bag over a backpack any day of the week.


August 11, 2010, 3:34 pm

I found that carrying a large laptop on a shoulder strap bag was one of the main causes of the backache I had for about two years. Balancing things out with a (not so fancy) rucksack was an almost immediate and tangible benefit. Besides I wouldn't be seen dead with a man bag.


August 11, 2010, 7:33 pm

@Horhay: nerd ;-)


August 11, 2010, 9:08 pm

@HK & Horhay:

I'm a nerd too, and proud of it :D

Other than that I'm a practical fellow, and (like Horhay) will choose slight reduction in coolness for less backache any day of the week.

Also, HK, we don't just do backpacks: http://www.trustedreviews.com/..., http://www.trustedreviews.com/... and http://www.trustedreviews.com/... to give but three examples.

honest reviewer

December 16, 2011, 2:48 am

i bought this bag as i was impressed with its features and the way it was presented on the website. the moment i received it i was disappointed with the quality. stitching, zips, overall material all not up to the standards you expect. i still thought i will use it and get the feel for it and within a week, a hole in the bag just above the cocoon section. after having a really bad experience with this product, i would advice don't get carried away by it (especially the pakuma website). its not worth it.

comments powered by Disqus