Home / Cameras / Camera / Olympus E-5 / Performance and Results

Olympus E-5 - Performance and Results

By Gavin Stoker

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

Like previous E-series digital SLRs the E-5 is suitably fast in operation. Startup time is to all intents and purposes instant while up to five frames per second capture is offered in burst shooting mode. The thumb-operated on/off switch is located near the camera's base, rather than the more familiar setting of a DSLR's top plate, while the shutter button is in its usual spot where it falls under the forefinger. Spacing is such that both can easily be reached simultaneously so there's no operational slowdown.

The E-5, as expected at this level, has the ability to shoot Raw files, JPEGs or a combination of both with incremental JPEG compression levels selectable whether shooting individually or in tandem. In auto focus (AF) mode we found that, courtesy of its 11 point AF system, the E-5 locked onto target within a second or so. There's no dedicated AF/MF switch on lens or camera body but instead a quick twist of the manual focus ring will set manual focussing in motion and allow for fine tuning. In this regard, taking photographs with the E-5 feels particularly intuitive.

The chunky Zuiko Digital ED 12-60mm f/2.8-4.0 Four Thirds system lens we were provided with makes a very able match for the E-5's sensor, helping to deliver truckloads of detail even when shooting handheld at maximum telephoto and in spite of the camera's apparently modest headline resolution. Flexibility is such that we were able to achieve some lovely shallow depth of field shots, ideal for portraiture and still life, as well as expansive landscape shots at maximum 24mm equivalent wide angle.

For those who want to shoot in low light and avoid the need to use either the E-5's built-in pop up flash or accessory flashgun attachable via its vacant hotshoe, the maximum ISO level of 6400 will be something of a disappointment, as will the noisy results you get even at this level. Adjustable in inrements from ISO100 up to ISO6400, it's really only from ISO800 below that noise is kept in check. True enough, we're not really reaching ruinous levels until ISO3200 and ISO6400, but there are other candidates out there better suited if low light photography is your thing.

Under daylight conditions the camera and its lens fared rather better with generally sharp results all round. Colours on the E-5's default 'natural' filter setting proved a little muted for our tastes, with Vivid setting delivering to our eyes a result that was closest to the scene at the time, and the 'i-Enhance option effecting some impressive decisions too, colours being bolder yet more naturalistic than the garish results to be had from otherwise selecting the pop art filter.

The E-5 comes across then as a very capable option for anyone looking for top quality images from a very durable DSLR body who is not already wedded to the systems of the 'big two' in Canon and Nikon, though as we mentioned earlier and will do so in our conclusion, there are further caveats to take into account if you really are considering a purchase.

tean

January 25, 2011, 11:39 am

Most reviewers of this camera gave this camera their thumbs up hence it is highly recommended. I am afraid this camera is too expensive and bulky for me.

Sean Groarke

January 25, 2011, 1:19 pm

While it seems a decent bit of kit, given the competition from Canon and Nikon it's massively too expensive. And given the suggestion that it's the last Pentax SLR, I can't see even a Pentaxer upgrading - if I had the previous model I'd sell it double quick before the market disappears. Value 7/10. Hmmmmmmm. Generous.

Xamph

January 25, 2011, 2:39 pm

BTW, Olympus also pioneered image stabilisation and live view in DSLRs.


I have a 4-year old Olympus E-510 and that amazing 12-60 lens; I'm very happy with the combo. But then I was using a 30+ year-old OM-2 up until seven years ago, so even if Oly do kill off their DSLRs, I'm well used to antique cameras :) I take pictures for the enjoyment, not to make a living, so obviously that would be different. Maybe I'll buy a third-hand E5 in a few years!

phanaticphotographer

January 25, 2011, 2:51 pm

@ Sean Groarke


Where does Pentax come in. Ok Pentax DSLR cameras are smaller than Canon or Nikon this article is all about OLYMPUS.

piesforyou

January 25, 2011, 3:15 pm

I think Sean got a bit mixed up :). Pentax are going from strength to strength, no sign of them stopping DSLR production any time soon!





I see the last TR review of a Pentax DSLR was in 2009.... how about the new Kr or K5 chaps?

joose

January 25, 2011, 3:18 pm

I welcome the improvements to the iso test shots. Can I suggest further improvements? Could you include a object which has fine detail so that we can the effect of noise reduction on it.





@Sean Groarke - Not to be pedantic but it's an Olympus camera, not Pentax.

Metalex

January 25, 2011, 5:23 pm

I agree with Joose. The ISO test shots are improved slightly - by way of including more colourful subjects - but detail loss is just as important a consideration as noise levels when evaluating ISO performance. The toy cars are very smooth in texture, so it's hard to see what detail is lost when bumping ISO.





Moreover, for some reason you've cropped to an out of focus area of the frame, making it even more difficult to evaluate detail loss.

Sean Groarke

January 25, 2011, 6:31 pm

Heh. Substitute Olympus for Pentax and the comment stands as is. :-) (Had just had a chat with someone about Pentax - brain didn't switch back!)

lensmann

January 26, 2011, 3:58 am

£1500? Ye cats, that's optimistic. Heck, you can get the Nikon D700 (that's full frame, folks) for £1400-£1500 and the D300S for about £1100. Sure, those are slightly older models, but they're still top of the line for Nikon, and I can't imagine this camera's controls and IQ are that much better.





Add my voice to the general clamour for a Pentax K-5 review.

Rizwancd0

January 26, 2011, 8:38 am

Thanks for the review.





The fact that Olympus have produced a DSLR at all is disappointing to me. Especially since I was under the impression that here is a company, along with Panasonic and Samsung, that has its understanding of digital photography straight. I believe that the CSC (or ILC) genre are the future of digital cameras and I see no reason to go back to the archaic old days of the DSLR. If the E-5 is indeed the last DSLR produced by Olympus then good on them and I will be relieved that the silliness is ending.





Prima facie the E-5 may be a sound decision from the business perspective in order to keep those E-3 body owners going. But I would argue that by playing Canikon et al's game of continuing to produce DSLRs they validate, not only the outdated DSLR, but also this truly unoriginal and perverse competition (I have been very bored!).





Olympus should be focusing their energy on improving the E-series to cater to the professional market. Why this has not happened I do not know. Look at Panasonic and the G-3, rumored to follow the NX10 in it's mini DSLR design. This is a company that has nothing to lose (no DSLR legacy) and everything to gain. It may be that Panasonic gets home before anyone else does - a full blooded professional level ILC (or CSC) camera. I wait in restless anticipation.

Ed

January 26, 2011, 3:54 pm

@Rizwan: Well that was hilarious. Don't think you're quite aware of the size and reason for existence of the SLR market somehow.

Rizwancd0

January 26, 2011, 6:56 pm

@Ed: Not trying to be funny here.





I know that the SLR market is huge. I am not disputing this. My argument is that Olympus should produce an ILC camera of professional capability rather than a DSLR. ILC's have come a long way now. A pro level model offering compatibility with legacy lenses through adapters is surely the way forward.

Ed

January 26, 2011, 9:43 pm

@Rizwan: It's certainly something I'd be interested in seeing though for certain applications an SLR will always be preferable, at least until electronic viewfinder technology improves.

Money

January 26, 2011, 11:20 pm

I really don't see any one would want to buy the E-5 camera!


It is overly price, and it does not offer any significant features that can even rival to Nikon, Canon, and Pentax.


Olympus is not even trying anymore!


Other than existing Olympus DSLR owners who feel the need to upgrade because they have alreay invested vast amount of money in Olympus equipment, I really don't see anyone would want to spend $1700 USD on a piece of camera equipment that offer inferior ISO performance, mediocre improvement on photo quality, and outrageously over-priced camera.


I used to be very proud to be an Olympus DSLR owner, but I honestly say:


"OLYMPUS DID NOT HAVE THEIR CUSTOMERS' BEST INTEREST IN MIND".


It appears that Olympus is milking their loyal customers for all they are worth!


Next time, when you spoted a person using an Olympus E-5 camera, you got to wonder;


if this person is really dedicated to a brand, or if this person just being really stupid.


My comment may sound a little harsh, but then, how do you explain Panasonic's success with their borrow 4/3 technology from Olympus.


Furthermore, Olympus had lost so much ground on the DSLR market in the last few years, the existance of future Olympus DSLR Cameras became questionable.


Why would anyone want to invest in a camera system that is expensive and has no further upgrade possibility.

tean

January 27, 2011, 1:43 am

The Olympus E-PL2 should be your next review, the it is much cheaper and gives excellent images, refer to this site here:


http://www.photographyblog.com...





I have the E-PL1 but I won't be upgrading to the PL2 because it is not a major upgrade and also it too expensive at the moment, will consider upgrade in 6-12 months time when the price will drop by then by at least 50-100 pds.

lensmann

January 27, 2011, 4:54 pm

@Rizwan: Sony certainly seems to be taking that path - if its executives' interviews are to be believed, it's abandoning DSLRs for other forms of interchangeable lens cameras, i.e. their new DSLTs and the NEX series. By all accounts, they'll be releasing a semi-pro version of both later this year. We'll see how successful they are. I'm not personally convinced that electronic viewfinders will ever be able to replace a good optical viewfinder, but then I also said that about aperture rings back in the day when they started to disappear.

piesforyou

January 27, 2011, 5:50 pm

Can you imagine putting one of these:





http://www.the-digital-picture...





on a "CSC"?





What about all the dedicated buttons and wheels? The back (and front, and sides) of a pro DSLR has more buttons and wheels on it then you can fit on two CSCs. Dedicated buttons are essential for inputting the right settings quickly. What about sensor size? And yes, the electronic viewfinder? Robustness?





I've no doubt that a "Pro" CSC will be marketed at some point, but it simply won't be the same as a Pro DSLR. They will remain as two seperate niches - one camp who want a CSC with a few more bells and whistles, and the other who shoot photographs for a living.

Rizwancd0

January 28, 2011, 7:30 am

@lensman: I have not been convinced by Sony's work so far. The NEX outfit has so far been shoddy compared with the solutions offered by competitors, especially with regards to lens quality and options. Anyway the future might bring improvements.





Regarding electronic viewfinders. The last year of models have fantastic EVFs with very high refresh rates that are more than sufficient for enthusiast use. EVFs also have advantages over OVFs. For example they allow you to see what the final image will look like before you actually take it, exposure taken into account. They also show much more information. It is just a matter of time before professionals start to prefer the EVF.





@piesforyou: Most pros I know don't need all of those buttons. Two wheels, a button to manage ISO, and manual control is more than enough for most demanding photographers. Samsung's NX series come with a lot of wheels and buttons - definitely more than what I need. This coupled with the new iFn lenses (where the parameters can be changed using the aperture ring) makes the Samsung's CSC already very feature rich. As for sensor size. Do you not know that CSC's use DSLR (APS-C or 4/3rd) sensors inside them?

lensmann

January 28, 2011, 4:50 pm

@Rizwan: I agree that Sony need to get their game up in terms of releasing more E-mount lenses, although in fairness they did say at Photokina that they have seven more in the pipeline, and it is possible to use their newer A-mount lenses - including some of the Zeiss ones - in AF mode with an adapter. Still, with my big and clunky hands I'm unlikely to ever go down that route.





I have mixed feelings on EVFs. I love some of the features they overlay, and they blow OVFs out of the water in low light, but I simply can't spend hours with my eye glued to one. Colour bleed, tearing, eyestrain... Hopefully the technology will get better: Epson's screens look promising, for instance. I fully expect that my next camera body will be a Sony SLT (thanks to my collection of Minolta lenses from the 80s and 90s, switching from A-mount isn't really an option).





@piesforyou: There are plenty of people "who shoot photographs for a living" who like the new "mirrorless" cameras and see a place for them in their setup. Michael Reichmann (of Luminous Landscapes) has written plenty of thoughtful stuff on this point. Remember that the big pros have several bodies which they use for different things. I agree about the dedicated buttons and wheels though. They may save only a couple of seconds, but when you're out and about those seconds can make the difference between getting a shot and missing it.

2valve

January 30, 2011, 12:04 am

HI, Sony has always been on expensive side unlike Olympus they are still better prices than Sony and you get a great deal too. I would like to go with Olympus anytime. I was reading the other day on Testfreaks that Sony really need to notch it up in orde to stay(ahead) in the game. Sony its coming.

comments powered by Disqus