WhatsApp will now let you delete messages an hour after you send them

WhatsApp has expanded the amount of time it gives you to delete a message after mistakenly sending it. Originally launched as a feature that gave you seven minutes to rectify your mistake, the messaging company has now expanded the feature to allow you to delete messages up to an hour later.

What’s the worst message you’ve ever sent by mistake? Maybe it’s the time you bitched about a friend without realising they were a part of the WhatsApp group you sent the message to. Or what about when you were having a bad day and sent a passive aggressive message to your flatmates about some washing up that you literally created yourself.

Whatever the reason, WhatsApp has your back. Twitter user WABetaInfo has noticed that the latest version of the app allows you to delete messages up to 1 hour, 8 minutes, and 16 seconds after it was originally sent.

No, we’ve got no idea why it’s such a specific number either.

The feature was first noticed on version 2.18.31 of the iOS app, but presumably will be rolling out to Android in the coming days.

From seven minutes to an hour

For those unfamiliar with the functionality, deleting your messages works for both individual and group chats. Unfortunately it won’t delete any trace of your message; instead it will replace it with a notice saying that the message is no longer there.

So while you’re able to delete that drunken rant to your ex, you’ll never be able to remove their knowledge that you sent something at 1am on a Saturday morning.

You have been warned.

What’s the worst message you’ve ever accidentally sent that you wish you could have deleted? Let us know @TrustedReviews.