Facebook is locking out some users who won’t upload a selfie

Facebook is testing a feature that forces mobile app users to upload a selfie in order to gain access to their account.

Screenshots uploaded to the web ask those affected by the test to “upload a photo of yourself that clearly shows your face.”

In the message, the company promises to “check it and then permanently delete it from our servers.”

Facebook has confirmed the test (via Wired), claiming it’s a new kind of captcha that could catch suspicious activity and fight against bots.

 

The test is designed to spot whether the photo is unique, compared with others that have been uploaded to the site.

Unfortunately, if you don’t comply with the request, Facebook won’t allow users to log into their accounts. Apparently, there’s a gap in access while Facebook verifies the photo too.

A screenshot posted to Twitter informed one user: “You Can’t Log In Right Now. We’ll get in touch with you after we’ve reviewed your photo. You’ll now be logged out of Facebook as a security precaution.”

A Facebook spokesperson told Wired the facial recognition tech is one of a number of methods it is testing to help battle the bots.

Do you have an issue with Facebook’s latest security feature? Do you trust the company to delete it from its servers? Let us know @TrustedReviews on Twitter.

Black Friday Deals