Home / TVs & Audio / Headphones / Marshal Minor

Marshal Minor review



1 of 4

Marshal Minor
  • Marshal Minor
  • Marshal Minor
  • Marshal Minor
  • Marshal Minor


Our Score:



  • Attractive design
  • Well built


  • Can be uncomfortable
  • Bulky

Key Features

  • In-line remote
  • Adaptor for remote-incompatible devices
  • Adjustable inserts for different ear sizes
  • Manufacturer: Marshall Headphones
  • Review Price: free/subscription

Having taken its Major headphones for a spin, it seems only right to give Marshall's Minor earphones a similar trial. Sporting a sub-£50 price tag, an outwardly attractive design, and Marshall branding suggesting quality internals the Minors should have a winning formula. But as is so often the case, things not quite that clear cut.

Like the Majors, the Minors are packaged nicely, with a clever 'hinge' mechanism tilting the earphones up and toward you slightly - it's rather thoughtful for something that will be seen once then disposed of. There's only one accessory included with the Minors, in the form of a short 3.5mm extension cable that lets the earphones work with devices that don't play well with in-line remotes.

That, of course, betrays the fact that the Minors have an in-line remote. This works as you'd expect and has a particularly nice, solid click to it. However, contrary to every pair of earphones in our memory the remote is on the left-side cable, not the right, which is just plain wrong. On the plus side, the cabling is quite thin, but braided so that it feels very sturdy.

Aesthetically we can't fault the Minor earphones. The combination of black plastic and gold-coloured metal is a definite success. The concentric circles engraved into the metal backing catch the light nicely. If a pretty face is enough to tempt you to part with £50 of your hard-eared then the Marshal Minor's will suit you well.

Those less concerned with looks would do well to know that a criticism we made of the Marshal Major headphones carries over to the Minor earphones, in that these, too, proved a little uncomfortable to us. We tend not to like most earphones at the best of times, with canalphones being our preference, and though the Minors are better than the likes of Apple's God-awful bundled 'phones, they fared no better. Even the provision of adjustable spacers, to try and let you tweak the size of the earpiece to better the particular size and shape of your ears didn't do much for us.

Frank Anconia

October 25, 2013, 5:52 am

In short, it sucks


November 30, 2013, 12:30 pm

In short, they're the best earphone in this millenium.


January 1, 2014, 9:43 pm

I bought these a week ago, the design is nice and they seem to stay in my ears well, they do become uncomfortable though and I have noticed some distortion with the sound, my old regular iPhone headphones sounded better, with more bass and clearer sound. I would only recommend these to people who are sick of their headphones falling out, I am a little disappointed and expected more from such a well established company..

Tero Kinnunen

April 17, 2014, 12:16 pm

I actually prefer no noise isolation. I like to hear surrounding traffic and conversations and such. Even walking with noise isolation headphones feels weird to me. I have another pair of earphones for occasional noise isolation use, but I personally quite rarely need those. I see it as a matter of choice rather than "the worst issue".


June 26, 2014, 10:29 am

Hi, Tero. I'm with you on prefering noise isolation. What other headphones have you used?

Tero Kinnunen

June 28, 2014, 8:31 am

Hi Inswinger. I used Urbanears Medis first, but after the plug broke from it and the also the warranty replacement, I am trying if Marshall would be more durable. They are likely exactly the same phones, but at least the plug feels sturdier in Marshall. I am also using Marshall Majors. They were smaller though than I expected. I also have some cheap isolating in-ear plugs that I don't like very much.


July 23, 2014, 1:33 pm

Thanks for the reviews guys. I am glad to have come to this website as I am supposed to grab one of this earphones.

Tom Roy

August 11, 2014, 12:11 am

I just purchased a Marshall Minor while on holiday in Hong Kong. I live in
Dubai, so I can't take it back to the store. Problem is the 3-clicks to go
back one song on the in-line remotedoes not work. I am using it with my Samsung Galaxy Note II. Any one else have similar problems with the in-line remote?


February 10, 2015, 6:00 pm

I think I know 1 problem with uor fittng that many does the rouded side on the litle buds should be uotwards. Not like you have it on your secont picture in page 2.


May 5, 2015, 4:57 am

durability is not something these earphones have going for them. I'm on my second pair in 1 year, and my current pair just stopped working last week. The left side konked out, because of the flimsy jack. If you're a commuter who likes their music device in their pocket, I can't recommend these for you as far as durability goes.. I have a friend on his third pair. Personally will go with Shure SE215, I hear those are good albeit twice the price.

jo løvbrøtte

May 20, 2015, 6:00 pm

I happen to have both the minors and the 215! 215 sounds better, but only when I lay in bed, motionless! Canalfit is not for the road. The minors slightly less sound quality, but the perfect match for my bikerides.

Jeffry Suputra

July 18, 2015, 4:46 am

no, it is a bit tricky to do lol

i have 1, and i used to be a sales of marshall products, some of my costumers said 3 clicks not working, it just a bit tricky to do.


February 1, 2016, 11:58 pm

I know this is late but I own these and I would like to say something about the tonal depth.

The frequency range is impressive, me being able to hear as low as 35Hz at normal volume, all the way up to about 18kHz. Severe warbling is audible at 18-24kHz on a tone sweep with a huge bump at about 3kHz and 80-100Hz. Even at max volume through an amplifier I can't hear past 30Hz.

So it isn't at all flat, but it's pretty well tuned for most types of music.

comments powered by Disqus