Home / TVs & Audio / Headphones / Jays a-Jays Three In-Ear Headphones

Jays a-Jays Three In-Ear Headphones review



1 of 6

Jays a-Jays Three In-Ear Headphones
  • Jays a-Jays Three In-Ear Headphones
  • Jays a-Jays Three In-Ear Headphones
  • Jays a-Jays Three In-Ear Headphones
  • Jays a-Jays Three In-Ear Headphones
  • Jays a-Jays Three In-Ear Headphones
  • Jays a-Jays Three In-Ear Headphones


Our Score:


Let it not be said we never listen to you; you've demanded we check out some earphones that don't require taking out a mortgage just to look at in a shop and lo, here are the Jays a-Jays Three earphones. While any fool will anticipate the £36 asking price precluding the Threes from qualifying as 'audiophile,' that's not to say they aren't well worth consideration.

Certainly, there's nothing to complain about as regards the overall package. The a-Jays Three earphones themselves come along with five different silicone tips, a hard plastic carrying case, an aeroplane adaptor and a stereo splitter. We've seen far more expensive earphones come with far fewer accessories. Some may prefer to think that every last penny is going into the quality of the actual earphones, but we think a good bundle makes for better value for money.

The earphones themselves are a little unusual, featuring flat cables, which look interesting of nothing else. Supposedly this tagliatelle-like design stops the wiring from turning into mess of cable spaghetti when coiled up in a pocket or case and in practice it seems to work. The cabling is finished with a rubberised coating that gives it more of a high-end feel than you might expect for earphones costing under £40.

The earpieces are quite fat, but not so much that they don't nestle snugly into the ear. The whole arrangement only weighs 14 grams, so the a-Jays Three are barely noticeable when worn.

The generous selection of different size tips helps with ensuring a comfortable, secure fit. The right earpiece has a small notch on it differentiating it from its counterpart, aiding correct insertion in the dark when you can't read the "L" and "R" labels.


July 1, 2010, 12:46 pm

Excellent, been looking for a reasonably priced set of earphones. These seem to tick most of the boxes, shame they don't have in-line controls, but this isn't major concern.


July 1, 2010, 3:44 pm

Anyone know if these are worth getting as much of an upgrade from some CX500's?


July 1, 2010, 4:18 pm

@Drazisaurus - another good bargain buy to consider are the cheap Klipsch's Amazon are currently selling. Very good sound quality. Not quite got the bass oomph of some other earphones but I think they more accurately represent the overall sound. £20 or so I think so comparable if a hardcase and what not is not required.

Hamish Campbell

July 1, 2010, 4:52 pm

Cool design. I just bought the wife some dual driver Apple in-ear headphones and was very impressed with the sound quality over my backup xc300's from sennh... presumably the dual drivers help here. But of course they costed around 50 quid. In line remote is there of course.

I still prefer wearing cans though, just like having the sound seem to come from outside my head.


July 1, 2010, 6:05 pm

Well I've ordered a pair this morning, I lost the extended cable for my CX500s so need a new set. I quite like the design of these, nicely understated and at that price well worth a punt. I'll be using them with my phone for mp3 playback so dont need the absolute best quality to show off the flaws in the compression!


July 1, 2010, 7:30 pm


A suggestion; I would love to see TR review HeadDirect's "RE-0" IEM's. They are amazing for the price and one could say they are giant killers. For around £60 they come very close to my shure se530's. Head-fi has tons of reviews but I would love for TR readers to discover them.



July 1, 2010, 8:56 pm

Thanks Jones, i'll take a look.


July 1, 2010, 11:00 pm

Will other manufacturers PLEASE copy these and use flat leads instead of the thin wires which are absolutely guaranteed to tie themselves into a Gordian knot as soon as you put in your pocket? Thanks.


July 2, 2010, 3:06 pm

Mine arrived today and they're good performers for the money. There's lots better out there but these do the job well at this price point. The flat wires are great at avoiding knots.


July 7, 2010, 5:23 pm

I was looking for a flat wire in ear headphone to replace my Sennheiser CX 300 - tired of snagging my asymmetrical ultra thin cable. The only thing about them I do not like the the very long 3.5mm jack that connects to an mp3 player. It's more than double the height of my Sennheiser's connector. This may be an issue for some of you out there. It could almost be an ariel!


July 11, 2010, 7:20 pm

These look similar to the Monster "beats" headphones.


I have seen the beats headphones in many stores but haven't seen the a-jays anywhere. Any idea on comparison of quality/construction?

Ferry SB

October 18, 2010, 11:20 am

I have bought this earphone 4 month ago. And honestly quite satisfied about the sounds.

However, it really disappoint me for the bad build quality.

For 4 month, it have been broken for twice. The left earpiece is missing the sound or have defect sound, if we touch/move the cable that connect to the 3.5mm plug.

1st time broken, I can accept it, but it was broken again in 1 month usage. I use it for normal use, never use it for jog or any sport that may harm the earphone.


October 23, 2012, 6:29 pm

well a jays hv the best sound in a earpiece but their earpiece is not good in durability...use for a few month u hv to brought a new one...


April 29, 2013, 4:09 pm

I bought them last weekend and really don't like the sound especially when I listen Hip-hop. The treble are terrible...Really bad advise of the sales guy of the airport in Dublin...

comments powered by Disqus