Home » TVs & Audio » DVRs and Media players » Icecrypt T2400 (1TB)

Icecrypt T2400 (1TB) review



  • Recommended by TR
Icecrypt T2400 (1TB)


Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

Icecrypt T2400 500GB version: £309 (inc. VAT)

Icecrypt T2400 2TB version: £379 (inc. VAT)

With its value-adding features and excellent operating system, Icecrypt’s T2200 was arguably the best Freeview HD receiver of last year, and since reviewing it we’ve been eagerly awaiting the PVR version. Well, it’s finally arrived and looks like a terrific prospect, boasting twin Freeview HD tuners, up to 2TB of hard-disk capacity and a superb-looking spec sheet.

The box itself is fairly large at 400(w) x 60(h) x 270(d)mm, but it’s styled in a chic glossy black finish. The focus of the front-panel is a silver-trimmed click wheel that lets you navigate menus when you don’t have the remote to hand. To its right is an easy-to-read display showing the channel number and name in large illuminated digits. On the right-hand side is a flap hiding a USB port, which was one of the T2200’s most enticing features and lets you play digital media. You’ll also see filled-in panels where the CI slots would have been, which means pay TV is off the agenda. Some of the front panel feels a little plasticky, but makes up for it with sturdy metal casing elsewhere.

On the rear panel is an excellent array of connections. You get two Scart sockets, enabling you to feed pictures to a recorder and TV simultaneously, plus the all-important HDMI output and a composite video output. On the audio side, there are analogue stereo and optical digital audio outputs, while an Ethernet port provides a way of getting IPTV services as and when they become available. This also lets you transfer music and movie files onto the T2400 over a home network, although you can’t stream your files. A second USB port is provided on the back as a further multimedia option and there’s an RS232 port for software upgrades.

Despite its unpleasant, clicky buttons, the remote’s layout is reasonably user-friendly. The menu controls are comfortably placed in the middle and every button is clearly labelled. A little more prominence should have been given to the playback and record buttons but generally this handset poses few problems for day-to-day operation.

Next page


January 17, 2011, 1:27 pm

RS232? What on earth can I connect to that without getting an ancient desktop out of my loft....?


January 17, 2011, 1:54 pm

With my Humax 9200 having provided excellent sevice, the fact that Humax has supported this model with regular updates and that it has remained reliable and stable I was going to simply update to the HDR version when the time come. Now I am not so sure.

I think what most people would like to know is the Humax HDR or Icecrypt better?

Simon Heather

January 17, 2011, 2:13 pm

@jpkerr - the Humax HDR has more features that the Icecrpyt including transcoding HE AAC into Dolby Digital, playing media directly from a network DLNA server and shortly iPlayer plus media server (stream recordings to other devices). The Humax remote also looks much nicer and the Humax EPG is the best I've used on any PVR - very clear with lots of information presented.


January 17, 2011, 4:13 pm

Quote: ...record two channels and watch a third, which is a rare talent...

PVRs have been doing that for years :-?


January 17, 2011, 5:04 pm

Thank you for helping us discover worthwile alternatives to Humax which, or so I felt lead to think, was the only supplier of a reliable and efficient HD PVR.

Could someone tell me if the remotes on these devices keep on using infrared, or if someone has adopted RF which would have the added benefit to allow the placement of the device in a cupboard, alongside other Audiovisual devices.

That would be neat!

On a lighter and completely distracting note, I wonder what the 4th picture on page 4 is all about!

Danny P

January 17, 2011, 6:28 pm

@clemenzina: You'd be surprised how few Freeview PVRs lets your record two channels and watch a third. Most let you record two simultaneously but then prevent you from changing channel.


January 17, 2011, 7:50 pm

I thought the usual restriction was that the 'Third' channel must use a shared MUX, e.g. three channels using a maximum of two MUXs

Martin Daler

January 17, 2011, 8:10 pm

@Terrystan - there must be something in what you say. I'm not up on DVB tech, but with 2 tuners how else do you get to receive 3 signals, as per the review?

Simon Heather

January 17, 2011, 8:48 pm

The 3view and Toshiba HDR5010 (and presumably the TVonics which has the same software) don't allow you to watch a third channel while recording two channels even if it is on the same mux.


January 18, 2011, 1:47 am

Guys, the third channel has to be a pre recorded programme.


January 18, 2011, 2:40 am

"When recorded, the competent video encoders ensure that HD programmes lose none of their crystal clear definition and SD programmes look solid too."

Is this a mistake or is the Icecrypt deviating from, what I believe to be, every other HDD recorder on the market by not simply saving the broadcast stream to the HD.


January 18, 2011, 6:26 am

@Martin Daler: The FreeView channels in the UK are transmitted using 6 multiplexes, totalling a maximum bandwidth of 126Mbps (15.75MB/s). A multiplex, by definition is a way of transmitting multiple signals, in this case Freeview channels, using only one signal. So you only need one tuner per multiplex that you want to 'tune into' and then it's up to the software to extract the channel or channels that it is interested in. MythTV for example, allows you to record a whole multiplex at once and if you have 6 tuners installed, you could record every channel at once (although you'd be using 56.7GB of disk space per hour).


Tim Sutton

January 18, 2011, 6:35 am


My Humax can record 2 and watch a third live. I think I can record two, watch a third and have PiP of a fourth in fact :-)


January 18, 2011, 3:00 pm

@Tim Sutton

3 tuners?


January 18, 2011, 4:56 pm

@Lamboy - nope - 2 tuners, but (as discussed above) it can decode more than 2 streams out of 2 received Muxes.


January 18, 2011, 5:29 pm

@BobaFett - good answer, not a lot of people get the idea of multiple streams all multiplexed together into a single channel of continuous data. Suspect your comment will help a lot of folks grasp this important concept (which is also used extensively with DAB, DVD, BluRay, etc).

Danny P

January 18, 2011, 6:04 pm

@pxmm: As far as I'm aware hardly any HDD recorders record the data stream direct. Panasonic's Freeview Blu-ray recorders do using their 'Direct Record' mode but most others have to decode the stream first then re-encode. That's how you get a choice of recording modes.


January 19, 2011, 12:42 am

@Danny P - not at all. As far as I'm aware almost *ALL* current Freeview / Freeview HD / Freesat PVRs do exactly this, as do Sky and Virgin (hence why they don't offer multiple recording quality levels), and it makes perfect sense - why would you decode and then recode the data (requiring a powerful video encoding chip, especially for HD) when you could just directly record the stream? With ever increasing HDD capacities, lack of storage is rarely a problem so recoding at lower quality is unnecessary.

Martin Daler

January 19, 2011, 3:40 pm

@BobaFett - thanks, that makes perfect sense.

Danny P

January 19, 2011, 6:46 pm

@John: I stand corrected, I was talking about DVD/HDD combis, which do re-encode the signal so it's in the correct format for DVD copying etc, but PVRs record direct. So just ignore the bit about 'competent video encoders'.


January 20, 2011, 10:51 pm

in analogue terms one radio frequency say 671Mhz = one channel say Ch 46 (BBC1 Sutton CF) and this is what the tuner selects. However with Digital TV one radio frequency say 631Mhz = one MUX, say MUX1 which has within it 6 or more channels (BBC1 and lots of others), In this case the tuners selects a MUX NOT a channel.


January 21, 2011, 12:11 am

As a Topfield owner, I frequently edit recordings and burn them to DVD. A number of websites claim the Icecrypt can export recordings to a PC in TRP format, where they can presumably be watched or edited. Could you tell me if this is the case, and if so does it apply to HD files as well as SD? All the Freeview HD PVRs I've seen up until now prevent the export of HD files because they've been encrypted.


June 5, 2013, 2:52 pm

One of these?



June 5, 2013, 2:54 pm

I can do all that and drink a pint and do a somersault all at the same time. ;-)

comments powered by Disqus