Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / HTC Desire / HTC Desire

HTC Desire - HTC Desire

By Edward Chester

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

9

User Score:

Where the Desire really shines is through its screen. At 3.7in across, it feels like the perfect size for easy touch-screen navigation. In contrast, the HTC Legend with its 3.2in screen feels a little cramped while the monster 4+in screens of devices like the Toshiba TG01 and HTC HD2 are just too big to handle comfortably.

HTC Desire GPS

Size is not the only thing in this screen's favour, though. Thanks to its OLED display technology it can produce an incredibly bright image with strong, saturated colours while maintaining black levels that LCD screens can only dream of. Combined with the fact that OLED displays are unaffected by viewing angles, you have a device that's superb for watching videos, browsing the web, and flicking though photos, even if the colours are so saturated as to look a little unnatural sometimes. Given OLED displays don't have a transflective effect, they can become difficult to see in strong sunlight, but given the dreadful weather here in the UK at the moment we didn't have a chance to notice any such problems.

HTC Desire in hand

Thanks to capacitive touch-sensing you only need to touch, rather then press, the screen to get a response, which makes everyday use infinitely better than on squishy resistive screens. Compared to the iPhone the screen felt a little tacky, making it more difficult to glide your finger across the surface, but this is a small complaint. We also found accuracy to be only average so, whether due to calibration or inherent hardware issues, tasks like pinpointing links in webpages required a concerted effort to use the very tip of a finger where the best devices can interpret a more general stab from the pad of a finger.

HTC Desire keyboard

Typing on the onscreen keyboard, however, wasn't such a problem and we found we could rattle off text messages and emails almost as fast as any other device. We do have a couple of complaints, though. The word prediction generally isn't quite as good as the iPhone and we find the way it shows a constantly updating list of alternative words above what you're typing really distracting. We're all for predictive text but a more subtle approach would be preferable. Also, we still maintain HTC's version of the Android keyboard that has the secondary function of each key constantly visible makes it more difficult to read – and somewhat pointless as the keys shift slightly when you actually go to their second function.

HTC Desire lens

The 5-megapixel camera that sits on the back has autofocus and an LED flash, instantly taking it a step above some smartphones. In use it is superb thanks to lightening fast loading times and quick shot to shot times. It also has a superb point-to-focus system, which we particularly like because you still have to press the button to finally take the photo, allowing you time to steady yourself. The overall onscreen controls are also excellent with contrast, saturation, and sharpness controls, ISO adjustment, geo-tagging and face detection all on offer. A dedicated shutter button on the side would be a useful addition but from an aesthetic point of view, we can see why it was left out. Results from the camera aren't actually all that clever with colours looking fairly muted even in good lighting and the flash is very limited in range. However, for a phone it is more than adequate.

As for video, you can shoot at up to a resolution of 720 x 480 and up to 30fps though you certainly don't get both at the same time. Our test clip was shot in 640 x 480 and it came out with a framerate of 10fps, which is pretty much unusable if there's any action happening. The framerate does increase in better lighting but is still fairly ropey overall.

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

rav

April 2, 2010, 1:45 am

Had mine since last Saturday and love it! Fixes the Hero's one flaw - slowdown. No matter how much I multi-task I can't get it to lag for a second.





T-mobile are offering stupidly cheap contracts for it.

snoop 7

April 2, 2010, 1:49 am

Great review. I torn between this and the legend.

Malderon

April 2, 2010, 3:22 am

I think this is a far better choice than the legend at the moment. I was amazed when I saw the price. £380 sim-free seems very reasonable for feature set, and the legend looks overpriced in comparison.

DC

April 2, 2010, 4:35 am

I've had the Nexus One for 2 months which is bascially the same as the Desire and it's the best phone I've ever owned (i came from a iphone 3GS)





The Desire currently only uses Flash Lite which is why the video playback is slow, it's only using software decoding. When full Flash 10.1 comes out in a few months, it will be using hardware acceleration and take advantage of all the snapdragons processors capabilities, Flash video will be perfectly smooth.

Lord Comben III

April 2, 2010, 4:37 am

Yiippee just the review i was waiting for. Love the look of the desire and i hate apple so gooo team htc desire :)

DavidDB

April 2, 2010, 4:53 am

I Desired it MUCH ...





Went to T-Mobile UK Store in Newport with a wad of Cash - My transfer Codes and Identity hopeing to Sign up for the most anticipated new phone in years





No - You cannot have one sir The HTC is Faulty -





Faulty ? Surely My ANDROID lust in the past few weeks would have picked up on the Desire being Faulty? Not a mention on any forum UK or USA saying the Desire is FAULTY!!





Yes sir the phones FAULTY full of bugs indeed - The phones withdrawn ! So I suggest to the "Sales person" that if indeed T-mo added something nasty to the HTC Desire it it may well be FAULTY - But surely its not a good idea to say the HTC is FAULTY - Only that T-mos implementation is FAULTY ?





She showed me the door - Thankfully THREE Voda and 02 have the desire listed as coming soon ;)





I Doubt theirs is FAULTY madam

iain coghill

April 2, 2010, 10:11 am

@ravmania "T-mobile are offering stupidly cheap contracts for it."





Gosh yes, if like me your minutes/text requirements are low but you want unlimited internet these look like a bargain.

Greg17b

April 2, 2010, 11:22 am

I had a go with one of these in Carphone Warehouse yesterday lunchtime.





Currently a 3GS owner, I was keen to see what is around to upgrade to. I really liked the look and feel of the phone, and there's no doubt that the screen is stunning. However, the comment about jerking when scrolling a long list is very true. It lacks the snappy responsiveness on the iPhone.





Verdict? I woulnd't take one of these now, when it is pretty much 50/50 with the iPhone from nearly 12 months ago. It will be worth holding on to see what Apple have done in this time - June, July maybe?

Riyad

April 2, 2010, 2:11 pm

@DavidDB - that's very odd since I have a Desire on T-Mobile and I've had no problems with it whatsoever. In fact I'm writing this comment on it right now.





So far I absolutely love the Desire and as was mentioned above the T-Mobile tariff is incredible value. I'm just thing to get used to not waiting ten seconds every time I select anything as I did with my iPhone 3G :)

Lantic

April 2, 2010, 2:13 pm

@Lord Comben ... you can hate Apple as much as you want, if it wasn't for the iPhone revolution, you wouldn't be looking at an HTC anything. I have the Desire after having had an iPhone 3GS and I thank Apple every day for making my life simpler!

rav

April 2, 2010, 4:00 pm

@DavidDB


My T-mobile Desire has had no issues whatsoever. Very happy with it.





@iain coghill


I know. I've paid £360 for a Desire with 3GB of data a month for two years!

DavidDB

April 2, 2010, 6:26 pm

I knew that but Try Telling T-Mobile shop in NEWPORT that





I will get one from somewhere Im sure - Might order it online to be Picked up in store lol ;)

Malderon

April 2, 2010, 7:23 pm

The T-Mobile Tarrifs do seem great indeed. I previously was looking for my next phone at buying it outright and then using simfree month-month deals. As I've been annoyed with my current phone at being locked in for so long.





Current best simfree 30day deal seems to be Tesc: 500 mins, Unlimited Texts, Unlimited Internet. £15 every 30 days. With of course lets say £380 for initial purchase.





So, ignoring the benefits of flexibility for now over 18 months that would be





£380 + £15 * 18 = £650





Comparing to a comparable T-mobile tariff:





£129 + £25 * 18 = £579 (600 mins, 500 texts).





Personally I think 24 months is a long time to be locked in for any self-respecting techie! Just think how many cool new devices will be out by then!





So for me the best deal I reckon is T-mobile £129 initial, £20 a month for 18 months giving 300mins 300 texts.





Could anyone confirm that there is an additional flexible booster on these tariffs, or is the Unlimited Internet already using up the booster?

Simon

April 2, 2010, 9:09 pm

I've got my Desire being delivered tomorrow and can't wait to finally ditch my 2 year old Touch Dual. Goodbye Windows Mobile.

Simon

April 3, 2010, 1:29 am

@Malderon "So for me the best deal I reckon is T-mobile £129 initial, £20 a month for 18 months giving 300mins 300 texts.





Could anyone confirm that there is an additional flexible booster on these tariffs, or is the Unlimited Internet already using up the booster"





That's the deal i am going on, the additional flexible booster is as well as unlimited internet, as i ordered mine on the phone and asked.

Malderon

April 3, 2010, 2:45 am

These T-Mobile deals are just so stonking. Its just too expensive for me to buy out my contract at the moment. You can get £35 cashback from quidco on £20 deals - taking the initial cost down to £94. Total over 18 months is £454 on the deal mentioned above including quidco. Not alot higher than the SimFree cost! Amazing - And I'm stuck paying £35 a month for minutes and texts I barely use on my Blackberry Storm - which I dont hate... but its no Desire!

rav

April 3, 2010, 6:19 am

I'm paying £10 a month for 100 mins, unlimited texts and unlimited net (3GB). Phone was £164 and I got £40 quidco. Total cost for 2 years is £364.





I don't even need the line. Just look at it as 2 years data for free and spreading the cost of the phone.

Big Rich

April 3, 2010, 2:14 pm

I got mine Thursday after ordering it from mobiles.co.uk - £19.99 phone cost, £40 per month with 300 minutes, unlimited texts and data on a 12 month contract which I'm chuffed with! The phone itself is amazing and so far I haven't had any problems with it (unlike the Nexus One which I had for a few days and ended up sending back due to a screen problem). My friends and I can't get over how quick it is, I have a HSPA connection here and this website loaded in seconds. I'm really impressed with this phone :)

greycounciller

April 3, 2010, 5:19 pm

I'm due an upgrade soon, but will keep my old contract as I'll get a £10 discount.


If I get one of these via this PAYG deal, will it work oput better and what'll it cost me in the end?

Malderon

April 3, 2010, 8:53 pm

I've sent an email to Vodafone just asking how much it would be for early termination, or if its possible to downgrade the plan. The Desire looks just so awesome and the ravmania deal for less than the sim-free cost! And you still get a flexible booster (not sure whether I'd choose Landline or Euro) Unbeleivable - plus I was with T-Mob before and was happy with their service, only switched to Vodafone due to signal issues at a location I dont visit much anyomre.

b166er

April 4, 2010, 2:28 am

Got mine for a tenner as I was due an upgrade, nice!


Loving it, I had the Advantage before and that also was a great phone, 5" screen, great for TomTom.


Have tried the beebPlayer on my Desire and it's OK, love the barcode scanner too for a laugh. Can't quite decide what satnav to get, but might just repurpose the Advantage for that due to its big screen.


All in all, extremely well done HTC. I'v had one of your phones since the Wizard and can't see any reason whatsoever for changing to another manufacturer. You are the Samsung of the mobile world.

manamal

April 4, 2010, 5:26 am

upgraded my O2 contract to the HTC HD2 and had the HD2 for 2 weeks - handset was just to big for me so sold it in a provate sale and went back to my iPhone.





I am now a day away from picking up the Desire..? still have my doubts especially in the looks and apps departments - any thoughts?





Looks I think I can live with the brown finish although would like the graphite but its gonna cost me a little more and a slightly longer wait - apps wise, I am used to iPhones Apps store hopefull about Andriod and WinMo was poor.





Will hopefully update in 48hours








M

Frankf9d

April 4, 2010, 8:10 am

Can you get this with Windows Mobile OS ? : - )

Martin Daler

April 5, 2010, 2:03 pm

what happens if you take this phone abroad? As far as I can make out from T-Mobile's pages, it comes with "unlimited" internet (UK) in the price plan because its internet connection is "always on". So if you take it on holiday, are you in for a shock when you get back? Can you switch off its internet connection, and if so how much of the phone's functionality remains?

BENNY g

April 5, 2010, 3:24 pm

Got my HTC Desire after returning the Xperia X10, and i love it i think it could contend if not beed the iphone.





@frank no its Android only.


@Martin Daler no you will need to turn it off as it will charge you A LOT Lol. you can still make and recieve calls and text but anything that requiers an internet connection I.E friend stream or the weather app wont work properly.

comments powered by Disqus