Home / Computing / Monitor / HP LP2475w - 24in H-IPS LCD Monitor

HP LP2475w - 24in H-IPS LCD Monitor review

Ardjuna Seghers

By

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

10

User Score:

Pros

  • Supreme picture quality
  • Excellent connectivity

Cons

  • Not the most stylish monitor around
  • NEC rival offers more customisations options

Key Features

  • 1920x1200 pixel resolution
  • 1000:1 contrast ratio
  • 400 cd/m2 brightness
  • 6ms response time
  • 178-degree viewing angles
  • Manufacturer: HP
  • Review Price: £341.21

Dell kick-started the market for premium yet affordable 24in monitors with its PVA-based 2405FPW, the first monitor of its ilk to offer full adjustability, multiple AV inputs and decent image fidelity at a reasonable price. This evolution has reached its culmination with the monitor we're looking at today: HP's LP2475w.

Traditionally the preserve of high-end professional displays costing close to £1,000, the LP2475w is based on an IPS panel - arguably superior to alternatives like PVA and MVA in that it has better viewing angles and colour reproduction. However, not only has HP brought the latest revision of this panel technology (H-IPS, an evolution of S-IPS) to market at around £400, it has packed its monitor with more features and connections than you have any right to expect at this price. Too good to be true? Let's find out.

From the moment you open the box, everything about the HP LP2475w feels like it should cost a lot more than it does, beginning with the generous selection of cables, which include USB A-B, DVI, DVI to VGA, HDMI and DisplayPort. This might already have given you a hint as to the wealth of connectivity on offer, but we'll get to that in a bit.

Out of the box the monitor comes in two parts: the screen and stand. These click easily together much like the excellent system used on Dell's UltraSharp 2408WFP. If you'd rather use a VESA arm the LP2475w is compatible with VESA100, but most users won't need to since the provided stand offers every adjustment you could want.

This includes smooth height adjustment, lifting the screen's base between 4.5 and 16cm, 35 degrees of tilt and a generous 45 degree swivel, which unlike the cheap effort on the NEC MultiSync LCD24WMGX3 doesn't move the base but rather works from a rotating plate just below the stand's tilt hinge. 90 degree pivot completes the package, giving the LP2475w excellent ergonomic versatility.

Its stand is constructed from very solid plastic partially reinforced with metal, while the stand's base has a large 36 x 22cm footprint, which keeps the heavy screen stable. HP has also integrated a useful tray into the base that's perfect for storing pens, paper-clips and all the other detritus that tends to gather one one's desk. This display also has one of the more sophisticated cable management systems we've come across, allowing you to route cables to either side of the stand behind soft rubber flaps to come out the back at the stand's base.

Hamish Campbell

March 27, 2009, 12:17 pm

I just don't get why you'd make such a great screen, then dress it up like the old screens you see at hospital reception desks.

Ed

March 27, 2009, 1:11 pm

It is quite dowdy isn't it. Still, making it look fancy would have just added more cost and I know which I'd rather have.

Isaac Sarayiah

March 27, 2009, 1:37 pm

I am beginning to doubt the reviews on this website. I have read several reviews regarding this monitor and there are several problems with it including a green tinge and poor image quality out of the box unless it is calibrated. The reviewer mentions nothing of this.

Jmac

March 27, 2009, 1:52 pm

I don't mind the design - it looks industrial and functional. The bezel is quite slim, and there is no unnecessary fuss. Looks like quite an astonishing bargain if the image quality is as good as you say.

TechVegan

March 27, 2009, 2:18 pm

@haim: LOL.


It actually looks better in real life than in the pictures, really it does.


And don't forget the market this thing is supposedly (despite its AV connectivity) aimed at: professionals and businesses. Still, it could have done with a splash of the Dell 2408's styling.

Andy Vandervell

March 27, 2009, 2:26 pm

@Isaac: Would you care to elaborate? Perhaps we've been reading different reviews, but most of the one's I've seen agree it's a very good monitor.

stephenallred

March 27, 2009, 3:17 pm

I've been waiting for a 24" H-IPS panel based screen for a while now. Having bought 3 S-PVA 24" screens and sending them all back thanks to funky pink ghosting across large parts of the screen I would never buy an S-PVA based panel again.

TechVegan

March 27, 2009, 3:55 pm

@Stephen Allred: Wow, that's tough luck! I haven't come across the phenomenon you describe myself with PVA, but either way looks like HP has the answer for you :)

LinguisticPedant

March 27, 2009, 4:39 pm

I purchased this monitor in January and it is a fantastic bargain. My brother has the Benq FP241wz and we sat them side by side. The Benq being a great monitor on its own, this HP takes it to the next level. The colour reproduction and response time is excellent. I'm glad I bit the bullet with this one. As a graphic designer and avid gamer, colour fidelity is paramount to me. Playing Crysis at 1920x1200 at the highest settings are truly breathtaking on this beast. I would expect this kind of performance from monitors that are twice the price.





Great review.

Georgi Chelebiev

March 27, 2009, 4:43 pm

At last- a display that suits me. It has everything that I need and even its design works for me; I hate the reflections of the glossy finish from my current Acer(not to mention the poor image quality).

Isaac Sarayiah

March 27, 2009, 5:27 pm

Here is one of the reviews:


http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/re...


Also read user comments on Amazon regarding this monitor.

Andy Vandervell

March 27, 2009, 5:54 pm

@Isaac: Okay, but I still don't see how this makes our review bad or inaccurate. As TFT Central pointed out in the conclusion:





"If you want a 24" monitor, this is a hard one to beat in my opinion. Given the extreme lack of IPS in this sector, HP are probably on to a winner here."





Yes, it did note some issues with the calibration out of the box, but show me a monitor that doesn't? Moreover, you've got to take into account a level of manufacturing variability - it's rare that any one monitor is exactly the same.





As for the Amazon reviews, the same arguments apply. Clearly a few people there have got duds, but 90% of the reviews are overwhelmingly positive.

Ed

March 27, 2009, 6:05 pm

Just read that review you linked to, Isaac. The reviewer mentions relatively poor colour accuracy out the box but regularly qualifies this as only being a problem for colour accurate work. At no point does he particularly say it's a problem for general use and in every other respect he says it's very good. I quote "If you want a 24" monitor, this is a hard one to beat in my opinion. Given the extreme lack of IPS in this sector, HP are probably on to a winner here."

Andy Vandervell

March 27, 2009, 6:08 pm

Heh, great minds thinking alike there...we really need some time stamps on these comments.

Ohmz

March 27, 2009, 6:11 pm

"Heh, great minds thinking alike there...we really need some time stamps on these comments."





Don't you guys work near each other or something? Or at least close enough so you guys can collaborate before you respond to someone so these kinds of things don't happen?





Just wondering what the office situation is like.












xenos

March 27, 2009, 6:11 pm

Good panel but why the AWFUL casing and stand?





Plus you dont mention the BenQ FP241W as a competitor, as you can currently get it for about 𧷸 i think it definitely comes into the equation even though this is a good price for a panel of this spec.





The only other thing I can say is, its an HP wheres the catch and what will break first? :-P

Ohmz

March 27, 2009, 6:33 pm

Where the hell did all that space come from?

Andy Vandervell

March 27, 2009, 7:01 pm

@Ohmz: We *are* in the same office, but Ed just happened to start composing his reply right after I'd published mine, so he didn't see it. We chuckled.

TechVegan

March 27, 2009, 7:04 pm

@LinguisticPedant: Glad you like the review. I would have bought this HP monitor (as you can probably tell from my Xmas Wish List) but already purchased the NEC LCD24WMGX3 a while ago. Not sure I made the right choice, though I have used that remote a lot ;)





@xenos: As to the BenQ FP241W, see LinguisticPedant's comment :)


As to your comment about HP, have you had bad experiences with one of the company's products? We generally find them to be stylish (yes, this monitor somewhat excepted, though as I've said before it looks better in real life) and well-made.

Renoir

March 27, 2009, 7:06 pm

I was under the impression that using a wide colour gamut monitor in applications that cannot be colour managed, makes the image suffer from over-saturation. I'm asking since you are recommending it for console gaming which, as far as I know, cannot be colour managed. Is the over-saturation just something you get used to, or is it like input lag, some notice and some don't?

Andy Vandervell

March 27, 2009, 7:16 pm

This is true, though you can manually tune colours using the monitors settings. Moreover, in gaming, some level over-saturation isn't such a problem. Gaming just isn't colour sensitive enough for it to matter imho and when one talks about over-saturation, we're not talking radioactive levels here. Some people may disagree.

TechVegan

March 27, 2009, 7:38 pm

@Renoir: Personally I didn't feel colours were particularly off or over-saturated during non-computer use after some calibration. Like Andy said, you can set up the HP with a muted palette for things like console gaming and use the provided software to revert back to your preferred settings for computer imaging use. Though this *is* one of those scenarios where hardware presets (which the HP LP2475w doesn't, as far as I'm aware, offer) would have been welcome.

Chocoa

March 27, 2009, 7:49 pm

Well, in for a penny in for a pound....





Poor colour calibration out of the box? - Calibrate it, don't be lazy! I try to get the best out of any monitor and don't understand why anyone would not want to pro or gamer.





Styling a problem? Surely any style is transitory and 'of the moment'. I would imagine that the working life of this panel will be longer than the current vogue of piano black - retain every finger mark style. I would far prefer a good panel than celebrity styling!

xenos

March 27, 2009, 8:00 pm

Well I still got myself a bargain, I'm happy :-)





HP products, generally they used to be fantastic, but in recent years its my opinion that build quality has suffered. Im talking generally about printers and my friends ancient HP laser (10 years plus) that still chugs along just fine, I have had a particular officejet apart in pieces about 5 times, the ink head cleaning bay mechanism broke several times rendering the whole printer useless. I ended up glueing the screws in place as the plastic holes decided they had enough. Since then its worked perfectly..





Also I have an HP laptop that I won in a competition, its no cheapy either! The C key has been crunchy from the start only working if you push it on the right most side. It also has a sliding volume touch button that likes to move itself constantly if the laptop is in performance mode once its hot, or if its placed on a non uniform surface in any power mode; it makes an infuriating tapping noise constantly because of it and none of the other touch buttons around it work until its cooled down. I have a question actually, would you guys RMA it?





Other than that no bad experiences... :-)

xenos

March 27, 2009, 8:04 pm

@Chocoa - I think people mean more that the stand looks cheap more than anything else. Styling isn't that important yes, but it should reflect the products quality, ie. that of the screen.

comments powered by Disqus