HP LP2475w - 24in H-IPS LCD Monitor - Comparisons & Verdict

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

10

User Score:

Also worth mention is the software HP includes. LiteSaver and Pivot Pro are handy rather than essential, as the former is an advanced screensaver and the latter just pivots content faster than Window's native drivers. HP Display Assistant is more interesting, allowing you to make the same adjustments as the OSD more easily with the help of a set of test patterns. Best of all, the settings you end up with can be saved to multiple profiles for various usage scenarios or indeed different users.

Its warranty is another aspect of the LP2475w that's worthy of praise, as HP provides a three-year parts, labour and on-site service contract, with 90 days of 24/7 technical support thrown in for good measure.

Just to summarise, then, HP's LP2475w offers a quality wide-gamut 24in 1,920 x 1,200 H-ISP panel in an unassuming yet well-built chassis with all the adjustability and connectivity you could ever want. Image quality is as close to perfect as we've seen in this price class and, as a side note, the monitor also produces less heat than most with no noticeable operating noise.

Getting onto value, prices for the LP2475w have been fluctuating dramatically since its introduction, ranging between £460 and £360. Currently the cheapest it appears to be available for is around £420, which is still a real bargain and compares favourably to rival displays such as the Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP and NEC's MultiSync LCD24WMGX3.

With the Dell, there really is no comparison: aside from the UltraSharp 2408WFP's slightly superior styling, the HP offers better connectivity in its digital audio output, superior ergonomics and image quality that leaves Dell's display eating pixelated dust.

On the other hand, the NEC offers a more interesting alternative. When first introduced it cost the wrong side of £600, but that price has since come down to around £400. Aimed at the consumer rather than professional market, the LCD24WMGX3 thus has a glossy chassis finish, while its awkward stand offers less adjustability than HP's and lacks pivot. It has fewer video inputs (no DisplayPort), but unlike the HP does offer audio in and outputs for all its connections, including digital out for its twin HDMIs.

In terms of image quality NEC's latest is more difficult to set up than the LP2475w due to a wealth of options, processing and presets. These require a lot of fine-tuning to get the best out of its AMVA panel, but also offer more flexibility. Despite this HP's H-IPS panel still offers slightly better image quality overall, not to mention a wider gamut. A unique factor in NEC's favour is that it comes with an ergonomic remote that can control every element of the display including inputs and volume. Which one you go for really depends on what you want to use it for, but overall we'd say the HP is the better display.

Verdict

Though the competition from NEC offers more consumerist features, the HP LP2475w trumps it in most other regards. Image quality is outstanding, offering near-flawless performance in everything from HD films and console games to office work and intensive image editing, while the price means it's within the reach of enthusiasts with a discerning eye. Overall, it's one of the best all-round 24in displays we've seen, so comes highly recommend.

Hamish Campbell

March 27, 2009, 12:17 pm

I just don't get why you'd make such a great screen, then dress it up like the old screens you see at hospital reception desks.

Ed

March 27, 2009, 1:11 pm

It is quite dowdy isn't it. Still, making it look fancy would have just added more cost and I know which I'd rather have.

Isaac Sarayiah

March 27, 2009, 1:37 pm

I am beginning to doubt the reviews on this website. I have read several reviews regarding this monitor and there are several problems with it including a green tinge and poor image quality out of the box unless it is calibrated. The reviewer mentions nothing of this.

Jmac

March 27, 2009, 1:52 pm

I don't mind the design - it looks industrial and functional. The bezel is quite slim, and there is no unnecessary fuss. Looks like quite an astonishing bargain if the image quality is as good as you say.

TechVegan

March 27, 2009, 2:18 pm

@haim: LOL.


It actually looks better in real life than in the pictures, really it does.


And don't forget the market this thing is supposedly (despite its AV connectivity) aimed at: professionals and businesses. Still, it could have done with a splash of the Dell 2408's styling.

Andy Vandervell

March 27, 2009, 2:26 pm

@Isaac: Would you care to elaborate? Perhaps we've been reading different reviews, but most of the one's I've seen agree it's a very good monitor.

stephenallred

March 27, 2009, 3:17 pm

I've been waiting for a 24" H-IPS panel based screen for a while now. Having bought 3 S-PVA 24" screens and sending them all back thanks to funky pink ghosting across large parts of the screen I would never buy an S-PVA based panel again.

TechVegan

March 27, 2009, 3:55 pm

@Stephen Allred: Wow, that's tough luck! I haven't come across the phenomenon you describe myself with PVA, but either way looks like HP has the answer for you :)

LinguisticPedant

March 27, 2009, 4:39 pm

I purchased this monitor in January and it is a fantastic bargain. My brother has the Benq FP241wz and we sat them side by side. The Benq being a great monitor on its own, this HP takes it to the next level. The colour reproduction and response time is excellent. I'm glad I bit the bullet with this one. As a graphic designer and avid gamer, colour fidelity is paramount to me. Playing Crysis at 1920x1200 at the highest settings are truly breathtaking on this beast. I would expect this kind of performance from monitors that are twice the price.





Great review.

Georgi Chelebiev

March 27, 2009, 4:43 pm

At last- a display that suits me. It has everything that I need and even its design works for me; I hate the reflections of the glossy finish from my current Acer(not to mention the poor image quality).

Isaac Sarayiah

March 27, 2009, 5:27 pm

Here is one of the reviews:


http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/re...


Also read user comments on Amazon regarding this monitor.

Andy Vandervell

March 27, 2009, 5:54 pm

@Isaac: Okay, but I still don't see how this makes our review bad or inaccurate. As TFT Central pointed out in the conclusion:





"If you want a 24" monitor, this is a hard one to beat in my opinion. Given the extreme lack of IPS in this sector, HP are probably on to a winner here."





Yes, it did note some issues with the calibration out of the box, but show me a monitor that doesn't? Moreover, you've got to take into account a level of manufacturing variability - it's rare that any one monitor is exactly the same.





As for the Amazon reviews, the same arguments apply. Clearly a few people there have got duds, but 90% of the reviews are overwhelmingly positive.

Ed

March 27, 2009, 6:05 pm

Just read that review you linked to, Isaac. The reviewer mentions relatively poor colour accuracy out the box but regularly qualifies this as only being a problem for colour accurate work. At no point does he particularly say it's a problem for general use and in every other respect he says it's very good. I quote "If you want a 24" monitor, this is a hard one to beat in my opinion. Given the extreme lack of IPS in this sector, HP are probably on to a winner here."

Andy Vandervell

March 27, 2009, 6:08 pm

Heh, great minds thinking alike there...we really need some time stamps on these comments.

Ohmz

March 27, 2009, 6:11 pm

"Heh, great minds thinking alike there...we really need some time stamps on these comments."





Don't you guys work near each other or something? Or at least close enough so you guys can collaborate before you respond to someone so these kinds of things don't happen?





Just wondering what the office situation is like.












xenos

March 27, 2009, 6:11 pm

Good panel but why the AWFUL casing and stand?





Plus you dont mention the BenQ FP241W as a competitor, as you can currently get it for about 𧷸 i think it definitely comes into the equation even though this is a good price for a panel of this spec.





The only other thing I can say is, its an HP wheres the catch and what will break first? :-P

Ohmz

March 27, 2009, 6:33 pm

Where the hell did all that space come from?

Andy Vandervell

March 27, 2009, 7:01 pm

@Ohmz: We *are* in the same office, but Ed just happened to start composing his reply right after I'd published mine, so he didn't see it. We chuckled.

TechVegan

March 27, 2009, 7:04 pm

@LinguisticPedant: Glad you like the review. I would have bought this HP monitor (as you can probably tell from my Xmas Wish List) but already purchased the NEC LCD24WMGX3 a while ago. Not sure I made the right choice, though I have used that remote a lot ;)





@xenos: As to the BenQ FP241W, see LinguisticPedant's comment :)


As to your comment about HP, have you had bad experiences with one of the company's products? We generally find them to be stylish (yes, this monitor somewhat excepted, though as I've said before it looks better in real life) and well-made.

Renoir

March 27, 2009, 7:06 pm

I was under the impression that using a wide colour gamut monitor in applications that cannot be colour managed, makes the image suffer from over-saturation. I'm asking since you are recommending it for console gaming which, as far as I know, cannot be colour managed. Is the over-saturation just something you get used to, or is it like input lag, some notice and some don't?

Andy Vandervell

March 27, 2009, 7:16 pm

This is true, though you can manually tune colours using the monitors settings. Moreover, in gaming, some level over-saturation isn't such a problem. Gaming just isn't colour sensitive enough for it to matter imho and when one talks about over-saturation, we're not talking radioactive levels here. Some people may disagree.

TechVegan

March 27, 2009, 7:38 pm

@Renoir: Personally I didn't feel colours were particularly off or over-saturated during non-computer use after some calibration. Like Andy said, you can set up the HP with a muted palette for things like console gaming and use the provided software to revert back to your preferred settings for computer imaging use. Though this *is* one of those scenarios where hardware presets (which the HP LP2475w doesn't, as far as I'm aware, offer) would have been welcome.

Chocoa

March 27, 2009, 7:49 pm

Well, in for a penny in for a pound....





Poor colour calibration out of the box? - Calibrate it, don't be lazy! I try to get the best out of any monitor and don't understand why anyone would not want to pro or gamer.





Styling a problem? Surely any style is transitory and 'of the moment'. I would imagine that the working life of this panel will be longer than the current vogue of piano black - retain every finger mark style. I would far prefer a good panel than celebrity styling!

xenos

March 27, 2009, 8:00 pm

Well I still got myself a bargain, I'm happy :-)





HP products, generally they used to be fantastic, but in recent years its my opinion that build quality has suffered. Im talking generally about printers and my friends ancient HP laser (10 years plus) that still chugs along just fine, I have had a particular officejet apart in pieces about 5 times, the ink head cleaning bay mechanism broke several times rendering the whole printer useless. I ended up glueing the screws in place as the plastic holes decided they had enough. Since then its worked perfectly..





Also I have an HP laptop that I won in a competition, its no cheapy either! The C key has been crunchy from the start only working if you push it on the right most side. It also has a sliding volume touch button that likes to move itself constantly if the laptop is in performance mode once its hot, or if its placed on a non uniform surface in any power mode; it makes an infuriating tapping noise constantly because of it and none of the other touch buttons around it work until its cooled down. I have a question actually, would you guys RMA it?





Other than that no bad experiences... :-)

xenos

March 27, 2009, 8:04 pm

@Chocoa - I think people mean more that the stand looks cheap more than anything else. Styling isn't that important yes, but it should reflect the products quality, ie. that of the screen.

comments powered by Disqus