Dell Studio XPS 13 - 13.3in Notebook - Dell Studio XPS 13

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

User Score:

Of course, if trying to compete with the MacBook, an obvious tactic is to offer better value and the Studio XPS 13 definitely does that. Every machine comes with a backlit keyboard and the entry-level configuration, which costs just £799 all-in, nets you a 2.26GHz Intel Core 2 Duo P8400, 3GB of 1,066MHz DDR3 RAM and a fast 7,200rpm 250GB hard drive. A brighter and thinner LED backlit screen, as sported in our version, brings this total up to £849.99, while other options include a £19.99 upgrade to a 7,200rpm, 320GB, free-fall protected hard drive.

You can also choose a 128GB SSD or, if you need as much storage as possible, a 500GB hard drive. To get the discrete graphics option, an nVidia 9500m with 256MB of memory, you must pay an extra £60, but more advanced configurations add many of these features and this being Dell can often be had at a significant discount. Whichever way you look at it, the Studio XPS offers far superior value to a MacBook.

This much we expect and we also expect a greater variety of connectivity, something the Studio XPS 13 duly delivers. You're positively spoilt for video connections, with VGA, HDMI and DisplayPort on hand. There's also a 54mm ExpressCard slot, one regular USB port, one USB and eSATA dual-format port and a four-pin FireWire port. Yeah, that's a FireWire port! Whatever did happen to that on the MacBook, eh?

In addition to these you get a trio of audio ports, two headphone sockets and a microphone jack, as well as an IR port for a remote. Annoyingly, though, Dell doesn't include an ExpressCard remote in the box as it did on the M1330, while the included slip case is an attractive but flimsy cloth affair compared to the thick, woven and padded one offered with the older model.

Still, in the greater scheme of things, these are small complaints and the Studio XPS 13 contains all the little touches that Dell has made prevalent throughout its notebook range. This means, above the keyboard, a nice selection of touch sensitive shortcut buttons comprising playback and volume controls, an eject button for the slot-loading DVD drive and a wireless radio switch. Dell has even managed to decrease the size of the 65W power supply significantly, creating a slim and easily portable unit, while the power indicator light has been moved to the plug so it's easy to see if the mains are turned on - a nice touch.

Further nice touches include the lighting. Both hinges feature funky circular lighting, while the status indicators on the front edge, backlit in white like everything else, are very clear and easily visible. As is, of course, the backlit keyboard, which can be set to two different brightness levels as well as being turned off completely. As noted earlier it's good that it comes as standard, but because the keyboard isn't a genuine isolated style one - keys are flat but are not moulded individually into the chassis - there is a predictable amount of light bleed when viewed from anything other than directly above. This can be quite annoying and given the choice we'd sooner had seen an isolated keyboard used to eliminate this issue.

Ohmz

February 25, 2009, 6:06 am

I'm on a 13 inch screen right now and I am so sick and tired of manufacturers not offering higher resolutions on their notebooks. Specifically ones that are supposed to be "premium" like this particular notebook.

GoldenGuy

February 25, 2009, 8:15 am

That design's nice - cool hinge. It basically says - okay we're obviously not competing on thinness, but are on style.

Steve

February 25, 2009, 1:24 pm

@Ohmz





My Vaio Z series has a 13" screen and is 1600x900 (16:9). Lovely!

Ed

February 25, 2009, 2:29 pm

That is a rarity, Steve. Also, the Z series is mega expensive. What annoys it there seems little reason higher resolution screens can't be offered on more modestly priced notebooks.





That said, I find 1,280 x 800 is enough on a 13.3inch screen. I used a Sony Z for a while and found it difficult to use everyday because everything was too small.





What's really poor is when 15inch notebooks still have 1,280 x 800.

Steve

February 25, 2009, 2:55 pm

Yes, it's rare admittedly. 1600x900 on a small screen has many benefits but a few negatives too.





I recently purchased a new 13" MacBook which is 1280x800 and I find it easier on the eyes when browsing the web. It seems to be the standard at the moment as most websites are optimised for it.

ramzez

February 25, 2009, 4:33 pm

The biggest downside is that it cannot run OSX, of course macbook is overprised slightly, but people sometimes don't see how much effort Apple has put to make it easy to use. In Apple Store they offer Training and Seminars for free.





Dell is great thought, the service support is excellent, the Windows OS is outdated and spoils all the hardware fun.

Skobbolop

February 25, 2009, 5:29 pm

What a irrelevant comment...

Ohmz

February 25, 2009, 5:56 pm

@ Steve, I'm super jealous! The Z looks amazing, had a chance to play with one in a Sony Store and really liked what I saw, but the price as Ed mentioned...

ramzez

February 25, 2009, 6:28 pm

I just wanted to point out that comparing apples to oranges is no point. and therefore comparing it to macbook is irrelevant.

Chris

February 25, 2009, 10:43 pm

Is it just me or is the M1330 thinner? It seems like it's taken Dell a year just to take a step backwards.

Ohmz

February 25, 2009, 11:07 pm

@ Chris, the M1330 is also lighter. I don't know what Dell was thinking...

Kanu

February 26, 2009, 9:40 pm

I have the XPS M1330 and it is a great laptop. I dont see the value added in this one.





If Dell wants to up the ante on the 1330, then what they really need is to put in a 12" screen and better speakers. The keybaord is quite good as-is - I dont know why they messed with it all all.

Hedgeporker

March 8, 2009, 6:56 pm

Shame about the over-the-top silver hinge fixings and utterly useless leather affectation. Otherwise I think it looks really nice. I think illuminated keyboards should be an option on all mid-range laptops and upwards. Touch-typing not withstanding, its nice to have the lights there when you're feeling lazy. Now if only they could do away with the heavy and heat conductive metal base plate and find a hinge design that DOES NOT obstruct the vents when the screen is open! Only then will it be a contender for stealing sales from MacBook. As it is I think its a bit rushed. Not quite half-baked, but definitely out of the oven before it is really ready.

vampyren

March 29, 2009, 12:26 am

more or less the same price as the newest Macbook (2.0GHz).


Only thing i like with Dell is the HDMI but not sure if that is enough to make me buy Dell.


Macbook has OSX and a sexy design (all aluminum).


If the price was about 30% lower on Dell or it offered build-in 3G modem or something to differentiate but as it is now its simply a nice laptop among many.





ps. yes of course it matters to compare. After all when you buy something you compare with other products on the market in the same segment. And i agree that Sony laptops are very nice too but at least in Sweden they are 3 time more expensive then other laptops. Even Apple is cheap compared to Sony :)

phred

April 24, 2009, 3:13 am

Dell service is terrible.you speak to someone in the Phillipnes whose accent is hard for a U.S. citizen to understand.And there seems to be a delay in the phone line.And you have to wait before you speak to them.They spend a lot on ads,but as little as possible on service.Phillipinos work for less$.While Apple may have its faults they do give good service.That is worth paying more for-something few if any reviewers mention.

cmthomas68

June 2, 2009, 2:11 pm

I am currently looking at getting this notebook, and would like to know whether it is possible to run two external monitors from it, using both the VGA port and the HDMI port. Apparently the existing M1330 XPS could do this, but I haven't been able to find out anywhere if this notebook can do it.


Thanks in advance.

John 53

November 24, 2009, 11:05 pm

I had the Sony Z series and sent it back and ordered this instead... heres why:


The Z series and the SR series now have removed the dedicated Page Up/Page Down/Home and End keys and combined them with the up/down/left/right keys meaning you have to use two hands to press the function key for it to work. It also makes moving around spreadsheets and web pages much more difficult. I spent over £2000 upgrading it and then had to send it back from frustration. I really don't understand why manufacturers mess about with keyboard layouts - the same happened when ASUS and a few others decided to swap the fn and ctrl keys over - that drove me mad and i bought my Sony SZ4 which was great. But the backward step of sony just cost them my business (and me £72 to send it back to Holland!!) Anyway the screen resolution of 1600x900 on it also was way too small for comfortable viewing. The Dell seems to have everything in the right place and now has £1000 of my money! Thanks Sony! Don't buy Sony!!

JT

December 28, 2009, 2:57 am

I think what makes this an interesting choice is the avalible options for the price. However I'm not in love with the design which I find ott and tacky. I also see that the review points to probably the main reason it is cheaper than both the Sony and Macbook pro it's so desperate to beat, build quality. Some people still don't seem to be able to come to grips with the fact that you just can't get build quality, attention to detail or true innovation on the cheap. However, the major problem and deal breaker for me is it doesn't run Mac OSX or any of Apples brilliant apps. Thats the real reason to buy a Macbook Pro over the Dell or Sony or Asus or any of the others. Even if Dell ever did sort out all it's quality control issues or come up with a design to compare with the likes of Apple it could never run the Mac os. Where as a mac user can run Windows any time they want if need be and just as well as this machine.

comments powered by Disqus