Home / Computing / Printer / Canon PIXMA MP640 / Feature Table

Canon PIXMA MP640 - Feature Table

By Simon Williams

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

blyndy

November 8, 2009, 6:28 am

It's a nice design, but it's a shame that it requires microchipped cartridges, and the hassles that entails.

stranded

November 9, 2009, 12:17 am

Nice review. I would like to read one for the MP990 too which seems more interesting to me.

Kevin Gordon

November 9, 2009, 6:11 pm

I bought one a few weeks ago, after returning an Epson and then a HP wireless printer. The Canon is much better than the other two. A testament to this is that I haven't and am not planning or returning it.





And the self-opening paper tray is just sooooooo cool!

MarkA

November 12, 2009, 10:00 pm

Just bought one of these - fantastic print quality, and works pretty much flawlessly with both Windows 7 and Snow Leopard (though the latter required some lateral thinking to get it to install!)

mm1985

February 10, 2010, 10:45 pm

"Duplex print speeds are better than before, as the paper rests for only a second or so between sides, where some of the machine's competitors wait as long as 15 seconds before printing the second sides."


Unfortunately there is a price you have to pay for this. Namely when automatic duplex printing is enabled (even when you only need to print one page) the pixma mp640 will print the text much lighter. So black will look more like very dark grey.

JimmyDee

March 20, 2010, 9:02 pm

Excellent review. Good printer for the money. Setup was easy, especially the network part which can be a nightmare for some printers - just let the printer search for your network under the 'easy' setup choice, then instal the software and you are ready to go. I searched the web and came up with the professional quality ILFORD Galerie Smooth Gloss 290g/m2 photo paper, 100 per box, for the best results and economy for this printer - no Canon paper can match Ilford in price and quality. However, stick with the Canon brand inks. Pictures really look stunning, the primary reason I bought this printer for. I don't care about other features that much. I have laser printers at home for the regular text printing. Make sure you print out something every week to avoid clogging, which is less of a problem with dye based printers like Canon MP640 as compared to the pigment ones. Save your pictures in an album for longevity. Have fun.

David Hamer

April 5, 2010, 1:38 am

I was considering buying this printer, however, I just read a review on another website that stated that to scan a document to the PC you have to have the USB connection made. It will not work via wireless! Can anyone verify this as true or false? I require a fully wireless printer, having to have a USB cable connected to achieve one part of the functionality is a 'no go' for me. Thanks, DH

stripy

April 12, 2010, 9:34 am

@ David Hamer - i have this printer and i have no problems scanning a document to PC over wifi. In fact i have never connected it using a USB cable at all. There is a little bit of software that runs on your PC and listens out for scanning jobs from the printer so maybe the reviewer had 'forgotten' to install the software.





As an aside i also have a Playstation 3 and that can also print to this model over wifi (not that you'd want to very often but if you didn't have a pc it might come in more handy). All in all the best printer i've ever owned by far.

comments powered by Disqus