Home / Cameras / Camera / Canon IXUS 500 HS / Sample Images: General Images

Canon IXUS 500 HS - Sample Images: General Images

By Paul Nuttall

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

8

Canon IXUS 500 HS 1

The optics on the IXUS 500 HS perform well, even in difficult lighting conditions.

1/320 sec @ f/5, ISO 100

Canon IXUS 500 HS 2

The balance between shadow and highlight detail is well met, and colour is striking yet not overly vivid

1/640 sec @ f/4, ISO 100

Canon IXUS 500 HS 3

Images display a wonderful tonal range.

1/800 sec @ f/3.5, ISO 100

Canon IXUS 500 HS 4

Not only does the lens on the IXUS 500 HS perform well in difficult light, but it offers excellent sharpness.

1/125 sec @ f/4.5, ISO 100, -1ev

Overall Score

8

Scores In Detail

  • Build Quality 8
  • Design & Features 9
  • Image Quality 8
  • Value 7

Everlast

April 10, 2012, 11:53 pm

Let me guess, is it designed by Marc Newson?
(just joking, but I was referring to Pentax K01)

I personally find it quite ugly, in a way it is similar to the Pentax K01. Some people love it, some hate it, but I think the overall feeling will end up being negative.

ElectricSheep

April 11, 2012, 2:38 am

It's not much of a looker, not that I care about that in a compact. What does put the kibosh on this, as far as i'm concerned, is the slow lens 'maximum aperture range of f/3.4 to f/5.6'.

I expect slow long end performance, but f3.4 @ 28mm is disappointingly poor. I wonder how the Nokia 808 pureview would compare to this in terms of image quality alone? Apples and Oranges, I know, but just out of interest.

JDunn

April 13, 2012, 9:05 pm

Stunning design?? The boxy look is exactly the same as Canon used when it first brought out the Ixus cameras in the 1990s.

To me it just looks like a company going back to an old idea because it's run out of new ones.

Hinky3

April 14, 2012, 4:02 pm

It has 'Stylish' and 'eye-catching' looks according to Paul.
Sorry Paul but it looks a bit 'plain' to me and whilst I
actually quite like that look..... I don't feel that your
original description quite accurately describes it.
(But don't worry there will always be someone who takes
issue with whatever way you describe it...Just keep going)

zubs

April 16, 2012, 3:51 pm

The design is as ugly as the Pentax K-01, No imagination to it. The older generation Ixus range looked much better. For its poor specs, the camera looks cheap and toylike. Match made in hell!

Jerome Nolas

May 1, 2012, 12:58 am

Yes, stunning design! Where do you live guys? Or maybe got stuck in the 18 th century...

AndyfromVA

June 8, 2012, 8:45 am

I used the camera for about three weeks and agree with most of the review. However, unlike the reviewer, I strongly disliked the tiny buttons at the rear. For one thing the buttons are much too small unless your fingers are the size of child's. Secondly, the button arrangement makes navigating the menus difficult - a far cry from the simple and effective circular controller used in previous Canon cameras.

johnny come lately

March 5, 2014, 5:20 pm

It takes sharp close up images and it's easy to use. I didn't pay hundreds for it because I'm not a fashion victim. I bought it recently when silly people had all paid the silly price and sensible people got the real value of the product. I don't care that newer models are now on the market to fleece the fashion victims... yet again. I just wanted a camera whether it looks ''ugly'' or ''pretty'' isn't my concern. I'm not looking to fuck a camera.

comments powered by Disqus